We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveler rating
357
418
142
27
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
418
142
27
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tartan theme kelvingrove museum city centre street parking the main hotel four poster bed glasgow university west end guest house family room single room within walking distance clean bathroom sauchiehall street breakfast was excellent small hotel breakfast staff
Filter
Updating list...
616 - 621 of 974 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed for a week after mortgage cock-up left us temporarily homeless. Friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable room (306) which faced on to Sauchiehall Street but was surprisingly quiet. Free parking 6pm-8am in a quiet street just across the road.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainR944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Room was nice, clean, staff were friendly and helpful, ideally situated for many of Glasgow's top attractions, great value for money, Sutherland's restaurant ideal for a short stay, hearty breakfasts,

Room tip: I was in the Guest House
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Trumpton
77
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was lousy and restaurant was closed in evening. As I said in the title, we booked for 3 nights and only stayed 2 as we completed out job. We were told no refund on last night as we would need to have given 48 hours notice which was impossible. There was no reasoning with the receptionist either. Due to this and the lack of decent food and tiny rooms, I won't use this hotel again.

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I’m really surprised with your review that breakfast was lousy. We get excellent feedback for breakfast and guests tell us our breakfast is best in Glasgow.
Your booking was made via an agent and our cancellation policy is 48 hours prior to arrival. It’s a standard cancellation policy which is explained at the time of the booking.
I’m sorry to hear that to you are unhappy but if you had informed us 48 hours before we would have amended your booking without charge.
The receptionist was simply following policy and procedures.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Best Regards

B Bashir
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Can only review on what we saw as it was a whistle stop stay,

Went to reception after being quoted some obscene prices from hotels elsewhere and were offered B&B double room ensuite at a very reasonable price and took it,

Lovely receptionist, got checked in very quick and headed over the road to the guest house, room 1.

Room was adequate, very clean and tidy and well kept. Nice to see,

Missed breakfast as we slept in.........

All in all a good stay and will be back.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtlaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This little hotel is great and the staff make it so... my room was on the dreaded 4th floor but it was very pleasent bed was comfortable and my partner and I had everything we needed in the room we paid £50 for the night including breakfast so I feel we got a lot more for our money, yes the room was abit dated but if you want a tartan room or mordern bathroom then I guess you need to pay for it... breaking news everyone i hear the hotel is renovating rooms! Maybe the budget rooms will be next. Over all great night stay would defiantly stay here again.

Room tip: Room at the front aren't that bad with noise as people have discribed.
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews