We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #29 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Clarksville
1 review
“Good Value”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My friend and I were booked here by our agent. The desk clerk on duty was a bit brusque and said she would first have to check to see if we really had a reservation. Why would you begin with a greeting like that?! We were ultimately told we had been "upgraded" to the hotel from the suites across the road, but our reservation had always been for the hotel. Our rooms on the fourth floor were spartan and a bit dated, but clean and cozy. The breakfast staff are very warm and accommodating and the breakfast was fine, although fresh fruit instead of canned would have been nice. Miranda, another of the desk clerks, was amazingly helpful with recommendations for restaurants and sights. She really made our visit as we had some wonderful dinners and a great time around town. Don't miss the Burrell Museum--it's a treasure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVK60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    334
    112
    19
    17
See reviews for
120
282
95
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband & I stayed overnight here as we were going to see The Who in the SECC for our wedding anniversary, when we arrived at hotel, we were given a warm welcome and given a room with a four poster bed,the room was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast was buffet style, everything you could want from a good auld Scottish breakfast. We could not fault this hotel or staff in any way, and we will definately stay here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzybabe8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

No complaints, very clean hotel, and the buffet breakfast was brilliant. Just a 10 min walk to the tube, then 5 mins or so, and you're in central Glasgow. My only complaint, was the lift wouldn't take 3 of us and our cases! Prob due to the amount of shopping we had in them! ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz31tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! It is wonderful to hear from our valued repeat customers and appreciate your continued patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

B Bashir

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed 1 night with breakfast for 2 people, £54 a reasonable price considering it was booked short notice based on high trip advisor reviews. On first impressions the outside, and reception area was nice, good location in Glasgow's west end. limited parking at the hotel meant we needed an on street permit supplied at reception for £2.
We were given a 4th floor attic room, there was no tartan inspiration, more inspired by late 80s decoration. The tartan marketing is very misleading. The carpet was dirty, the bed and furniture was ancient and the bedding was clean but old.
The bathroom was very clean, a really powerful shower, more up to standard than the room itself.
Breakfast was good value for money. All staff very pleasant and friendly.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel cause of the room, the hotel needs to update all rooms or make it clear the room you are allocated is dictated by the price you pay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingCharlesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your feedback and I wanted to personally respond to you. I have investigated the issue with our reservation team. The reservation made was for a budget room and the room allocated for this booking was a budget room. Rates for our tartan rooms are higher and if you had mentioned your dissatisfaction I’m sure the staff would have moved you to a tartan room. There is no record of any complaint raised by yourself during your stay. Our Tartan rooms are on the first second and third floors apart from the fourth floor which we keep for our budget travellers.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Argyll Hotel.
Hopefully your next trip to the Argyll would be pleasurable one.

Kind regards

Bobby Bashir
Hotel Manager
Argyll Hotel Glasgow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

we recently stayed at this hotel was very central to both westend and city centre of Glasgow (walking distance 20min). rooms were very clean and Scottish themed with plenty towels, soaps, kettle, teabags etc.. would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dionne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The room was a little shabby with an old bathroom and older fittings. The street is very noisy and with no air, the windows open, and being above a pub, you are going to be up quite late due to the noise. The breakfast was quite good with good service. There is only parking for 5 cars in the car park so if you drive, plan on parking on the street and paying for it. I'd stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diverguy106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I am writing this at 7am on a Sunday morning from room 106 where we have been kept awake for two hours by the dull but loud hum of what sounds like an old ships boiler or something. Don't know where it is coming from but it needs sorting out, it is really loud! Hotel okay but this noise is mad.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#15 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#49 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#67 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing