We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value & Very friendly”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #30 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent value & Very friendly”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our 4th time staying at The Argyll Hotel in the last year. Its great value, clean, and the staff are very friendly and very accommodating. It's our first choice when looking for accommodation in Glasgow. We’ve even changed our travel plans to ensure we can get into the Argyll Hotel rather than go elsewhere. When I booked this time, I forgot to request a room at the back and on the upstairs, which is our preference. Although, on arrival, the room we had been allocated was not of this type, the receptionist went that extra mile to ensure we got exactly what we were after. And we were only staying for the one night! Well done on customer service! The rooms are always very cosy, clean and have everything in them that you need. The free Wi-Fi is an added bonus! The breakfast is always fresh and good value. This time I noticed a lovely fruit loaf on the bread table, which when toasted and served with melted butter is absolutely delicious! Linda, the waitress during breakfast service, is very friendly, efficient, and has such a pleasant manner with everyone. The location is excellent. You’re within walking distance to the city centre, a stone’s throw away from the Kelvingrove Art Galleries and Museum, The Kelvin Hall Sports Arena, Kelvingrove Park and an easy walking distance to the trendy West End. Getting a taxi, if required, is very easy. Just step outside the front and you’ll get one very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybythelake2035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllHotel, Front Office Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments.

We appreciate your very kind comments relating to your recent stay at the Argyll Hotel. We were very pleased to read you enjoyed everything during your stay, we certainly are very fortunate with the central location which sometimes comes with some traffic noise.

The fruit loaf is a new addition to our breakfast. We recently bought a bread maker and we are testing all sorts of breads and cakes. We are glad you enjoyed it.

Once again thank you for your truly valuable comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Flavia Tudoreanu
Front of House Manager
Argyll Hotel Glasgow
0141 337 3313
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    349
    120
    19
    18
See reviews for
123
300
97
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked this hotel via www.lasminute.com and paid £35 for B&B! Not bad! and exactly what I needed as I had to charge an organisation for this and didnt want to take the P***.
I had a single bed and a very small thin duvet, the room was on a busy road in a busy part of town, so didn't sleep too well, but thats not the hotels fault!
Due to the duvet being quite small I was kept quite cool during the night (which I prefer) but since Im over 6' I had at least one part of my body not covered.
The breakfast was average but considering I only paid £5 extra to add breakfast to my room, it was fine.
The staff are all very very pleasant and Id consider staying here again, If I wanted cheap and cheerful!
Does at it says on the tin!

Room Tip: Request you dont get a room to the front of the building if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adkeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllHotel, Front Office Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and reviewing our Hotel.

If we are not fully booked we are always trying to upgrade the singles to double or larger rooms.
A last minute booking can be a real bargain sometimes but there will not be too many rooms left to choose from. The room allocation is made considering the rate level.

We know sometimes a single duvet will not suffice for some guests and we keep some double duvets in the reception.

Please feel free to ask for one next time when you are visiting us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Enjoy you travelling.

Best regards,
Flavia T
Front of House Manager
Argyll Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Boswells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We picked this hotel due to its proximity to Yorkhill Hospital (10 min walk), and found the hotel to be clean comfortable and staff extremely helpful. We had booked a double room and on being shown room found it to be a twin room. On querying booking staff were apologetic and we were upgraded without question. Rooms are comfortable and well kept. Breakfasts were buffet style and eat all want. Restaurant meals were well cooked and presented although only very minor complaint not a very big menu. We stayed at the hotel for four nights and would certainly recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpr2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Me and some colleague's stayed at this hotel in December, it was a lovely little hotel that was very close to our venue. What mare it for me was the friendliness of the staff. There was a lovely young Spanish girl that works there that translated directions to my collegue, she was thw star of our stay, and I would advise anyone to stay there.
If all the staff are as friendly as this young lady then my company will definitely use this exclusively for many more lecturers to stay.
Thank you Argyll hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmakintosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

In a good location for the west end and not too far to walk to Byres Road where you'll find lovely shops and restaurants. Also quite handy for the secc. Depending on traffic it costs around £6 for a taxi from the city centre but buses are also available. Friendly staff, lovely little restaurant and bar and breakfast was great. We had two single rooms and the decor is maybe slightly dated but very comfortable and warm.

Room Tip: Single rooms 304 and 307 overlook front of hotel. 307 had bath and shower but 304 just has shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willow731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here with friends at the end of September 2012 for my hen weekend.

I had been in contact with the hotel for a few months organising the weekend and they were always helpful. They kindly arranged for the part of the bar to be blocked off so we could have a stripper.

We had 3 rooms, one on the ground floor and 2 on the 3rd. Our rooms were very spacious which was good as we had 3/4 girls in each. Our room on the ground looked like it has been recently decorated in tartan and the ones on the 3rd hadn't. Only fault with the rooms is the bathrooms, they could all do with being updated especially the showers.

We went to the murder mystery on the Saturday (Vampire one) which was AMAZING the actors were great and we were laughing all night. The food was lovely and I could fault it although my friends toast starter didn't look as nice as the others so I would recommend choosing something else.

There was someone on reception all night to let us in on the Saturday when we came in late (around 4am) which was great.

For breakfast there was a lot of choice and it looked good but due do a bit too much to drink both nights before I couldn't eat much of it so can't really comment on the breakfast food.

Overall, we all had a great stay, it was good value and the murder mystery was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We booked the honeymoon suite through a different website which included flowers, water, chocolates and wine. These were not in our room as offered but once asked about we found out this was a deal done by the other website however the wonderful lady on reception quickly made word on the offer.
Our room was lovely decorated in silver and turquoise, lovely big mirror and the bathrooms double shower was brilliant. We had gone to the sect which was only a 15minute walk if that. Very central. Buffet breakfast was delicious, plenty of choice, fresh and hot. Definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mswilkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 95 in Glasgow
206 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
1,105 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#53 of 95 in Glasgow
925 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Property: Argyll Hotel
Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing