We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful receptionist”
Review of Argyll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argyll Hotel
Ranked #30 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I arrived at the Argyll hotel at about 9pm on Tuesday evening (25th September 2012) only to discover I had lost my mobile phone. The hotel receptionist was extremely helpful and she quickly established it was not in the taxi but persevered to find the right contact numbers and it was eventually recovered from lost property at Glasgow airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

544 - 550 of 831 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Having looked forward to this particular weekend for a long time it was a shame that this hotel didn't live up to expectations. We booked a double room to be given a single upon arrival with no apology but instead excuses as to why we may have been allocated a single room when the booking form shown to us clearly said a double room. Unacceptable. After a 20 minute wait we were finally told the only room we could have was a twin. Having no option we had to take this, far from ideal for the special weekend we were away for.There was no concern from the hotel about this mix up at all. the actual room itself was tiny. The TV had a very dodgy signal. The shower was appalling... Brown stains, mould on the tiles and the shower itself trickled out water very slowly. Overall a shambolic experience, with the mix up handled very poorly. Very upset and disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArgyllHotel, General Manager at Argyll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor. I have investigated your complaint personally. Your booking was made through a travel agent and the booking we received was for a single pre paid room rather than a double room. Unfortunately that night we were full and only room we had available was a twin room. Apologies for the long delay as we had to call the agent to get authorisation for a bigger room. We were advised by the agent that if we don’t have a double to offer the guests a twin room or they would relocate the guests. This was purely a travel agents fault of not informing the hotel of the right room type. This is why we recommend everyone to book direct with the hotel rather than through a travel agency.
We try to keep all our guests happy but sometimes it’s beyond hotels control.
Once again I would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel for any inconvenience and hope that this doesn’t put you off of coming back to the Argyll.
Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements. Once again thank you for your comments.

Thank you for staying with us at the Argyll Hotel Glasgow.

Kind regards

Bobby Bashir
Hotel Manager
Argyll Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were let down very badly by the original place we booked it was disgusting and we couldn't stay. and as it was September week end was panicking ,but a friend drove us around and thank God he found the Argyll.as I had my granddaughter of 9 with me' but your staff especially I think her name was Maricella appoligies if I have the name wrong restored my faith in human nature.Unfortunatly as couldn't get even one night money refunded by other place I couldn't treat her as i wished .but we will be back .Thank you. will recomend your hotel 100%

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Good location, with the BUS no 62 directly to the city center, distance to Subway cca 1000 m, excellent breakfast. I recommend this Hotel for all of you. Restaurant and the bar are excellent. The price is very good. Close to Kelvingrove Museum and public park, University of Glasgow, SEEC and River Clyde, Riverside museum

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iulian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Hotel locatıon very good.About 15-20 mınutes away from cıty center by walkıng.Very close to garden/park.Prıce is also very very goog.I thınk breakfast ıs very good.Sleep quaılty,cleanıness ıs also so so good.Locak bar are nearest to hotel.Rooms bıg is enough to stay.Stuffs are very helpfull.Haste ye back ıs the scotısh ıdıom.I'LL BE BACK....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doğaduru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've stayed at the Argyll since the later 1990s, and it's always a pleasant stay. They've upgraded rooms over the year, and our bath this May was a very good improvement. Still little details, like cracked and broken lamp shades, no TV in the room (most rooms DO have TVs as I recalled), and limited outlets for recharging PDAs and running my hair dryer, really ought to be taken care of. At the nightly price they charge, these are small oversights that should be corrected.

Sutherland's, the Argyll's downstairs restaurant is exellent, serving traditional Scottish fare, and their breakfast is abundant. Be sure to make a reservation if you want to dine there during your stay.

We love the staff at the Argyll. Just hope they'll review each room with a traveller's eye.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zurq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This hotel is alright for just one night but does not have the warm atmosphere that most cosy hotels in the country seem to possess naturally. The room we stayed in was rather dark, mainly due to the fact the roller-blind could only be rolled-up half way. The hair-dryer was full of dust; same can be said about the ventilator in the shower.
Breakfast was not as we expected: a buffet is convient for the hotel-staff, not to make the guests happy. It is impersonal..As I am a vegetarian it was not nice at all to have to pick up tomatoes with the same pliers used for picking up the bacon and sausages. Mushrooms (while on the menu) were not available and the 'fruit' came from a tin.Big mistake! Better not to serve any fruit than using this rubbish. Cold beans are not my cup-of-tea either.
We (married couple) were given a room with twin-beds in stead of one double bed. Not very logical if you take into account some of our single friends were given a room with a double bed/familyroom. We could have changed rooms no doubt but instead moved to furniture and made the bed we wanted ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bollenmeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
216 reviews
Kelvingrove Hotel
#64 of 93 in Glasgow
582 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#59 of 93 in Glasgow
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#57 of 93 in Glasgow
985 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Hotel

Address: 973 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $65 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll Hotel is located 1/2m west of Glasgow city centre by Kelvingrove Park and is within minutes of the Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, Kelvingrove Art Galleries & Museum, Glasgow Science Centre and Glasgow University. Facilities include Sutherlands Restaurant and bar, free car parking and internet access. Short breaks include Mackintosh in Style Weekends, Theatre and Shopping Breaks. The Argyll Hotel offers good accommodation, warm Scottish hospitality, fine food and above all great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Argyll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing