We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, quality hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #55 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Helensburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value, quality hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2010

Hotel was clean and welcoming. Staff were courteous friendly and helpful. Rooms fresh and comfortable. Good food with a varied menu.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelensburghAmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    426
    221
    71
    59
See reviews for
209
351
91
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Visited hotel for 3 nights from 2nd September 2010 and had a room facing the pond on 2nd floor
Staff are great but you will have to organise car hire yourself as although I was promised on the telephone that it could be done at the hotel I was told on arrival that they could not arrange it !
Very noisy - no air conditioning so window open at night and woken at 6am by dustbins being emptied / deliveries made to M & S Simply food store in Shell garage opposite
Would recommend earplugs and room on 4th floor on other side of hotel not facing the pond

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENNIS00736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2010

The young women on reception were very busy and constantly broke off from dealing with face-to-face guests to answer the phone. I had to return to reception twice to sort out a faulty electronic key to my room (leaving my luggage in the corridor outside my room). In the morning I was late at the conference as my car had been blocked in by a delivery lorry.

The rooms are clean and the shower was powerful which was good. Although I'd folded the towels and replaced them on the rails, I was needlessly given clean ones despite following the instructions on a card aimed at reducing environmental impact by reusing them.

I stayed for 3 nights and didn't sleep well. The bed was fine but there was a lot of noise from outside (possibly the boiler or similar and the arrival of binmen, deliveries etc), noise from neighbouring rooms (I could hear the man in the next room's phone-call word-for-word) and the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night (I guess somebody was smoking or similar as there certainly wasn't a fire).

!'d been booked 'room only' as breakfast was over £10 which my employer considered too expensive for a continental breakfast. However, the hotel assured us that I'd be able to obtain a coffee and light breakfast through the Costa coffee. This turned out to be very unsatisfactory. A single small stale cold croissant was served with jam - and a ramekin of cream! A colleague who decided to treat herself to breakfast through room service hadn't got her meal by 9am - it turned out her order had been lost. However the evening meal which we took at the hotel restaurant was well presented and it seemed that there was a a talented chef in the kitchen (during the evening).

Having watched 'Undercover Boss' I was optimistic about staying at a Best Western and liked the company's ethos. I can only hope the boss goes undercover at Glasgow Pond and sorts out its shortcomings.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuddersfieldNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Malaga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

I have been told that last weekend was one of the busiest in Glasgow this year, therefore I was expecting a little distubance, however I was pleasently surprised when I returned from an evening in the Westend, which is a stroll along Great Western Rd or a few mins in a taxi, I returned to a quite and relaxed atmosphere and enjoyed my evening at the hotel.

The reception staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the reception area/bar/restaurant is equally welcoming and very comfortable.

Interior of the room was extremely modern and of high quality with a nice view overlooking the pond and local surroundings, so I could not have asked for more.

An allround good eperience - I am certain that I will return to the Pond Hotel

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnclePedro85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

My girlfriend and I have recently visited family and friends in Glasgow.

In ther past we have stayed in the Crown Plaze and Malmaison, but this time decided to take a punt on a cheaper alternative.

Although it is not a central location, getting into Glasgow is easy as 1 2 3 - the rooms are clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The hotel really is great value for money and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukeyg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Glasgow Pond last week as we were in Glasgow to attend a family wedding. What a massive disappointment. Don't get me wrong, for a budget hotel, I wasn't expecting the Ritz, but the hotel fell well short of what I'd expect having stayed at a number of Best Western Hotels across Europe, it will certainly make me think twice before booking a stay at another.

OK, the hotel is someway out of the City Centre, which in itself isn't a big deal, you get what you pay for and if you research this before you book you'll make the necessary travel arrangements.

Our first clue that something was not right was when we checked in and were told we'd booked on a room only basis, when we simply hadn't. The staff weren't really prepared to investigate it and gave us the impression that we could "take it or leave it". Bearing in mind we were only there for one night, we didn't make a big deal out of it.

The room itself was small and fairly clean, although there were white oily smudges on the bathroom mirror. In addition, despite booking for two we were only provided with one towel. When I asked for more I was rudely asked "Are you sure? Have you checked?". Following this, more towels were begrudgingly brought to our room.

As the hotel is on a main road (and next to a hospital) it was pretty noisy in the room. We had to keep the window closed at night as the petrol station (next door) was a constant source of noise, especially when the mini market was being stocked at 5am! As such the room was incredibly hot as some other reviewers have said. When we checked out there was another couple doing so, who also mentioned the heat only to be told "You could have come down and got a fan if it bothered you that much!".

The icing on the cake was that the paper we'd asked for was nowhere to be seen. A triviality sure, but just one more disappointing point to the stay at the Glasgow Pond.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorneholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

The welcome at reception was almost non existent, the food in the restaurant was inedible, and the service throughout really dreadful - our room was small, the corridor carpets filthy and the decor grotty. A few of our group sat in the bar most of the night on Saturday, and received excellent service, and a great bit of Scottish hospitality from the Night porter (Brendan), this was the one part of our stay we enjoyed - so, if you are going to stay here, make sure to wait up all night drinking, it's better than spending time in your room, although the bar prices are horrific! £7.55 for a double grouse and ginger ale!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bewarescams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Property: Glasgow Pond Hotel
Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing