We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #57 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed June 30, 2014

When we first pulled up, a few in my tour group started to grumble, especially since the exterior of the hotel is 'old' looking, but one should never judge a book by its cover. The interior of this hotel has been refurbished to a high degree, which alleviated many of my fellow travellers doubts of the hotel.
The rooms were modern, quiet, clean, comfortable and had everything one would want.
The restaurant and its food, regardless of if it was for dinner or breakfast was great.
However, the biggest selling point for this hotel would be the professionalism and friendliness of all of the staff I encountered during my stay, even though it was only for 1 night.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedDevil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

524 - 530 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is a bit out of town, but it is clean, comfortable and has good facilities.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is good.

The only thing is, as per their web site “Double rooms are modern and comfortable and vary in size and outlook”, so I would advise you check the size of your room as they really do vary.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Avntheothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

I have stayed here lots in the last couple of years as my daughter lives in West end of Glasgow. The hotel is getting better and better. Customer care is really good - I always ask for a quiet room and always get a quiet room. Restaurant has been up-graded and the food is excellent. Staff friendly, helpful and the room price very competitive for Glasgow prices. Keep up the good work. I have recommended to my friends and four of them have stayed there this year and haven't been disappointed.

Room Tip: Top two floor rooms are definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is an ideal place to stay for visiting Glasgow or the west of Scotland. Not far to travel to Glasgow west end or further afield by train at Hyndland station. The outside of the hotel is not very impressive, typical concrete facing used in the 60's. We ate in the restaurant for one night, menu was basic but there was nothing wrong with the meal. Breakfast was buffet style and had a good choice of hot or cold items.
The hotel looked as if it had been refurbished in the past couple of years, both bar area and rooms were tastefully done.
No complaints at all about this hotel or the staff that work there. Would return for a city break.

Room Tip: Our room had the lift within it. There was some noise during the night but nothing that kept me awak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GAMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The outside of this hotel (type of building and location) does not suggest that inside you will be greeted with a modern, warm welcoming environment. The room were so clean, it shone. From floor to ceiling, wall to wall and bedding and towels – it was immaculate.
The room was not large, but more than adequate for a 1 night stay, and the bathroom was compact, but very comfortable. Everything you wanted was there including free WiFi, none of this £20 per day for The Pond.
The staff was friendly, with time for you, and very efficient. Breakfast service was good with a reasonable choice of very freshly cooked food. Table are cleared with almost military timing.
Do I have a negative comment anywhere – No. The Pond is a great 3* hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontysMum72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Had an amazing evening here on 7th June. It was our football team's 30th Anniversary celebration and everything went extremely well.

Good food, friendly service and helpful staff all round.

Although I did not stay I would definitely recommend for anybody thinking about hiring for any event - top class.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Euan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

stayed one night only and was very satisfied with the accommodation , I was on the 4th floor overlooking the pond. Attended a function where we were all very well looked after and the food was lovely. Also had breakfast the next morning which was buffet style, enjoyed the breakfast and would certainly return and recommend this hotel , staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
340 reviews
Number 10 Hotel
#28 of 93 in Glasgow
801 reviews
Albion Hotel
#48 of 93 in Glasgow
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,675 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#50 of 93 in Glasgow
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $69 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing