We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to Very Good”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #54 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was a passing through experience and I only spent one night there, however... it was nice to have the option of wandering around the pond at the end of my day... so much so that I walked around it again the next morning before breakfast. It's proximity is an added feature for this hotel. The rooms were clean and were exactly as stated. The meal was average. There is a service station within walking distance if you require anything for personal needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystalline4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

549 - 555 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

Me and two of my friends stayed here last week, the Room was very good! Bed was extremely comfy and the shower area was very clean and presentable, there were only a couple of minor issues. 1 - The WiFi is horrific, it takes ages to connect and you have to wait ages for pages to load, you have no access to emails etc. We had to ring reception many times to get put through to room service and to bring up another quilt as the room was cold. The food was okay, nothing great! There was also a ringing throughout the whole night, sounded like it came from a fire alarm which made everyone in our room restless and sleep deprived. I cannot fault the staff they were excellent wit dealing with our needs - the only staffing issue was the fact that house keeping kept knocking our door even though you were allowed till 12 to check out - they came at 10am and then twice more after that! i work in a hotel and or house keepers are made aware when rooms have departed so you are not disturbing people while they are resting, would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have mixed feelings for this hotel. I stayed for 3 days mainly for business. The restaurant food was average, more like a pub's food. Breakfast was OK. The room was clean and good size, and staff was polite. Also you get free parking, which is a plus if you have a car. Wi-Fi is free but useless; it is so slow that you cannot even check your emails. Distance to city centre is about 3 miles; OK by car but 30+ minutes walking.

What I definitely did not like was that when I arrived home (late at night) I realised that I forgot my suit-bag with a shirt and probably some ties and belts in it. I called reception immediately but nothing was reported. They recommended to call reception early in the morning and check with the house-keeping team which I did. I left my phone number but nobody called me back. I called again and they told me that the house-keeping team found nothing. Obviously someone took it instead of reporting it but for them there was nothing there. That is disappointing and it is strong reason not to rate high enough the hotel. In my view if you want to deal with professionals you have to be one too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeGallacher, General Manager at Glasgow Pond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that there was confusion regarding your lost property however delighted to hear that you have now received all personal possessions that where left in your hotel room.

We welcome all feedback as an opportunity to learn and improve our training and service standards, once again please accept our apologies for any misunderstanding and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Glasgow Pond Hotel

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've said it before I'll say it again, excellent location, free safe car park, good value for money, pleasant helpful staff, clean room, huge comfortable bed, excellent breakfast. M&S food store at petrol station two minute walk away if you need a snack. Excellent bus service to city centre across the road. Byres Road a 15 minute walk away, good for pubs, coffee shops, charity shops ( a good Oxfam book shop), and a mini antiques market. Our first choice hotel for a weekend in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SloeGin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed here last Thursday as part of a birthday weekend, and wished it could have been longer than just the one night! The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful upon arrival and the room was lovely. The location of the hotel is perfect as well if you are planning on heading out into the WestEnd which is 5 minutes in a taxi and has an excellent variety of different bars and restaurants to choose from. Have already recommended the hotel to friends and family and would definitely visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

good value for money, rooms very clean and breakfast OK.
Just a short drive to city centre or airport . on site parking free.
Would recommend for business or pleasure.
sleep quality good as your off the main.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DERYK l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here for a week whilst working nights in Glasgow. Staff very pleasant and helpful,rooms very comfy and warm, one of the better hotels I have stayed in for sleeping in the day. Didn't eat in the hotel, but did have a drink in the bar which was pricey.

Cleaners had a habit of turning the radiator off and opening the window when cleaning the room, which was a pain when I was trying to dry wet work clothes for the next nights work.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
320 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#52 of 93 in Glasgow
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 10 Hotel
#26 of 93 in Glasgow
781 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $76 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing