We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just had our civil ceremony / wedding in The pond hotel , and it was absolutely faultless as were the staff and how attentive they all were , nothing was too much trouble whatsoever , the wedding coordinator michelle was an expert at keeping us calm all through the day and as a master of ceremonies she excels , the food again was amazing and very very plentiful , the entire package from the hotel was amazing , and a special thank you to the amazing bar staff who always had a smile on there face when serving all our guests , I would recommend this as a wedding venue to anyone . P.s the rooms are fantastic , clean , modern and spacious too , sounds too good to be true , but I really can't fault out wedding at the pond hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

Everything is great, we really enjoyed it. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The rooms were neat and very clean. We stayed for 4 nights ate in the restaurant on our last night & had a fantastic meal food is really good and excellent price. Breakfast was a buffet and was pipping hot and always being refilled.

We will definitely stay again & will recommend to all of our friends & family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuartMitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over a weekend. We were at a wedding there on the Saturday, the food and service were excellent and the wedding was very professional ( I would definitely recommend this venue to any one thinking of getting married) The staff could not be more helpful. The room that we were in had a kingsize bed and was fresh and clean. The hotel itself is well placed for excursions to the sights of Glasgow, whether it be shopping or visiting the sights. We dined in the brasserie and were well impressed with the food.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an upgrade( only £20 when we stayed) includes bottle of wine chocolates, special s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfow1376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was invited to stay at The Pond Hotel and celebrate a wedding at the hotel. I arrived at 12 noon and was able to check into room straight away. This was welcomed as it gave us plenty of time to change for 2pm wedding. The rooms are a little small, but nicely furnised and clean. The matress was thin and comfort was average. The bathroom was compact with tremdous water pressure. I order room service which arrived promptly. The food we ordered was fresh and hot. The wedding was very well organised. The three coarse meal that was served to well over a hundred guest was nicely presented and piping hot. The self service breakfast was plentiful. Everything on the breakfast buffet was of good standard, except the sausages. The overall experience at The Pond Hotel was very enjoyable. There is M+S simply food store in the garage adjacent to the hotel which was very convenient.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kitson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had booked a one night stay when passing through Glasgow, room basic but clean and tidy. Facilities in the lobby area were good and busy. Both bar facilities and Breakfast were good with friendly staff.
Only negative is the rooms are ajoining (I guess for families) so there is a sliding door between rooms, the lady in our neighbouring room insisted in making very long and loud telephone calls, even with the TV turned up we could still hear her.
Not all people using the hotel need this ajoining facility, so if not part of a family or group booking why not offer rooms without ajoining (there were a few according to fire escape chart) facility.

Room Tip: Try and get a room without an ajoining (sliding door) if you want a good nights sleep. Try and get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canniffe_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family and I stayed here for one night in a family room. The room was ok, quite small as there were bunk beds as well as a double bed. The room was clean, but the nights sleep was terrible! Paper thin walls, screaming baby next door, squeaky bunk beds and a really warm room! Breakfast was plentiful but quality was poor. Been there done that never again!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linzr39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We have stayed in The Pond Hotel several times and would highly recommend it to friends and colleagues.

It's fantastic value for money and the rooms that we had were exactly as shown in the pics on the website. Beds were very comfortable and room immaculately clean throughout. Great value compared to some city centre hotels.

The last time we were there it was for a special occasion and we had chocolates and a beautiful fruit platter awaiting us in our room on arrival. Very thoughtful.

We have also eaten in the restaurant many times and the food is always delicious (the portions are extremely generous), and the staff very pleasant and attentive.

I can't fault the hotel and am very much looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyCrainie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
South Side
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
909 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
361 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#31 of 93 in Glasgow
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Number 10 Hotel
#32 of 93 in Glasgow
811 reviews
Orchard Park Hotel
#63 of 93 in Glasgow
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range: $72 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing