We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hotel for 3 star”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #53 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed March 2, 2013

For a 3 star this is a nice hotel and if your sharing with someone it's good value (same price if you're only one though).

The communal areas all look nicely decorated and modern and staff are friendly and helpful. They moved my room when I asked to be on the same floor as they rest of my family.

The rooms are a little on the small side but they have done a good job making them look nice and modern, they are well appointed, with tea and coffee facilities, flat screen tv with good selection of UK channels. The beds are small but comfy.

The bathroom was very well lit (useful for doing make up!) and had a good shower (in the bath). You can pay a little more to have robes.

I was disappointed that for a twin room all we got was one small shower gel and shampoo and was very surprised that over the 3 days we were there these were not replenished once!!

Breakfast was good, the hot food selection was excellent, they could improve on fruit and pastries. We had dinner here twice and it was overall good quality with decent sized portions, some dishes were excellent others not so good (don't have the banoffee pie as it is a cheesecake and not in anyway a banoffee pie!)

Overall for the price this hotel is a good one and I would recommend if you have a budget but want somewhere good quality.

Room Tip: On the side facing the road there was a loud generator
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
There are newer reviews for Glasgow Pond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel is efficient and friendly. Staff know their jobs and appear to enjoy them, with the result that the hotel exudes the sense of being well managed (2013).

Rooms are adequate in size rather than large and the beds are sleepable. Hotel cleaning is good by British standards, though, in the British way, there is plenty of carpet used and cleaning in the cracks and corners might not be deemed sufficiently thorough in countries where they take cleanliness more seriously than the Brits. (Benelux, Germany, Scandinavia, these days even France...)

Good choice at breakfast buffet. Other meals perfectly nourishing and well presented. For celebration meals, however, greedy people might prefer to find a restaurant.

Car parking very convenient in hotel's own parking area. Adjacent 24 hour gas station with mini-supermarket are handy for insomniacs, and there's an adjacent Italian restaurant which is reasonably priced and much frequented by medical staff from the huge adjacent hospital. For other shopping and a wider choice of eating/dining facilities probably it makes sense to head past the Glasgow Botanic Gardens and into the city centre.

Hotel Glasgow Pond is relatively easy to find, just off the main road west to Dumbarton. Nearby taxi-rank is shared with the adjacent hospital, and a taxi trip to western end of central Glasgow costs approx ten pounds (2013). Bus service into city centre also appears reasonably regular, and for motorists the main motorway ring road leading to the M8 is less than ten minutes away (other than at peak commuting hours on work days).

The most negative aspect is the obfuscatory room rate structure which appears to model itself on the worst aspects of British railway and airline pricing, though room rates are sometimes good. The other problem that can be encountered when using sat nav or maps is that the hotel has recently changed its name, so does not always appear under its current name in older information sources.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chas h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lovely place! Staff were second to none, breakfast was to die for and the evening meals were very good and reasonably priced. Rooms were lovely except for one or two little problems.

The double room, number 222, was smaller than normal due to the fact that it shared a lot of space with the two lifts! (This should really be a single room).
Don`t worry, the lifts are completely silent but I am afraid that the persons exiting them in the small hours were not! This room also had the air conditioning unit outside the window so the noise was fairly annoying when the window was open. In fact, perhaps this particular room should be for storage?

Bathroom was lovely but the light above the mirror did not work and the tissue holder was empty. I asked reception for an extra pillow but was told that as the Hotel was full I would not be able to get one! . Minor details but annoying nevertheless.

I would like to see notices inside or outside the lifts stating something like: `PLEASE KEEP NOISE DOWN WHEN ENTERING/LEAVING THE LIFT. Thank you`.

My Sister and Brother in law also stayed overnight and had a larger room on the third floor.
No problems with their room. (In all fairness it was well away from the lifts!).

The overall ambience is fine and it is a very quiet area.

All in all a really nice place and I have no problems in recommending it to one and all.

Room Tip: Room 222 or any room too close to the lifts!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel. It was ideal for visiting our son at University and has a large free car park. The rooms are comfortable and we had a delicious buffet breakfast.

Our only problem with the hotel is the function room which seems to have events on Friday and Saturday nights. Unfortunately our room was situated above this and we were kept awake by loud music and people shouting, singing and swearing in the car park. Fortunately after complaining the following morning we were moved to a room at the other side of the hotel. We were very pleased how quickly out problem was resolved and would stay again but ask for a "quiet" room!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side facing the hospital rather than the pond which is on the side of the func...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal1LancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at the pond for a couple of days, what an excellent location for Beatson Hospital, the team we all very helpful and willing to assist our every need. The rooms were all well furnished. Free Wi-Fi a bonus, had a lot of electronic devices, but not a problem for the receptionist who were all willing to keep handing me out vouchers.

Definitely will use again when in Glasgow.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Big_John_Inthesmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

As an exile Glaswegian now staying in Birmingham I have recently been spending quite a bit of time visiting Glasgow and, for the most part, have reguarly stayed at the Glasgow Pond Hotel. I can honestly say that, on each occasion, my family and I have been well received and would find it difficult to fault the service we have received in any way. The rooms and communal areas are always very clean and well laid out, the bar staff and housekeeping staff very friendly and the food (especially the breakfasts) excellent. We like to spend our time in Glasgow's West End and therefore the hotel is well located for this and I woud not hestate to recommend the hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Lovely interior decor, excellent friendly service, tasty cooked breakfast as well as fruit, pastries etc and comfortable light fresh modern rooms. Very comfortable bed slept like a log. Would highly recommend to friends and family and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolpiggybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Ambassador Hotel
#44 of 93 in Glasgow
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,510 reviews
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
The Belhaven Hotel
#49 of 93 in Glasgow
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $77 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing