We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent City Hotel”
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #57 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent City Hotel”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were staying for a family function and the dinner was very good except for a shortage of prawns in my prawn cocktail and a lack of vegetables with the main. Just one shaped carrot and a piece of shaped courgette but plenty of well cooked meat. The dessert was good.
This hotel is situated in the West end of the city very convenient for the University, hospitals and for travel to the heart of the city. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and well maintained and the buffet breakfast is excellent. For breakfast there was a very good selection - fresh fruit, cereals, beautifully cooked full british breakfast with the scrambled eggs being lovely and creamy.

Room Tip: Don't know much about the rooms. We just stayed one night but every one in our party were happy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarveypoppyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    438
    230
    76
    60
See reviews for
216
362
94
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Three of us had lunch and the two who had fish'n'chips declared the fish the best ever, and the batter likewise. The third of us who had the veggie dish was equally complimentary. The staff were attentive and smiley (although there were not many other people to attend to). Musak was at an acceptably low level although we oldies were disappointed to hear Christmas carols and hymns when (28 Nov) we had not even started on the Advent season. (In Belgium they don't start putting up fripperies before Christmas Eve and we think that's how it should be. We are supposed to be a Christian nation.)
Excellent free parking facilities...just remember to turn right BEFORE Gartnavel Hospital! First right after turning left off Great Western Road, 2 miles out of Glasgow.)
Not long ago this hotel was called Jury's, so ask for that if you are lost. The name "Pond" harks back a decade or two to when it first opened. What will it be called next? Marriott? Hilton? Premier? Place your bets!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gm8apx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Having a hospital appointment next door to the hotel and it having been many years since my last visit, it seemed like a good idea to give the restaurant a try.

Although virtually empty at about 13h00, not a good sign, the place was clean and well laid out.
The staff seemed pleased to have someone to attend to so the service was 'attentive', if not particularly effective. The quickest way to get service was to get up from the table and go tap a waiter on the shoulder !

The food was, sadly, was typically Scottish 2/3 star quality; Char grilled chicken breast, though a bit dry with the rest of what was on the plate - totally unmemorable.

My friend and I stayed for just the one course which wasn't even really worth the reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last weekend for one night. Staff are very friendly and they couldn't be more helpful. Room's are basic but comfortable and clean. We used it as a base to get into the city. Hyndland Station is five mins walk away and gets you into Central or Queen Street Station in less than 10mins. Only cost us £2 return each............much better than a cab.

Had the Pond Burger for dinner and it was very good. Though the highlight was the breakfast, scrambled eggs were the best we had tasted in a hotel for a long time. Well worth a visit if your looking for great value for money.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Used to live in the city and chose this hotel for location convenient to Byres Road area. Was very disappointed in overall standard. Worst of all were the badly stained unattractive carpets in the room and corridor - even if they were vacuumed it made you feel that the room was not clean. The mattress topper and bed sheet did not fit the bed properly and was not tucked in. Had only 1 dinner over a 3 night stay and service was appalling. We waited almost an hour for food and the main course arrived when we hadn't had the starter. Ordered water and it didn't come. It was extremely hard to attract attention of serving staff. As noted it's on a busy road with petrol station immediately adjacent though there is a boating lake next to carpark and distant views of hills. Other guests in corridor were very noisy and you could clearly hear things from other bedrooms. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieCFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here when in Glasgow for a football match. The room was very clean and comfortable. Despite being near a main road I had no problems sleeping at all. The food was excellent, especially for the price. The staff were very polite and friendly, and checking in and out was a very simple process. Overall I had a thoroughly enjoyable experience and would recommend the Pond Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst on business in Glasgow. The outside of the hotel is very tired indeed and is 70's at best. Staff where very good and book-in was efficient and fast. The room was okay but a bit ont he small side. Very clean throughout though. I didn't have dinner but my partner did and she thought is was very average whilst the price of a glass of house red was very expensive. Our room backed onto the car park and the main road. There is also a garage just behind the hotel which appeared to have "boy racers" pulling into it for most of the night - I appreciate this is not the hotels fault but it did mean a poor nights sleep. Breakfast the next mornig was also very average and the hot buffet had obviously been out for a while. I would consider using the hotel again but only for one night and then only if I couldn't find another hotel such as a Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Avoid any room backing onto the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#44 of 95 in Glasgow
1,566 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 95 in Glasgow
3,367 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#30 of 95 in Glasgow
788 reviews
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Property: Glasgow Pond Hotel
Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing