We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pondrific” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glasgow Pond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glasgow Pond Hotel
Ranked #52 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pondrific”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel last weekend for one night. Staff are very friendly and they couldn't be more helpful. Room's are basic but comfortable and clean. We used it as a base to get into the city. Hyndland Station is five mins walk away and gets you into Central or Queen Street Station in less than 10mins. Only cost us £2 return each............much better than a cab.

Had the Pond Burger for dinner and it was very good. Though the highlight was the breakfast, scrambled eggs were the best we had tasted in a hotel for a long time. Well worth a visit if your looking for great value for money.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    423
    218
    70
    57
See reviews for
205
349
91
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Used to live in the city and chose this hotel for location convenient to Byres Road area. Was very disappointed in overall standard. Worst of all were the badly stained unattractive carpets in the room and corridor - even if they were vacuumed it made you feel that the room was not clean. The mattress topper and bed sheet did not fit the bed properly and was not tucked in. Had only 1 dinner over a 3 night stay and service was appalling. We waited almost an hour for food and the main course arrived when we hadn't had the starter. Ordered water and it didn't come. It was extremely hard to attract attention of serving staff. As noted it's on a busy road with petrol station immediately adjacent though there is a boating lake next to carpark and distant views of hills. Other guests in corridor were very noisy and you could clearly hear things from other bedrooms. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieCFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here when in Glasgow for a football match. The room was very clean and comfortable. Despite being near a main road I had no problems sleeping at all. The food was excellent, especially for the price. The staff were very polite and friendly, and checking in and out was a very simple process. Overall I had a thoroughly enjoyable experience and would recommend the Pond Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for one night whilst on business in Glasgow. The outside of the hotel is very tired indeed and is 70's at best. Staff where very good and book-in was efficient and fast. The room was okay but a bit ont he small side. Very clean throughout though. I didn't have dinner but my partner did and she thought is was very average whilst the price of a glass of house red was very expensive. Our room backed onto the car park and the main road. There is also a garage just behind the hotel which appeared to have "boy racers" pulling into it for most of the night - I appreciate this is not the hotels fault but it did mean a poor nights sleep. Breakfast the next mornig was also very average and the hot buffet had obviously been out for a while. I would consider using the hotel again but only for one night and then only if I couldn't find another hotel such as a Premier Inn.

Room Tip: Avoid any room backing onto the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. First impresssion of the lobby and bar area is very good. Check in was very smooth. The room had seen better days the the carpet was stained and worn out, the hose for the shower broken. The room was clean and the bed was fine.
The food was ok all the food I tried was well cooked but was more in a pub than resturant style.
All the staff were very good and I had no problems but watching others on a couple of the nights drink and food orders were lost and poeple left sitting waiting.
Beakfast is all self service including finding your own table which can lead to some confusion.

Overall not bad but could do better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have been visiting this hotel several times over the last 3 years and whilst it was a Best Western it was great but now..... the bathroom facilities in the rooms are looking dated and not as clean as they could be. The shower is hot/cold/hot/cold. The beds are rock hard and uncomfortable. Our room was also above the function suite and we were told by reception that the noise would stop by midnight but it was still very noisy as the guests from the function were trapsing up & down the back stairs which we could hear through the wall until 3am. We could also hear the gentleman upstairs going to the bathroom in the morning and we were extremly upset to hear him being sick! This hotel is in an ideal situation of Glasgow and has parking but if you are looking for a peaceful nights sleep I would avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet nights sleep phone ahead and specifically request a room furthest away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsShoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

To start with the car park is big and free,food good ,bed great,room clean
Position relative to city centre is good its on the west side
could be cheaper for food and drink
Breakfast is help yourself so the hot stuff is not great as its been sitting for a while on the hot plate counter
Breakfast is always better cooked to order, not here though
Staff where helpful

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank G1ORB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#60 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
The Belhaven Hotel
#51 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ambassador Hotel
#59 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#28 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasgow Pond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasgow Pond Hotel

Property: Glasgow Pond Hotel
Address: Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 0XP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasgow Pond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed in Glasgow's fashionable West End with free WiFi and guest parking, Glasgow Pond Hotel enjoys a great local reputation, which is complemented by the fantastic modern interior. Guest rooms are stylish and comfortable with digital TV, direct dial telephone, welcome tray and 24 hour room service. The Brasserie offers great value food all day every day. Only a few minutes drive from the city centre of Glasgow, the hotel is a great base for those wanting to explore all that Glasgow has to offer. Museums, culture and art, cafes and bars on tap, there is something for everyone. Whether your stay is business or leisure Glasgow Pond Hotel is the perfect choice for a memorable stay in Glasgow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Glasgow Pond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glasgow
Glasgow Best Western
Glasgow Pond Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing