We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Sunday lunch”
Review of Cail Bruich

Cail Bruich
Ranked #19 of 2,573 Restaurants in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $126
Cuisines: European, French, Scottish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: West End
Description: Influenced by both classical and modern cooking techniques, we serve contemporary Scottish Cuisine in the heart of Glasgow's West End. 3 AA Rosettes.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We must have visited on a Sunday about 3/4 years ago and never went back. Okay but nothing special. What a surprise when we went back. The food was excellent, the small touches in service, appetisers, quality of house wines, as well as great courses, from start to finish, made this a great experience and one to be repeated very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denis_McQuade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Cail Bruich, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hello Denis,

Thank you for leaving a review. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit to CB and will be back. I'm glad that you've seen a change in us and rest assured we'll strive to deliver just as good if not a better experience on your next visit.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,030 - 1,034 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

I visited with some friends for a Sunday lunch. The food was excellent with an interesting menu and all beautifully presented. The service was attentive and helpful. This is a proper restaurant, smart enough for a special occasion but cosy enough to still feel relaxed. A first rate experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Walter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Cail Bruich, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Hello Walter,

Thank you for coming and then for going to the trouble of leaving us a review. I really appreciate the feedback. A pleasure to have you and please, let us know if there's anything we can do for you in the future.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We recently enjoyed two memorable evenings in this fabulous restaurant. On both occasions we had the tasting menus (one four course, one seven course) served with the accompanying wine flight. The food was outstanding. It was fresh, imaginatively prepared and each course was a taste sensation. The wine flight involves a small measure of wine with each course that compliments the flavours of the dish. The food, wine and service were fantastic. I cant wait to go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CC20de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Cail Bruich, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for leaving such a great review of Cail Bruich.

Naturally it's always pleasing to read when complimented but first and foremost better for us to know that we are doing things right for our customers.

Have to say thank you for coming twice to sample our tasting menus. I'm pleased that you enjoyed them and found the matched wines enjoyable too.

When you next dine with us we'd be glad to recommend a few more dishes that you might enjoy. Please take care until then but hope to see you soon!

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A great night. The food is the best I've ever had. Clean vibrant flavours. Fabulous value for money in a relaxed atmosphere with very Intuitive and attentive front of house. You must go!! I can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kdsnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, Owner at Cail Bruich, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Thank you for the fantastic compliments and we can't wait to have you back!

Let us know what dishes or menu you dined from as we'd be happy to recommend a few others you might like on your next visit.

Thanks again and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant on recommendation from a friend and it surpassed all expectations.
We experienced the 5 course taster menu with matching wines...and it was absolutely stunning.
I would urge anyone who loves fantastically made, local, seasonal produce to try it. You will not be disappointed.
We booked for 2pm on a Saturday and, surprisingly, it was quiet. The service, too, was great - very attentive.
All in all, we had a wonderful time and will be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank MsJacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Cail Bruich, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

Hello there MsJackson,

I'm delighted you had a great time in the restaurant. That we surpassed your expectations is fantastic to read. Maybe we can tempt you back for the seven course tasting menu soon...

We probably welcomed you at the quieter end of our lunch service before the restaurant closed to prepare for the evening. If you would like a change of atmosphere please book again for the evenings as it is much busier.

Until next time and thank you again for the great review.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cail Bruich also viewed

 
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Cail Bruich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing