We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fascinating look at the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenement House

Tenement House
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.66*
and up
City Sightseeing Glasgow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #25 of 270 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tenement House provides a rare glimpse into life in Glasgow in the early 20th century, in the faithfully restored four-room house lived in by Miss Agnes Toward for over half a century. See what it meant to be an 'independent woman' in the first half of the 20th century; experience how ordinary folk lived, and appreciate how many of the household amenities we now take for granted were considered luxuries less than a century ago. Authentic gas lighting has been installed to recreate the atmosphere of the house, which didn't have electric lighting until 1960. An exhibition on the ground floor makes the most of Miss Toward's extensive personal archive, providing a valuable time capsule for visitors today.
Bronxville, New York, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A fascinating look at the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The location is easy to get to and provides a view of the past that one rarely sees. The site provides you an opportunity to see how someone lived during Glasgow's heyday. Well worth the hour or two required for the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sport10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    121
    21
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting glimpse into daily life!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was well worth the walk. A fascinating glimpse into the life of a single woman and her mother in an old tenement. Their flat was rather up-market compared to those of many others at the time, but extremely interesting nonetheless. The rooms at the entrance/ticket office were filled with artifacts detailing everyday life--personal letters, photos, newspaper clippings, as well as examples of other typical tenement floorplans. Thus, we had the opportunity to "get to know" the family before actually entering their flat. Upon entering, there was a docent in every room available to provide details about the former occupants, their day-to-day life, and contrasts of other, less affluent tenement dwellers. One of my favorite experiences, although every Scottish National Trust attraction we visited was worthwhile, all well-preserved and staffed with enthusiastic docents.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Chicag0AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incredibly moving and interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

I walked from the Glasgow Town Centre to TheTenement House, which was quite a challenge at times, (despite looking easy peasy on the map) due to some steep hills, but it was well worth it. With the odd opening times of 1 to 5, no point in being early but I was and stood out in the cold wind hoping for an early opening! Right on one the door opened and in I hurried and it was just like stepping back into time and yet I felt that I could live quite comfortably in the Tenement as it is right now.
It has some beautiful furniture in it and it has a fabulous stove which heated the water as well used as for the cooking.
And it had a bath and an indoor toilet, all before 1900. Fantastic! Any questions were beautifully answered by the ladies and they also were able to refer to information about everything in the 'flat'.
Check out the toilet bowl and guess the reason why it was that shape. Overall worth the cold and the hills . Excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JannyR336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating glimpse of tenemant life from the1900s”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Essentially untouched gem of a tenement flat sympathetically restored by the Scottish National Trust. Gas lighting, full kitchen range and beds in cupboards!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank alanmcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Looks so unasuming from the exterior but it is like stepping back in time when you enter the front door. It's fantastic that it has been preserved so well. It reminded me of visits to my grandparents in the early 70s although they did have electricity!

Helpful?
Thank Alfaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenement House also viewed

 

Been to Tenement House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing