We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Merchant City

Merchant City
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.55*
and up
Merchant City Music Walking Tour of Glasgow
Ranked #26 of 269 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Self-guided walking tour maps are available from George Square Tourist Office of Merchant City, now a vibrant historic cafe quarter and designer-shopping mecca. Highlights of this tour, which dates back to medieval times, include the grand neo-classical halls and Georgian townhouses built for Glasgow's rich tobacco barons and shipping merchants.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great place for a stroll and some shopping, lots of nice places to eat and drink.
The atmosphere is really nice and if you are looking for a quick bite in a relaxed upscale establishment look no furtehr than Medetteraneo. Nice glass of Prosecco with a great steak

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    231
    41
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Centre of the Glasgow Universe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just days before it closed for redevelopment. The square was buzzing with street entertainers - pipers and jugglers. The fantastic sunny weather certainly helped create a great atmosphere.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scotsman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots to choose from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great selection of restaurants from Italian Mexican Scottish etc etc so you wont be stuck for choice. My niece had her wedding reception here and the night was fantastic.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank alistair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visited on a Saturday night and the weather was warm, the atmosphere was great with lots of people eating and drinking outside. It was fantastic to walk around and soak up the atmosphere

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clarejulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Merchant city festival”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This has been my second year attending the merchant city festival. And I can't fault this festival the music, the people the foods on offer the entertainment and the excitement that surround the festival. I have to say it was the Saturday was the day I went and the weather was amazing. Please to say I will be back next year again because its a fantastic day out for all ages and genders everyone mixed well and it was one big party.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merchant City also viewed

 

Been to Merchant City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing