We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FREEZING venue, cold food.”
Review of Strata

Strata
Ranked #35 of 201 Nightlife in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scotlands "best new bar" fantastic food, extensive wine list and award winning cocktail bartenders set in luxurious surroundings in the heart of the city centre
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“FREEZING venue, cold food.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I were looking forward to a lovely Sunday roast on a cold, January afternoon. There were 3 or 4 members of male staff on duty but only 1 seemed to be doing anything. The restaurant/bar was freezing and I don't mean chilly - freezing! We commented on it as soon as we arrived but nothing changed. 3 tables were occupied and we ALL had our coats and scarves on. Lovely place but could not enjoy it due to the temperature. We had the roast and were told the meat would come medium to rare. We asked for it to be more medium but that was ignored and it arrived rare. The quality of the food was very good but it was very, very difficult to enjoy because it was so cold (as was the food) We politely mentioned this when paing and. We're told it is an ongoing problem as people had mentioned it before. This place won't last long which is a shame because it could be great if they cared about their patrons' basic needs.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    13
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Staff and service bad.
Food even worse
Needs a chef and waiters what the
Money paying customer wants bad front of house

Helpful?
1 Thank Simmyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strata Q, Owner at Strata, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Punctuation & sentence structure bad.
Use of the English language even worse(no full stop)
Needs further education urgently.
Great review.
Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijnsburg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice venue for a drink when shopping”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great atmosphere and good food. Free WiFi and nice music & personnell
Certainly worth a visit when travelling in Glasgo

Helpful?
Thank PvEgmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnstone
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“cold restaurant and cold meal”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Looking forward to this meal at this restaurant so much so we invited friends in from Ayrshire to come along but boy oh boy was this restaurant cold. Our 1st seat was downstairs near the door so we kindly asked for this to be changed which it was done to upstairs which was fine except it never got any warmer as the people at the next table still had their coats/scarves on and told us it was very cold we had to agree. We asked for a heater but we are still waiting. We (6 of us) decided on the sunday roast as it was recommended but 1st of all came the potatos then 5 minutes later the yorkshire puds, then 5 minutes later the veg and then 5 minutes later the meat now all in all we waited 20 minutes for our meal to become complete and you can guess it was cold all of it. We did complain and asked for it to be heated but I dont know what kind of microwave they have but it was still cold when we got it back. 2 very nice waiters did try and compensate by offering extra bottles of wine for the table and desserts which was nice enough but it did not make up for the cold meal and the poor service of it. I dont know what this restaurance will do once the festive season is in full swing as although it was busy enough it was not over run with clients. VERY POOR.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank summer02Johnstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant Xmas Party”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

So impressed with this place, didn't even know it had re-opened. Went along for our office night out and had a cocktail masterclass and the Christmas party menu. Masterclass was fun and interactive whilst the food was tremendous value and great quality compared to the standard cold, bland party food which so many bars serve up at this time of year. Service was outstanding- we got table service all night. The place was jam packed with parties eating and drinking and no wonder. Music great too!
Well done Strata!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vinnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strata also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Strata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing