We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple food, but quality ingredients and well cooked”
Review of Criterion - CLOSED

Criterion
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simple food, but quality ingredients and well cooked”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We've eaten here twice now and found the service good. Much of the food while quite simple is locally sourced and always very tasty.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HalfCenturian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing value pizza's, variable service”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We've been here with the kids loads of times for pizza and love it. We went on Saturday and the barman was strangely brusque when we asked for pizza's. Turns out these are now on the bar snacks menu and are only a fiver- maybe he was a bit annoyed that we were taking up a table for such a cheap dinner!

Anyway, the pizza's were great and the waitress was totally lovely. There's been the odd mess up with food when we've been before, but the staff always charming and quick to remedy the situation. The slight eccentricity is part of it's appeal for me. We didn't see the squid on the menu that we usually have, but it turns out that this too is now on the bar snacks menu.

That would be my only slight gripe- the bar snacks menu sounds great, but you aren't given one if you are at a table. We would definitely ordered some starters off of it, as when the waitress described them they sounded amazing. Maybe next time....

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ailsa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Criterion is Cool”
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have lived around the corner from the Ciriterion for about a year and it has become my 'Rovers Return'. I have always found the bar staff helpful and welcoming without exception. You can also eat in there if you wish. It is generally quieter than VE next door which helps if you are afflicted by hearing loss (aka chuffing deaf old so and so) like wot I is. I like the decor and atmosphere it provides and whilst it is not cheap to drink there it is definitely a place to impress your friends and relations.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Visited Saturday 14 Jan around 6ish. Rude, indifferent barmaid. Terrible service, despite the bar being extremely quiet. No music. No atmosphere. No return for us.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank VR3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“GREAT BAR RESTAURANT, LOVELY AMBIENCE AND GREAT STAFF”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is part of the Velvet Elvis, Pintxo stable and like the others, has a charming quirkiness about it. The booths are a great place to chat with friends and enjoy the wide range menu and fabulous cocktails. The external seats are always full during summer as we have often sat and watched the world of Partick go by whilst enjoying a chilled bottle of wine. The weekend entertainment is also quirky and the clientele varied. Always a good night out.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criterion also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing