We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent base”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a 5minute stroll from many of the main shops etc.and is an excellent base from which to explore the sights and sounds of the city(the hotel is not in a noisy area). Very nearby is an entrance to the subway so the entire city sightseeing programme can be planned and carried out very easily. You can be assured of good clean accommodation and helpful staff. We're going back there soon. There is a restaurant next door for evening meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pleasedScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you are planning to return!

As you mentioned, the hotel is the ideal base for all the attractions in Glasgow, including museums, shops and restaurants. Central and Queen Street train stations are only a ten minute walk away, and the St Enochs subway station is five minutes walk. We are also conveniently located next to one of the bus stops where you can get the Glasgow Sightseeing Tour Bus. This 'hop on-hop off' bus is a great way to see all the sights in Glasgow, and we sell tickets for this at the hotel, just come and ask us at reception.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again soon at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    467
    169
    53
    19
See reviews for
226
407
65
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmilns
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight stop and it was good, staff were friendly and helpful , I was on crutches and staff went out of their way to help open doors and even offered to fetch my breakfast for me which i thought was really nice. Room on the small side but adequate for us and clean. Hotel close to the main shopping area and plenty of restaurants , bars nearby. Downside was there was no drop off area at front of hotel (wouldnt have bothered me if i wasnt on crutches) Breakfast was good, its a help yourself affair. Would use again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mysticmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

My wife and I had an overnight stay on a Saturday, Hotel is close to Glasgow city centre and is easy to find.

Found the staff to be very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable,

Breakfast was more than adequate. Enjoyed our stay and would recommend. I hope to return some time in the future,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review of the hotel, we really do appreciate it.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you plan to return to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside again . We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

stayed here on a snowy night in Feb.
Hotel is fine and the usual good HIE standard but fining the front door in a car is hardwork.
There is no stopping outside or within a few hundred metres.
The other big issue is the new bus lanes just up the road from the hotel. I missed th hotel first time as i could not stop as there were so many buses there, in fact i was bullied into going forward by a 'professional' bus driver and ended up in the bus lane instead of turning off. Some of the bus lane signs are also missing.
I found parking round the corner for free as it was after 18.00 and i left before 08.00 next morning.
The parking issues would put me off this hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller123456277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel.

I am sorry you experienced some problems with parking. I appreciate that City Centre driving can be frustrating sometimes. Though we do not have our own car park, we do sell discounted vouchers for the NCP car park which is just across the road from the hotel in King Street. If you are planning to stay with us again, which I hope that you will, please just stop outside the hotel with your hazard lights on and pop into reception. We will give you a parking voucher and direct you across there. You can also bring in any luggage you have with you, and we will look after it for you while you go and park the car.

I am really pleased that you otherwise enjoyed your stay here, and found the hotel to be of a high standard, and I hope we get the chance to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night. The walk from the car park was a bit daunting. Glad I didn't have to do it on my own. Some rough scenes. But good security on the door and once inside it was fine. Quiet room on the third floor. Nice ensuite. Decor fresh and pleasant. Bed comfortable. Thought we might be cold and couldn't find any extra blankets, but it was ok. The air conditioner blew gently all night but we managed to sleep through it. No problem having our dog in the room. Breakfast was better than expected. good scrambled egg, croissants, reasonable coffee and good tea. Had stayed at the Greenock Express Holiday Inn before, but breakfast here was much better. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boglieburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Boglieburn,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so pleased you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. We assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again on your next stay.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here with our children this weekend. Good central location just near to St Enoch's centre. Might be a bit noisy with party goers but we were put at the end of the corridor so quite quiet really. Had seen the reviews of the breakfast so were slightly worried but it was fine - lots of choice, mini muffins, croissants, toast, cereals, sausages, beans and sctambled eggs. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room, although there was no bath, was nice and clean and big enough for all 4 of us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMctonks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am really happy to hear you had such an enjoyable stay here, and found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. I am also pleased you enjoyed our breakfast. As you mentioned, we provide Continental, as well as a selection of hot items, and it is complimentary for all guests.

Thank you for your comments about how friendly and helpful all the staff were, I will pass this on to them , and they will really appreciate the positive feedback.

Thank you again for your review, and I hope you come back to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside again very soon.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night last weekend (2/2/13). The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the central train station and very easy to find. It's a 5 minute walk from main shopping areas, restaurants and bars but very quiet at nighttime. Check in was very quick and we were allocated our room even though we arrives before checkin time. Room was clean and well sized and I particularly liked the versatile bathroom door! Staff were excellent -very warm and welcoming. They provided an excellent service-I must mention Dave and Ian personally. Thank you and we look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you are coming back to stay with us again.

It is great that you found all the staff to be so friendly and helpful, and thank you for mentioning Dave and Iain in particular. I have already passed your comments on to them, and the rest of the team here, and they were thrilled!

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing