We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience! Great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience! Great staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night last weekend (2/2/13). The hotel was a 10 minute walk from the central train station and very easy to find. It's a 5 minute walk from main shopping areas, restaurants and bars but very quiet at nighttime. Check in was very quick and we were allocated our room even though we arrives before checkin time. Room was clean and well sized and I particularly liked the versatile bathroom door! Staff were excellent -very warm and welcoming. They provided an excellent service-I must mention Dave and Ian personally. Thank you and we look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here, and that you are coming back to stay with us again.

It is great that you found all the staff to be so friendly and helpful, and thank you for mentioning Dave and Iain in particular. I have already passed your comments on to them, and the rest of the team here, and they were thrilled!

We look forward to seeing you again soon at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    465
    169
    53
    19
See reviews for
225
406
65
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurrieq, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The room was spacious and had a lot of baggage room. It was li and splendidly clean daily. The hotel area is very nice for a walk in the evenings especially near the river (partly because I never got to that in Malta). The staff was very friendly and informative of the city center. The breakfast area was a bit small and would get a bit crowded at times but we managed. Overall a great stay and well priced

Room Tip: Rooms most closer to the river tend to suffer from a lot of bird noises :s
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear maria g,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the breakfast experience. We will address this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I normally stay at the Holiday Inn Express,Theatreland when in Glasgow,but as this hotel had a two nights for the price of one offer,this was our choice! Being situated down near the River Clyde it is slightly away from the main shopping area,but saying that it's very near the St Enoch's Centre.We were warmly welcomed by the staff when we arrived and given a room on the first floor facing the street which we thought might have a problem with traffic noise,we needn't have been concerned it was very quiet.The room was upto the usual standard. We asked the receptionist for details of how to get to Hampden Park and she printed us out the information from the internet,very friendly and helpful.The open breakfast area next to reception is much more spacious than the other hotel we usually frequent,no bacon was available here but as it is pretty bland at the 'other hotel' it wasn't missed! we spoke to various staff members over the weekend and they appeared to go that extra bit to make you feel welcome.With a couple of interesting pubs nearby,I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: Our first floor Stockwell Street facing room was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beardie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, we really appreciate it when our guests take the time to leave feedback, especially when it's as great as this.

I'm so glad you experienced the high level of service we provide here. We pride ourselves on this, and work hard to ensure our guests feel warmly welcomed and relaxed when they come to our hotel. Our reception is staffed 24 hours a day, so we are always here to help with directions, answer questions, and provide any other help that you may need during your stay.

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay here, and even more delighted that you would recommend us to people. I hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very well placed hotel for visiting the city. Easy parking though you have to pay but once paid you can come and go as you please. Plenty good restaurants within easy walking distance. The old merchant market is an excellent venue also for early eating offers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StanWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased the hotel was well placed for everything you needed during your recent stay here.

As you mentioned, we are located in the City Centre, within easy walking distance of all the shops, train stations, and amenities. We are indeed only a few minutes walk away from Merchant City, which is a lovely area of Glasgow with a great selection of bars and restaurants. There is also a nearby taxi rank, plus cash-lines and supermarkets - everything you need is on our doorstep!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed one night, the staff were very helpful on check in. Room was fine for a one night business stop, clean well presented and warm. Breakfast was nothing special but I did not expect much for the low cost. Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripple_Disaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review. I will pass your kind comments on to our Reception team and Housekeeping staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside again.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for a night in November and had a comfortable stay. Needed somewhere cheap and cheerful. Breakfast is included in the price too, and there's plenty in it to fill the belly. Room was comfortable, very basic, but that's what we were paying for. The staff were very friendly and the place was very clean, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmaob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear johnmaob,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy you enjoyed breakfast. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary room accommodation. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHX, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Spent just over a week here over New Year's and was very pleased with the experience.

-Staff: 24/7 coverage from friendly and helpful staff. I was very impressed with the staff at this hotel and their performance alone secured the 5th star for this review. I'm not used to being -impressed- by Holiday Inn Expresses, just used to being satisfied and moving along, but the service at this location was consistently superb across all shifts of staff encountered by this jetlagged tourist.

Every time a customer would have a question about things to do, places they are trying to find, whatever, the staff at the front desk would be helpfully marking up maps with directions, giving friendly tips and providing stellar customer service.

Checking in and out was a breeze. The staff accommodated a very early check-in with no hassle at all. A very nice surprise!

-Housekeeping: Very fast, efficient and unobtrusive. Very friendly and helpful when questions are asked or extra towels are needed. They were the best I've seen when it comes to respecting Do Not Disturb notices, so no rude awakenings!

-Rooms: Very comfortable with adequate pillows, linens, towels, and miscellaneous items to keep visitors happy. The front desk can fill in basic gaps should you have forgotten a toothbrush or comb.

The rooms do not have many power outlets so if you're staying with friends make sure to have some way to work around this.

I had a 3rd floor room overlooking Stockwell Street and the noise levels were very low despite having been warned that it was not the quiet side of the building. Rooms were well insulated enough that noise in the hallways was reduced, but still sometimes noticeable if a large group was moving through. YMMV.

-Wi-Fi: Paid except in the great room on the ground floor. Speeds were very slow in the great room if there were other users doing bandwidth intensive tasks but it is more than adequate for checking Yelp, updating travel photos on various sites, and checking in on e-mails.

-Breakfast/Bar: More expensive drinks than some of the pubs next door but a great place to grab late night drinks or pre-drink before heading out for a night. Snackboxes, candy, fizzy drinks and pizzas (after 10pm) are available should you find yourself hungry. Staff was very responsive to helping guests out ASAP and providing menus.

Breakfast was free and filling. Buffet service for scrambled eggs, sausages and beans, or assorted yoghurts, cereals, fruits, etc. Free flowing self-serve coffee was very nice to have available.

Location:
Located within 10-miuntes of pretty much everything in city centre, Merchant City, with fast access to the Glasgow Metro and local bus routes. There's a taxi stand about a block away from the hotel, towards Argyle Street on Stockwell, so this is a great place to stay if you're going to be going out. There is a car park located across the street from the hotel for those who drove or have rental cars, not sure about rates though. The hotel is a short walking distance from Glasgow Central as well, and about a 20-GBP cab ride from the airport should you have too much luggage to wrangle onto public transit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neandertalinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an excellent and detailed review of our hotel. I have already shared your all your comments with the rest of the team here, and they were thrilled. We really do appreciate such great feedback, and it makes us proud to know we are doing our jobs so effectively and giving our guests such a comfortable stay.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Riverside if you ever return to Glasgow!

Thank you again for such a wonderful review!

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#24 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing