We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for city break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #27 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very well placed hotel for visiting the city. Easy parking though you have to pay but once paid you can come and go as you please. Plenty good restaurants within easy walking distance. The old merchant market is an excellent venue also for early eating offers.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanWinfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased the hotel was well placed for everything you needed during your recent stay here.

As you mentioned, we are located in the City Centre, within easy walking distance of all the shops, train stations, and amenities. We are indeed only a few minutes walk away from Merchant City, which is a lovely area of Glasgow with a great selection of bars and restaurants. There is also a nearby taxi rank, plus cash-lines and supermarkets - everything you need is on our doorstep!

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed one night, the staff were very helpful on check in. Room was fine for a one night business stop, clean well presented and warm. Breakfast was nothing special but I did not expect much for the low cost. Would stay again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tripple_Disaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review. I will pass your kind comments on to our Reception team and Housekeeping staff. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you would return to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow Riverside again.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here for a night in November and had a comfortable stay. Needed somewhere cheap and cheerful. Breakfast is included in the price too, and there's plenty in it to fill the belly. Room was comfortable, very basic, but that's what we were paying for. The staff were very friendly and the place was very clean, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmaob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear johnmaob,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy you enjoyed breakfast. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary room accommodation. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Spent just over a week here over New Year's and was very pleased with the experience.

-Staff: 24/7 coverage from friendly and helpful staff. I was very impressed with the staff at this hotel and their performance alone secured the 5th star for this review. I'm not used to being -impressed- by Holiday Inn Expresses, just used to being satisfied and moving along, but the service at this location was consistently superb across all shifts of staff encountered by this jetlagged tourist.

Every time a customer would have a question about things to do, places they are trying to find, whatever, the staff at the front desk would be helpfully marking up maps with directions, giving friendly tips and providing stellar customer service.

Checking in and out was a breeze. The staff accommodated a very early check-in with no hassle at all. A very nice surprise!

-Housekeeping: Very fast, efficient and unobtrusive. Very friendly and helpful when questions are asked or extra towels are needed. They were the best I've seen when it comes to respecting Do Not Disturb notices, so no rude awakenings!

-Rooms: Very comfortable with adequate pillows, linens, towels, and miscellaneous items to keep visitors happy. The front desk can fill in basic gaps should you have forgotten a toothbrush or comb.

The rooms do not have many power outlets so if you're staying with friends make sure to have some way to work around this.

I had a 3rd floor room overlooking Stockwell Street and the noise levels were very low despite having been warned that it was not the quiet side of the building. Rooms were well insulated enough that noise in the hallways was reduced, but still sometimes noticeable if a large group was moving through. YMMV.

-Wi-Fi: Paid except in the great room on the ground floor. Speeds were very slow in the great room if there were other users doing bandwidth intensive tasks but it is more than adequate for checking Yelp, updating travel photos on various sites, and checking in on e-mails.

-Breakfast/Bar: More expensive drinks than some of the pubs next door but a great place to grab late night drinks or pre-drink before heading out for a night. Snackboxes, candy, fizzy drinks and pizzas (after 10pm) are available should you find yourself hungry. Staff was very responsive to helping guests out ASAP and providing menus.

Breakfast was free and filling. Buffet service for scrambled eggs, sausages and beans, or assorted yoghurts, cereals, fruits, etc. Free flowing self-serve coffee was very nice to have available.

Location:
Located within 10-miuntes of pretty much everything in city centre, Merchant City, with fast access to the Glasgow Metro and local bus routes. There's a taxi stand about a block away from the hotel, towards Argyle Street on Stockwell, so this is a great place to stay if you're going to be going out. There is a car park located across the street from the hotel for those who drove or have rental cars, not sure about rates though. The hotel is a short walking distance from Glasgow Central as well, and about a 20-GBP cab ride from the airport should you have too much luggage to wrangle onto public transit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neandertalinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an excellent and detailed review of our hotel. I have already shared your all your comments with the rest of the team here, and they were thrilled. We really do appreciate such great feedback, and it makes us proud to know we are doing our jobs so effectively and giving our guests such a comfortable stay.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express Riverside if you ever return to Glasgow!

Thank you again for such a wonderful review!

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent hotel - we wanted to drop bags in early, staff actually checked us in without charge- Staff could not do enough for us - Excellent hotel as standards of cleanliness high, good temperature, comfortable beads and breakfast items fresh and quickly stocked up. Always someone at reception to help. We will never go to a Travel Lodge again as there is no comparison in the service levels yet they have a similar price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gdmanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It is great to have such amazing feedback from our guests. I am so pleased you found the hotel and its's staff to be of such a high standard, and I will pass your comments on to everyone here including our Breakfast, Housekeeping and Maintanence teams. We are very proud of the service that we provide here, and we all do everything we can to ensure our guests have a comfortable and stress free stay. Also, as you noted in your review, our staff are on hand 24 hours a day to help you with any problems or questions you may have.

I am happy you will continue to stay with us in the future, and the team here at Holiday Inn Express Riverside look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I have stayed in Holiday inn before in Bolton and was very impressed so thought with a trip to Glasgow to see friends it would be a good base - NO IT WAS NOT. very hard to find disabled parking at the back of the hotel, had to go though the back of the hotel down narrow corridors with a mobility scooter, the room was tired and dirty as for the breakfast was awful booked for 2 nights and left after the first night - never again

Room Tip: don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sadiebell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the hotel. I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The team here strives to ensure our guests expectations and needs are met at all times, but unfortunately on this occasion it appears that has not happened.

We provide a full contintental breakfast consisting of breads, cereals, youghurts, muffins, fruits, juice, tea and coffee, and also scrambled eggs, beans and sausages, and this is all complimentary.

Due to our City Centre location, we unfortunately do not have an on site car park for guests, however we do sell discounted vouchers for an NCP car park just across the road from the hotel. On your visit, it sounds like one of our team let you park in our staff car park to try and make things easier for you since you had a mobility scooter, but I can only apologise if you found this difficult to negotiate. Please be assured, we always try our best to do everything we can to help all our guests.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay at Premier Inn but thought we'd try some place different.

It was nice to be greeted by someone on reception rather than Premier Inns automated check in. We felt we were in a more caring and people orientated hotel.

Breakfast was basic but free.

The room was old but well maintained and very clean. The room had a nice big flat screen tv.

Other than a bit of modernisation it was very good value for money.

Very close to the Merchant City.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uk6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmexpressglasgow, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you got to experience the warm welcome and high level of customer service that we provide here at Holiday Inn Express Riverside. We provide a 24 hour staffed reception, where you will receive a fast, friendly check in, and help with any questions you may have.

As you mentioned in your review, we provide a complimentary breakfast for all our guests, which includes a varied continental selection, plus scrambled eggs, sausages and beans. And as you also noted, we are currently in the process of putting new flat screen televisions in all our rooms.

I hope you will return to us on your next visit to Glasgow.

Thank you once again for your lovely review.

Kind Regards

Hotel Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#33 of 93 in Glasgow
3,690 reviews
City Centre
Ibis Glasgow City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
City Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
Novotel Glasgow Centre
#43 of 93 in Glasgow
1,640 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $62 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing