We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Ranked #27 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and Staff”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

One of the best hotels I've stayed in for a while. Great location close to the shops, and nightclubs in and around the Merchant City. The staff were all very helpful from the minute we arrived until we left and a great value for money too as breakfast is also included in your room rate. Would highly recommend this hotel for all visitors.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    464
    169
    53
    19
See reviews for
224
406
65
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

stayed recently over the weekend. In a great location with shops, bars and train station within walking distance. Had room overlooking the river which was spacious and clean. Staff very friendly esp Ian on front desk. No waiting around when checking in or out and breakfast was good. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernutty333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelty, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

we stayed at this hotel for a weekend the staff were very helpfull and pleasant the room was very clean and tidy well presented would recommend it very highly will be staying again in the very near future

Room Tip: riverside view lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davydoubtfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had previously stayed at holiday inn express Hawthorne so we were disappointed that this hotel seemed a bit more basic. The bed was very small as was the bathroom. The breakfast was good but there was a long que for food and whilst the staff worked very hard they kept running out of food, cutlery etc. A reasonable price but very average.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strawberr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear Strawberr,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We appreciate the feedback that we receive as this is crucial for us to improve the products & services that we offer.

Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just returned from a 2 night break with my friend to visit an event at the SEEC.Easy check in by friendly helpful staff. Our room was clean and comfortable and the hotel is ideally situated, only minutes walk from center and attractions.Railway station is just around the corner, ideal for anyone attending the SEEC. Regular trains and only £1.60p return fare! Continental breakfast was included in our very reasonable rate. We only paid £121.00 between us for the 2 nights. There was also hot food of sausage,scrambled egg and beans included which was a nice surprise even though the Continental was more than adequate.Nothing was too much trouble for the friendy staff. Will definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

easy check-in (got a good walk-in rate). Friendly, clean. As good as any in this market range.
Room was clean and mostly all good - i could not get the sound to work on the tv and it did look a bit past its best . . . but it was a friday night and really was probably a good thing that i couldn't get the sound to work.
Didn't have time to sample the breakfast but those that were having it looked to be enjoying. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan_Russell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed here recently with my husband for 3 nights. Early check in with no extra charge and a smile! Asked for quiet room and got one. Room spotlessly clean and a good size.Very decent free breakfast with a lot of choice. Great location for shopping/bars and restaurants, all within walking distance. Staff very friendly and helpful. Secure luggage storage also available free. Could not have asked for more. Will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room away from lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrillseeker18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
3,127 reviews
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#22 of 96 in Glasgow
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Holiday Inn Glasgow City Centre Theatreland
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
2,200 reviews
City Centre
ibis styles Glasgow Centre George Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside

Property: Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside
Address: 122 Stockwell Street, Glasgow G1 4LW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#22 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Family Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside is ideal for exploring the infamous sights of Glasgow including the Riverside Museum, Kelvingrove Art Gallery and the renowned Style Mile. Each of our 128 guestrooms have been designed to provide all the comfort, convenience and value you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. From comfy beds, air-conditioning and free Wi-Fi to 32-inch TVs and en-suite bathrooms with power showers, we've got you covered. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children, with kids under 18 staying free! From the moment you arrive we want you to feel at home - arrive to a warm Scottish welcome, go to sleep in a comfortable bed and wake up to a delicious, inclusive breakfast. Wi-Fi is free throughout the hotel for our guests, so you can surf comfortably in your room or in our welcoming Great Room lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Hotel Glasgow
Holiday Inn Glasgow
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre Riverside Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing