We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelican Food + Drink - CLOSED

Pelican Food + Drink
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Seafood, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern Scottish menu using Scotlands best produce, cooked to the highest standard.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Went with a couple of friends for a light lunch. Newly refurbished, welcoming waitress who accommodated our drinks request quickly and with humour. Chose soup, hot and delicious, and a sandwich which was tasty and a good portion. Friends had similar and were not disappointed either. Great view of the Kelvingrove Art Gallery if you have a window seat and easy to enjoy people watching whilst having your coffee. I'll be happy to return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jinjasnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    175
    59
    48
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Myself and my partner bought one of the deals for this restaurant when we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. We had the pre-theatre menu which was part of the deal we purchased my partner however ordered the steak which had a £5 supplement nothing new there. When we received our meal my partner's steak was so tough he only managed to eat two bites, he complained about the quality of meat the waitress took the offending item away and offered an alternative which was politely declined. When we received our bill the £5 supplement for the steak had still be added to the bill we questioned the waitress about this and said that we don’t feel we should be charged a supplement for an item which was of such poor quality it was inedible, the response from the waitress was I tell you what you pay and how much!! You not tell me (she was Spanish). We asked to speak to the manager and was promptly informed that it was infact our waitress. This whole ordeal put a dampener on our whole night and would never return to the establishment.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellaboggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went here with an itison voucher. The food was good and nicely presented. The waiting staff were friendly and chatty. I would return if in the area again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R0nmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glesga
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated and disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We visited here for a birthday celebration hoping for a seafood treat. After some average starters and having to ask three times for our drink order, we went for a seafood platter for two. It took ages to arrive even though the place was practically empty. When it did eventually arrive the cooked produce was absolutely freezing (just defrosted?) so the excuse that it takes the chef a long time to prepare fresh seafood rang a bit hollow. Also the sharing platter included one lone oyster - when we queried this we were told that this is just how it's done but we could buy another oyster if we both wanted one. Kind of defeats the point of a sharing platter. The waiting staff were offhand and everything seemed to be too much trouble (a request to replace a dirty fork resulted in rolling eyes, like "why would you expect clean cutlery - think you're something special?" or maybe that's just my perception.
You see plenty of offers for this place, but even then I would say it's not worth it. There's plenty of better places to eat nearby (916 Diner in particular) where you'll get a better welcome, much better food and a greater experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Being on the Pelican's email list, we booked up to take advantage of an email offer we received. We arrived on time and were seated, but before we ordered we were politely informed that several things on the menu were of, including the scallops we had specifically come to get. Reason, they had been very busy with the special on Saturday, which meant there were none left for Sunday.
Would have thought with it being a special there would have been lots available to last the weekend. We have eaten here in the past and expected a good dining experience. Surely if people are booking on the back of an email from the restaurant they should be able to work out roughly how much they will need.
Very disappointing!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelican Food + Drink also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing