We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,442)
Filter reviews
1,442 results
Traveler rating
745
448
140
56
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
745
448
140
56
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews warm cookies double tree brisket executive floor leisure facilities steam room lovely hotel car park excellent stay sauchiehall street tea and coffee checking in would stay again breakfast was excellent stayed here for one night haggis cask
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,442 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Incredibly impressed by the consistently high level of service experienced - helpful, professional and sincere.
The room was lovely and all furnishings and bedding of a high quality, although a firmer pillow option would be appreciated.
The vegan menu was excellent, so perhaps a vegan welcome cookie could be a future option?

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Kbrowne5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryR2707, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Kbrowne5,

Thank you for your excellent review and comments about your experience. We hope to welcome you back again. We have shared your cookie comment with the global brand team.

Kind regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend treated us to an Afternoon Tea at Doubletree. The service was first-hand. The food was delicious and we were asked on a number of occasions if we needed more coffee, tea or cakes. We enjoyed ourselves so much that it was 1730 before we realised. We were asked if we wanted a doggie bag as we could not finish the cakes, scones etc and this was provided very readily. The only problem I had was that as a vegetarian, there was only one sandwich I could eat as the majority were either fish or meat based.

Room tip: As we were only visiting the hotel for Afternoon Tea, I cannot comment on other facilities.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryR2707, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Maureen B,

Thank you for your excellent overall feedback and constructive comment about the lack of vegetarian options. I am pleased you and your friends enjoyed your experience and hope you will return.

Kind regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Room great apart from no fridge and no robes. For £180 night I expected more. Also you pay on top for parking. Only stayed there as I was going to an event there. Central to Glasgow shopping areas. Breakfast cold on second day and not very special especially the sausages. There was Haggis which was good.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Starbird_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryR2707, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Starbird_13,

Thank you for your recent review. I am very sorry that we did not meet your personal expectations. Unfortunately we don't have fridges in our rooms and therefore don't advertise this facility and robes are not provided as standard. I am sorry that you were not happy with the breakfast experience we take your feedback on-board.

Kind regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

it was good, the hotel is located at a great place, easy public transportation, shopping area nearby, good food selection... hotel staff is friendly too despite some issue which was not solved unfortunately.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank yxnchn2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryR2707, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello yxnchn2019,

Thank you for your excellent 5 star review and comments. I am pleased you had a great stay and found the staff friendly and the central location worked well. I am sorry for the issue that was not resolved.

Kind regards
Gary
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in an excellent location in the city center, very close to Sauchiehall Street, Marks & Spencer and the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. Central Glasgow is very walkable, thus everything you need – post office, Tesco, restaurant, bank, Mcdonald’s, souvenir shop – is within easy reach.

Staff are pleasant and courteous. There’s also a freshly heated welcome chocolate cookie for each guest after you check-in.

We got a twin room. The room and beds are sufficient in size for three guests. There are the usual amenities of the standard you’d expect from this chain of hotels, such as international channels, large beds, air-conditioning, and adequate shower water pressure. However, it must be noted that there is no refrigerator in the room.

There was also adequate security – you can only access your assigned floor, and for that you have to swipe your card.

Our room was facing the street, however the staff at reception advised us that this was better compared to a room facing the inner section of the hotel because there were loud sounds coming from machinery there. Good thing that the room had adequate soundproofing, or maybe the noise outside wasn’t that loud to begin with.

I appreciated that there were Scottish options in breakfast. However, it would be best if the staff refill the dishes more often, especially since the buffet gets really crowded if there’s a tour group or a convention going on.
o Scrambled eggs, baked beans
o Mushrooms – these were the absolute best mushrooms I’ve tasted in a breakfast buffet. Very large, meaty and delicious.
o Grilled sun blushed tomatoes, potato scones
o A selection of fruit, like fruit salad, oranges, berry mix, watermelon, cantaloupe, and yogurt
o Gluten free station
o Vegetables like bell peppers and cucumbers. I think they should add more variety, like salad greens
o Cheese slices and brie/camembert
o Cold cuts
o Bacon, Lorne sausage (square sausage), black pudding and haggis
o Scottish oats served with a variety of seeds and dried fruits
o Juices, such as orange and grapefruit
o A self-serve pancake machine. Maple syrup and honey are available.
o Kid’s corner, with an assortment of sweets, chocolate chips, peanut butter and Nutella
o Almond milk
o Coco Pops, Frosties, rice krispies, corn flakes, muesli and Weetabix
o An assortment of breads, such as croissants, Danish pastries, muffins, pain au chocolat, pain aux raisins, bagels and rolls
o Apricot jam, strawberry jam, marmalade, butter and margarine
o Sliced white bread, sliced wholemeal bread
o Fried eggs
o Smoothie
o They also have a grab and go station if ever you are in a rush and if you’re a fan of carbohydrates.

We also tried their whisky and a craft beer called Drygate Ax Man Rye IPA from the Cask bar.

If the price is right and location is paramount, I can recommend this hotel which would fulfill your needs. Just don’t expect a lot of character or soul from this hotel despite the brand – you can sleep well here and have adequate breakfast to start your day, but that’s basically it.

Room tip: twin room or larger
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3lgdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryR2707, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello 3lgdz,

Thank you for your detailed review of the hotel following your recent stay. I am pleased you had a overall great stay with us and thank you for the suggestions for further improvements.

Kind regards
Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews