We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night in Glasgow!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Ranked #33 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“One night in Glasgow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a conference. Good service, excellent conference facilities and large bedrooms. Central part of Glasgow. Reception were helpful as I arrived early before the rooms were ready. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scandic5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the service you received and our excellent conference faciliites and large bedrooms. If bed rooms are available we are delighted to offer an early check in. We are delighted you will stay with us again, and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    775
    386
    140
    81
See reviews for
307
628
80
490
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gourock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

I booked a room for my parents as a birthday present for my mum as they were attending a show in Glasgow and they always stay in the Thistle as they like the central location and have never had any problems in any previous stay. My mum doesn't keep very well and they always like the additional space of the Executive rooms and they enjoy a number of visits to the hotel each year but they were over the moon when they checked in and were upgraded to a suite....!!!! They were delighted to have the additional space and once again, were very happy and complimentary about the customer service. They had a lovely stay and they will certainly be back - thank you to everyone who contributed to making their stay very enjoyable!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Truds71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much indeed for your very positive review following your parents recent visit to the Thistle Glasgow. Our staff are encouraged to receive your thanks and reviews like yours, and we are so pleased your parents enjoyed another visit to our hotel. We hope it wont be too long before they return and please let our Guest Relationship Manager know if there is anything at all we can do or provide to make their stay more comfortable. Kind regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the 2nd time for an overnight to attend an event in the hotel, dinner was lovely although portion sizes quite small, service was fair at the event, although to be honest I believe there were over 300 people attending. Room was excellent, large and cannot fault the cleanliness, beds very comfortable, room was at the front of the hotel which is on a very busy road and we could not hear any street noise. Staff were polite and attentive. The only downside was the price of alcohol at the event £100 for a bottle of vodka and 8 small bottles of mixers, I feel that this is overpricing in the extreme, the same bottle of vodka is £15 in Asda, so lesson learned!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gillian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us again, to attend an event, and we are pleased you enjoyed your meal and the service you received. Quite possibly 300 guests attending as our whole bedroom can seat up to 1,000 guests for dinner. I am delighted you also enjoyed the bedroom allocated to you. Our prices for alcohol are in line with all other 4 star establishments in the city centre, at £3.50 for a measure of spirits and £1.50 per mixer. Thanks again for your review, and we hope to welcome you back for your 3rd visit in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Very clean and comfortable hotel with friendly helpful staff throughout. Lovely dining experience in a relaxed setting. I would highly recommend Glasgow Thistle to anyone looking for a city centre hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Argyll73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for your very nice review, and we thank you for your recommendations. We hope we will also have the opportunity of welcoming you
back to our hotel, in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Myself and my partner always stay at the thistle when ever we are planning on a night out in Glasgow. The location is excellent to all bars clubs and restaurants as well as shopping. The hotel also has its on car park which a lot of over city centre hotels don't.
The rooms are excellent size, tea/coffee in room and bottled water. Staff are also very helpful

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The 7th floor has bigger beds than some of the other floors even though they say they are all double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesstee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted you and your partner enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay at the Thistle Glasgow, and thank you for your very kind comments. We hope to see you back soon. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Central location and reasonable parking with a leisure club attached pool small but convenient. Drink expensive but staff friendly and helpful. Room layout a bit awkward with mirror sited at end of bed if you wanted to get to shower and there was a make up session going on made it a bit of a leap over the bed. Breakfast at £14 very expensive there are much cheaper options within a 5 minute walk

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased you enjoyed our central location, superb parking facilities and the hotel leisure club. We receive lots of great feedback regarding the hotel's breakfast service, and you can book full Scottish breakfast on your arrival at the hotel
for £10.00 per person, which we do believe represents excellent value for money. The hotel's new cafe bar also offers some excellent breakfast deals. Thanks again for your positive review, and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was in a great location. Rooms were large and really clean. Pool facilities were good but could do with an upgrade. For some reason there were piles of sand in the bottom of the pool. We enjoyed our stay and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAZ243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your positive review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the bedroom allocated to you, and our superb city centre location. Unfortunately we experienced a problem with the pool water filter which allowed sand to escape from the main filter into the pool. I can confirm that this problem was quickly sorted. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Thanks again, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#47 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Address: Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#15 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central, an affiliate of Jurys Inn, is located right in the heart of Glasgow and a short walk from the main railway stations. A large, contemporary building in the centre of Glasgow, the hotel is perfectly located for shopping, and enjoying the numerous galleries, museums and other attractions of this former European City of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing