We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but in need of a re-fit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but in need of a re-fit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here on business in September 2012 and found the hotel good value for money. I was upgraded free of charge to an executive double double room which was a nice touch.

The room was a great size, had a nice modern LCD TV and was spotlessly clean. The fixtures and decor however were quite outdated and tired. I also found that the room had a lot of wasted space, there was plenty of room to make a lounge area but it was only filled with one old and tired chair. A re-fit will hopefully address this and fingers crossed this is soon!

All things considered however the hotel was great value, very central and the service was great. The pool was also a great addition and the food quality was good.

Room Tip: Request a room which has been re-fitted where possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teh6981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for posting your review, following your stay last September. I am pleased you enjoyed your upgrade. We do have a selection of room types available, with variable rates. 4 floors of our bedroom stock have received complete refurbishment, and other floors have received a make over. We will also shortly be recommencing with the refurbishment of two floors of bedrooms. The hotel enjoys a first class city centre location, good sized comfortable clean bedrooms, Otium Health and Leisure Club, and a secure well lit car park, and we are pleased you agree that the rates we offer represent value for money. I am also pleased you enjoyed the quality of food served. Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    793
    394
    142
    81
See reviews for
317
649
81
501
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Attended a big corporate function here recently - the dinner was excellent and the service from our table's wine waiter first class. We all had a great time, room comfortable and experienced the same standard of service at the delicious buffet breakfast. Reception staff friendly and efficient so from when we arrived until we checked out, we were v impressed with this city centre hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Super-Jinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much indeed for your superb review.

Comments like yours are very encouraging for us to receive, and will be greatly appreciated by our staff. We do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Thistle Glasgow in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel just scrapes a four star rating. Booked for three nights back in late 2008 as a weekend city break. We got a great price for the hotel through the Ryanair website. The rooms were very modern, well furnished and spacious. Rooms were equipped with flat screen tv, mini bar and extra small luxuries included dressing gown and slippers and regularly replaced spring water. Room service available and prompt. We had use of the pool, jacuzzi and sauna..We didnt eat at this hotel as it wasnt included in the budget deal although the restaurant looked great. there is a nice, although small, hotel bar bar opposite reception. The location is great with great little walking distance to the main shopping area, theatre and cinema. staff were pleasant. A nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, and we are glad you were pleased with the price you paid, and were happy with your room. Pity you didn't take advantage of our special price of £10.00 for fully Scottish Breakfast in Annlann Restaurant, you will see from previous review, we receive a lot of great feedback. Glad to read that you enjoyed our location. Thanks again, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I booked a surprise birthday hotel stay for my boyfriend and what a lovely stay it was! Upon arrival we discovered that our room had been upgraded from a standard double to a suprior king room due to the special occasion, which was extremely kind of thoughtful of the hotel staff! The staff were very polite and helpful and inspite of a computer problem served us speedily and efficiently. Our room was lovely, modern and spacious and the bed was super comfortable. We enjoyed the swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna and it was wonderful to be able to go down for a relaxing swim after a busy week. The pool is on the small side but perfectly adequate for a leisurely swim.

Views from the windows weren't panoramic but that's what you can expect in central Glasgow, or any major city centre in the UK. I thought the experience was worth every penny and it was excelllent value for money. especially considering our room upgrade although I believe we would have had a lovely stay even in a standard room. We will definitely be back and use the Thistle as our base when visiting friends in Glasgow. It's a great location next to Sauchiehall Street and only 5 min walk from Buchanan Galleries. We didn't try out the breakfast as we woke up quite late but every other facility we tried (including the bar) was great.

Thank you very much for making our stay so special, your kindness was much appreciated!

Room Tip: Top floors all seem to have been refurbished, our room 726 was very modern and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
We are so pleased that you were happy with the birthday celebrations and had a lovely stay at the Thistle Glasgow. Your kind comments regarding our polite and helpful staff are much appreciated and we are pleased you enjoyed your upgrade. Please look out for special deals, At the moment we offer full Scottish Breakfast when pre-booked at reception for £10.00 per person and you will see from other reviews, our breakfast service is excellent. We are delighted your stay was special and look forward to welcoming you both back to our hotel soon, and thanks again for your kind comments which our staff will be so happy to read.
Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
502 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

As per title the hotel is Central , comfortable , clean , good staff , gym , pool , large bar .

Gym is to huge but running machines really good .

I have not given it 5 star because the prices are more expensive than average bar/breakfast/food.
we had the evening meal and the food is nice but we felt it was a little over priced.

Would use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptrabant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry you found the food a bit expensive. We do have special offers, currently breakfast at £10.00 per person for full Scottish breakfast, and we do hope you will try this when you visit us again. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here at the end of January, 2013. We were visiting some students at the Royal Conservatoire, which was literally right around the corner from the hotel, so location was very important to us.

We had no complaints. The staff were uniformly helpful, efficient and cheerful; the beds were great; the elevators were the swiftest we've ever experienced; there was no delay in getting us into our room despite our early arrival; there were umbrellas on loan; and the coffee shop right next door was the perfect spot for breakfast and a bit of cheerful conversation with the proprietor.

We'll stay here again, even though we have vowed never to stay at a hotel that does not offer free WiFi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbylein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Yes, our hotel was a good choice for visiting the Royal Conservatoire, and we are very pleased you were happy with your stay and found our staff to be helpful, efficient and cheerful. Thank you very much for your kind comments which shall be relayed to our teams and we look forward to you staying with us again. We are looking into the free wi fi situation, however meanwhile, please consider signing up to our Signature programme for extra benefits for regular visitors to Thistle. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

As a treat every so often myself and my mum visit Glasgow for shopping, dinner & drinks and finish off with an overnight stay. This time I decided to book the Thistle because of its good reviews, facilities and location.

We arrived almost two hours before check-in time and expected that we might have to wait until our room was ready but this didn't bother us as we wanted to have lunch in the hotel bar anyway. However the receptionist told us that our room was ready for us and was very helpful giving us information of where to find everything in the hotel i.e. bar, restaurant, leisure centre etc.

Our room was on the 1st floor and was modern and clean. The room faced out onto a street with a road and we did notice that you could hear the noise from outside as though the window was open but it wasn't, this didn't bother us because we were only dropping off our bags then heading for lunch, a swim then would be out all evening but wondered what would happen at night time when trying to sleep. Beds were extremely comfortable and as we could both sleep through a war we weren't kept awake by any noise, don't know how this would affect light sleepers. Couple of ideas which I think would be beneficial in the rooms would be instructions about how to use the different electrical items i.e. heating & shower, heating I pressed buttons & the room did get warmer but I just couldn't get the shower to go hot. Another tip which I would've loved to have seen would've been a mini fridge, another hotel in Glasgow we stayed at had one which was great to keep drinks & water cold.

The leisure facilities were fantastic. As soon as we walked into the swimming area the male receptionist couldn't have been nicer. It was also great that the changing rooms were heated. I thouroughly enjoyed relaxing in the swimming pool & jacuzzi.

Bar & Restaurant
The soup & sandwich we had for lunch in the bar was delicious. We paid £10 each for breakfast which may seem a bit costly but nowadays you pay almost that in cafes for a hot roll & cuppa. There was so much to choose from in the Thistle from the continental foods which included cereals & porridge, fruit, meats, cakes and freshly cut breads & rolls. There was also a toast section with different spreads including butter, jams, peanut butter & chocolate spread. The hot food included sausages, haggis, bacon, omelettes made to order however you liked, scrambled egg, eggs benedict or florentine, fish including kippers, potato scones, hash browns, baked beans etc. Tea & coffee was continuously topped up if you wished by the breakfast staff and an added touch was the head chef coming round all the tables to speak to us asking how we were & how our breakfast was.

To sum it up, the hotel is great and we had a fantastic stay. Definitely recommend the hotel to others and hope to return for another stay in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuertoRicoLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review following your visit to our hotel with your Mum. Your comments are very encouraging for our staff to receive and much appreciated by us. We do have mini coolers available in various room types, and they are available on request. Our Leisure Club staff and breakfast chef's also thank you for your kind comments. I am delighted you will recommend our hotel to others we we do hope you will return soon for another treat with your family. Kind Regards, Ewing Stewart, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
Hallmark Hotel Glasgow
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Glasgow City Centre - Theatreland
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#43 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Address: Cambridge Street, Glasgow G2 3HN, Scotland (Formerly Thistle Glasgow)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Cowcaddens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Glasgow
#14 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#38 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Glasgow Central, an affiliate of Jurys Inn, is located right in the heart of Glasgow and a short walk from the main railway stations. A large, contemporary building in the centre of Glasgow, the hotel is perfectly located for shopping, and enjoying the numerous galleries, museums and other attractions of this former European City of Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Thistle Hotel
Thistle Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Hotel Thistle
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing