We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AS”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Citizens Theatre

Citizens Theatre
Ranked #51 of 268 things to do in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of great theatre in Glasgow, offering a world-class repertoire of classic and contemporary plays.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“AS”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Another Glasgow jewel and tradition has developed over the last thirty years to become one of the place to came and see new and experimental theatre.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 44AlanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    47
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great play, unsettling setting”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

In Glasgow for work, saw "Medea" was on at the Citizens and decided to go.
The production was excellent, but I was unsettled by the walk from the underground station (Bridge St). I emerged from the station into a dark urban wasteland, punctuated by some bleak high rise tower blocks, groups of hoodies, and little else. Felt slightly intimidated as I walked alone to the theatre.
That said, the pavements were well lit and I experienced no trouble, but would have preferred a more bustling street with more people walking (let's hear it for Perth Theatre!).
Play was exciting and gripping.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DarkMaidofPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A bit out of place”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Would have liked the Theatre to be a bit closer to the City, we went there by tube to watch my daughter in a play. Interesting setting, first time I've been in a studio theatre but it was great. Staff at the bar very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SmileyMiley53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Men Should Weep”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Saw the play Men Should Weep and it was brilliant, first time to the Citz but won't be the last! Good walk from central station to an area of Glasgow I hadn't visited before.

Helpful?
Thank OutofSeasonScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great entertainment”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

wide variety of productions available. Usually you will find something to suit every taste. I plan to go back sometime after christmas.

Helpful?
Thank gardas96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citizens Theatre also viewed

Glasgow, Scotland
Glasgow, Scotland
 

Been to Citizens Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing