We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Ranked #93 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference found the rooms dull dingy and out dated! Breakfast was good but the hotel is like a rabbit warren and the basement area feels like you are in an old persons home who can no longer manage the upkeep of a house

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    72
    82
    47
    86
See reviews for
30
110
36
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Arrived 09-07 met by a very friendly helpful receptionist, allocate my room which was 54 stairs away no lift no suitable for those who cannot climb stairs.

The first room was an attic budget room with only a sky light for air and a electric fan doudle bed clean and tidy and an old 17 inch television that did not work.

Returned to the receptionist and asked the poosibility of changing rooms which was granted and I found myself in a twin room modern clean and tidy and only 41 stairs to climb.

Breakfast was very well presented and plentyful, coffee, tea, water provided in the rooms which were cleaned and tidied daily.

Worth a visit for those who are fit and energetic

Room Tip: fit persons only and ask for a room on the lower 3 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WELSHMAN1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed one night in triple room. Room was clean and nice though a bit old fashion. Before we arrive, we read about the steep slope and the staircase leading to the hotel. As we have few big luggages, we email the hotel requesting for a room on the ground floor. When we arrived, the room was ready for us. Staff are very friendly, nice and helpful. Even the night porter is a nice old man.

Breakfast was good for amount paid. Overall, hotel,is nice and affordable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Never again. This hotel, in public areas, is dirty, damp, neglected and stuck in the 1980's. Some effort has been made in the bedrooms, but the bathrooms have been ignored. Cracked tiles, fans that don't work etc. The whole place smells like my granny's house. Old and fusty! Could be a lovely arts and crafts style boutique hotel, but gets nowhere near. WiFi very poor, breakfast was pure grease and fat... Finally, the walls are paper thin, I heard next door talking (at normal volume) all night and then having intimate relations...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ghengis79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Ayrshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed for one night after a concent. Was clean and staff were friendly enough and was good for the price we paid as all other hotels were very expensive on this date. It is abit dated and our room was right behind reception and could hear alot of noise. Would stay again for the price we paid

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in number 7 as it is right behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClairebearAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I wasn't expecting 5* luxury given previous reviews on this and other sites and the fact that I only paid £29 for my room, but I was pleasantly surprised.

I walked from the station (not too far if you don't have loads of luggage) and was checked in by a lovely, helpful lady. I was given room 12A, which had 2 beds in it and was a decent size considering I'd booked a single room. The room was nicely decorated and furnished too and clean and comfortable.

Other people have complained on this and other sites about the bathrooms here, whilst it wasn't the most modern bathroom I've ever used and one of the tiles was a bit wobbly, it was clean and perfectly adequate.

All in all this was a great little hotel, given the price I paid. It's in a really central location and I felt safe as a lone female in the area. The only slight negative was that I could hear noise outside and from people in the next room, but it didn't have too much of an impact on me getting a good night's sleep!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louiseinnewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I enjoyed my stay and have been back three times, the staff are always helpful and very attentive.
The rooms are clean and tidy,
Breakfast is optional and very good value for money and the waitresses are only to happy to meet guests requests.
Very good value for money

Room Tip: If stairs are an issue to you then let the staff know when you book as there are no lifts, they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanBromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#79 of 95 in Glasgow
552 reviews
Anderston
Alexander Thomson Hotel
Alexander Thomson Hotel
#68 of 95 in Glasgow
1,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Travelodge Glasgow Central
City Centre
Merchant City Inn
Merchant City Inn
#85 of 95 in Glasgow
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Address: 218 - 220 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Glasgow
Hotel Rennie Mackintosh
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing