We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel ideal for a few nights”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Ranked #94 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel ideal for a few nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Really good hotel, could do with a lift alot of stairs! Though barring that couldn't fault it check out at half 10 on a Sunday morning could maybe do with being prolonged to get a lie in though apart from that excellent

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    71
    83
    46
    84
See reviews for
30
110
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grantown on Spey, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a good value, budget hotel in a nice central location. Good value but NOT a nice as the website shows it to be. The 'recently updated' applied only to the public rooms. Nice lobby lounge with very good prices for drinks (choices somewhat limited and all items on price list were simply not available. There are 4 floors - plus the stairs from the street to the lobby - and there is NO lift with circular stairs. Up from the lobby, the hotel is quite shabby, though clean enough. Rooms are tiny with minimal facilities. Breakfast was adequate but very bland - fine with added salt and pepper. Good value for money if you do not have high expectations. And, of course, the convenience of central Glasgow comes with lots of noise on a warm night with the window open. Very little noise from inside. Very positive - friendly staff willing to assist as requested.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmScotGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West lothian
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My partner and myself and our friends booked this hotel for one night for a night out in Glasgow. After reading previous reviews I was a bit apprehensive about going but was pleasantly surprised on arrival. The location is absolutely brilliant, five minute walk to Sauchiehall Street. Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms had obviously been recently renovated with modern furniture. Very comfy beds. Breakfast which was included in the price was average but had been made fresh. The only complaint I have is that the bathroomin the room was badly needing a upgrade. Although clean they were obviously the original suite and tiles. Overall would definitely stay here again and would recommend. The price of a room is an added bonus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stopped here for one night, 29th July 2012. I was on my own, so a single room, clean with all the conveniences one would expect is all I wanted. This is exactly what I got. It would've been a third of the price of the Grand Central Station Hotel. Very convenient location for shops and railway station.
My biggest disappointment, was no stairs and a reception on the first floor.
My single room very clean, including the bathroom. All the facilities worked, inc. the flat screen TV. The bed was clean and comfortable. If you are going to swing a cat in this room make sure it's a kitten! It was rather small. But really no complaints.
The young lady in reception was very pleasant and efficient.
I made an early start, so I did'nt try the breakfast.
I would not hesitate to use this hotel again. It does what it says on the tin.

Room Tip: Book early to get a room on the first floor, or you'll be climbing lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very pleasant hotel in a great location. Compact room and small 'double' bed, but you are informed of this when you book and it is reflected in the price. Staff friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is good and warm with pleasant service.

Room Tip: Very quiet hotel, but no lift. Ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed one night and booked the roomon the day. i was given the use of a large twin room which was excellent value for the £28 I paid. The room looked to have recently been modernised with up to date furnishings. Service at reception was helpful and smooth. I paid £3 for breakfast and although it was a full breakfast it wasn't to my taste. The hotel is only a short 10 minute walk from the shops and bars of Glasgow.

Room Tip: Ask for the one at the rear of reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SifnosNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I came across these reviews about this hotel after staying in it last year.
My experience was not at all relaxing. The room was smelly, very dark. We complained but the new room was little better. The state of the building was poor with wiring seeming to be an issue.Breakfast was served by men in jeans and t shirt whose cleanliness was debateable.
Glasgow is a fantastic city don't ruin your break by booking in here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prolificmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#77 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
3.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abode Glasgow
#44 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
City Centre
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#81 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Address: 218 - 220 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Glasgow
Hotel Rennie Mackintosh
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing