We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Ranked #94 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Fife
1 review
“lovely hotel, excellent location”
Reviewed January 14, 2008

After booking this hotel, i read previous reviews on here and admittedly was scared! But when myself and my friend arrived at the hotel is looked lovely, receptionist was very friendly answered any questions we had, when we got to our room we were given a triple even though we only paid for a double (bargain!)it was clean and tidy (although a bit dated!) with everything you would need! It is seconds from main shopping and night life but we heard no noise at all. For the price you pay for the renfrew street Rennie Mackintosh hotel it is worth it for convenience, location etc....it does have alot of stairs and depending which side street you take from sauchiehall street there are steep hills but if u want to visit glasgow on a budget this is perfect!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Loads of stairs
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kez25Fife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    71
    83
    46
    84
See reviews for
30
110
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

I'm not sure what the average price of Glasgow hotels is, but our room wasn't worth the £65 we paid for it. Bed held together with bits of chipboard hammered together, carpet under the bed cut out to repair the numerous threadbare patches, cupboard wall collapsing leaving dust and rubble over everything, pile of dirt behind the bathroom door, etc. The bed and sheets seemed clean enough though. Of interest in the hotel is the lovely Mackintosh decor, particularly in the dining room, which, provided a basic, but acceptable cooked breakfast. Staff pleasant and helpful.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — The grubbiness
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralpharama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glasgow hotels

Ayr
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Only stayed in this hotel for one night. That was enough thank god. I booked before i read reviews on trip advisor then tried to cancel but would have lost full amount. It was the worst hotel I have ever been in. Bathroom taps were slack , broken towel rails broken facings around doors Party hats from previous guests were left, the whole room was dirty, I think if they washed net curtains on windows they would have disintigrated.
On the positive side I found the staff very pleasant and the breakfast was actually quite good. Its in a good central location.

  • Liked — Central Location
  • Disliked — Dirty Room
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Stayed here again (Rennie Macintosh Guest House on Renfrew Street) last week for 5 nights Had my wife and 3 kids with me and were in the family room. Worked fine - room clean, beds made everyday and very helpful staff on reception. Even allowed to make use of the kitchen for warming bottles etc. For £42/night, you really couldn't find a better deal anywhere in Glasgow!!! Not a lavish place but perfectly comfortable!

  • Liked — Staff are very helpful
  • Disliked — The decor is a bit dated.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Delts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2007

The Rennie Mackintosh hotel on Renfrew Street is excellent value for money and I would definitely stay there again.

It is in a very handy location, being only 5 minutes walk from the city centre shops, bars and restaurants. Despite the central location we experienced no problems with night time noise.

The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The room was a good size and very clean. The room decor was a little tired but for £50 a night in a central location you really can't grumble!

Breakfast was excellent.

  • Liked — The friendliness and great location
  • Disliked — The rooms are a bit shabby
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I stayed at the Rennie MacIntosh Park Hotel, Renfrew St and not the Rennie MacIntosh Hotel in Union Street.

I read the reviews on this site just before going and nearly cancelled. Fortunately I did not as I found the Hotel to be perfectly clean, comfortable, quiet, good breakfast with excellent service. It is not modern but good value for money.

I can only think that the more adverse reviews had been incorrectly posted as there are no buses, taxis or noisy traffic outside the Hotel and it is not near either Central station nor the Alexander Thomson Hotel . If so this is unfortunate as the Rennie MacIntosh Park Hotel nearly lost me as a customer

  • Liked — Good nights sleep
  • Disliked — Steps outside
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gricerking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2007

Worst hotel EVER. The staff was so rude... and the rooms are so dirty! The bathroom is horrible... i can't believe! They should close this hellhole!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank eduardoEverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Rennie Mackintosh Station Hotel
City Centre
Victorian House
Victorian House
#77 of 96 in Glasgow
535 reviews
Smiths Hotel
#92 of 96 in Glasgow
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Newton Hotel
Newton Hotel
#81 of 96 in Glasgow
288 reviews
City Centre
BEST WESTERN Glasgow City Hotel
Abode Glasgow
#44 of 96 in Glasgow
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel

Property: Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel
Address: 218 - 220 Renfrew Street, Glasgow G3 6TX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rennie Mackintosh Glasgow
Hotel Rennie Mackintosh
Rennie Mackintosh Art School Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing