We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.”
Review of The Town House

The Town House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Town House
Ranked #27 of 36 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Paris, France Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointed.”
Reviewed May 29, 2007

We had stayed here before so thought we knew what to expect but we were disappointed. There was no vegetarian breakfast option, the cooked breakfast that remained as an option was invariably greasy, the mushrooms appeared to be tinned rather than fresh and, all in all, it was not particularly good.

The room was a resaonable size but badly needed redecorating. The feeling about the whole place was that no-one cared any longer. Perhaps the previous owners were perfectionists, hence our disappointment, but it was not the treat we had expected.

  • Liked — Quite like the West End and the free parking!
  • Disliked — The food and the shabby decor.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hughenden, Manager at The Town House, responded to this review, July 8, 2007
I would like to comment on the review below from someone in Barcelona.

I would like to know if it was The Town House in Hughenden Terrace or Royal
Crescent they stayed at?

As I am the manager at Hughenden Crescent and would be extremely shocked if he
was refering to our hotel. We have had the same owner for the last 10 years and
we take great care to ensure our guests leave here with a feeling fof having a
great stay here.

Our breakfasts are always fresh and nothing comes out of a tin, we use all local
produce and if a guest informs us on booking that they require special dietry
requirements we would attend to that also.

If indeed it was the Town House at Hughenden Terrace I would have expected the
guest to inform myself of the problems at the time and they would have been
remedied immediately.

Regards


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
2
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

We just returned from a stay at The Town House. We were there for five nights in total, two upon our arrival from the states, and three after some travel in the Highlands and Scandanavia.

The location is excellent, within walking distance of the University and the West End. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. We had beautiful views of the garden each time. The staff is friendly, helpful and go that extra mile. And, breakfast will brighten your day and fill your tummy! We highly recommend The Town House.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2006

We stayed here in September 2006, and enjoyed our stay. The guest house is located in the West End - near the University. It seemed to be a very quiet residential area, but is a short walk from the main drag. The building itself has nice character (lots of wood molding, printed wallpaper, super-high ceilings) and the rooms were comfortable. Breakfast was decent. Staff was friendly and helpful, even allowing us to use their computer and living room after checkout time when our rental car fell through. We'd be happy to return here!

  • Liked — Character of the building/quiet area
  • Tips/Secrets — Make dinner reservations - most places fill up
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tati13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Lovely old house with great personality. Spotless, good service, warm and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2005

When my partner and I checked in, the young man employee was a bit strange, then a bit rude and kept questioning us to make sure we wanted a queen bed. I had made it very obvious when making the reservation that we were a gay male couple. While it is not usually a problem in the UK, we have travelled together enough to know it can be, especially in B&B's. After initially feeling very unwelcome, the owners or employees the next morning were friendly and welcoming.

This is a nicely furnished B&B, the common areas are bright and clean, the bedrooms are large and bathrooms standardly small and a little odd. There is nothing exceptional nor disastrous about the accommodations. It is a solidly built and well maintained home with decent furnishings. The price is good. The parking is great as is the area of town. Also, it was ideally situated for leaving Glasgow the next morning to the north.

Would we stay there again? Maybe. We didn't dislike anything in particular except the initial bad taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MarkIndpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 27, 2005

We just returned from a short stay in Glasgow with our 18 month old daughter and absolutely adored the Town House. The room was a perfect size for the three of us, the bathroom was huge, the decor was inviting and warm, the staff were helpful and the location was fantastic. It was everything I had hoped for and more. We would not hesitate to stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 8, 2005

Beautiful hotel; welcoming fireplace; fresh, clean and sympathetically decorated rooms. Plenty parking. Great privacy from staff: we never saw anyone unless we asked for something, giving a real sense of being at home. Highly recommended. The only slight nuisance is it is good 10 minute walk away from the underground/west end, but this is more than compensated for by a single malt close to the fire in the lounge when you return.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
The Belhaven Hotel
#53 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#73 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#71 of 96 in Glasgow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#68 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Property: The Town House
Address: 4 Hughenden Terrace, Glasgow G12 9XR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Glasgow
The Town House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing