We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gay Male couple give it a "B"”
Review of The Town House

The Town House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glasgow
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Town House
Ranked #26 of 35 Glasgow B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2005

When my partner and I checked in, the young man employee was a bit strange, then a bit rude and kept questioning us to make sure we wanted a queen bed. I had made it very obvious when making the reservation that we were a gay male couple. While it is not usually a problem in the UK, we have travelled together enough to know it can be, especially in B&B's. After initially feeling very unwelcome, the owners or employees the next morning were friendly and welcoming.

This is a nicely furnished B&B, the common areas are bright and clean, the bedrooms are large and bathrooms standardly small and a little odd. There is nothing exceptional nor disastrous about the accommodations. It is a solidly built and well maintained home with decent furnishings. The price is good. The parking is great as is the area of town. Also, it was ideally situated for leaving Glasgow the next morning to the north.

Would we stay there again? Maybe. We didn't dislike anything in particular except the initial bad taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MarkIndpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
29
Reviewed July 27, 2005

We just returned from a short stay in Glasgow with our 18 month old daughter and absolutely adored the Town House. The room was a perfect size for the three of us, the bathroom was huge, the decor was inviting and warm, the staff were helpful and the location was fantastic. It was everything I had hoped for and more. We would not hesitate to stay there again!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
15
Reviewed April 8, 2005

Beautiful hotel; welcoming fireplace; fresh, clean and sympathetically decorated rooms. Plenty parking. Great privacy from staff: we never saw anyone unless we asked for something, giving a real sense of being at home. Highly recommended. The only slight nuisance is it is good 10 minute walk away from the underground/west end, but this is more than compensated for by a single malt close to the fire in the lounge when you return.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
18
Reviewed March 2, 2005

I stay in the Town House regularly and am always very pleased with the hotel. Service is dicreet but attentive, the rooms are tastefully decorated, spacious and always clean and tidy. Breakfast is always a fantastic start to the day, and there are many local restaurants for a great evening meal. Parking could not be easier, I can thoroughly recommend this hotel!!!

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Paris, France
18
Reviewed February 10, 2005

Ignore the review from Sydney...a piece of nonsense! This is a charming, welcoming little hotel located in the much sought after, leafy West End. Within walking distance of many tourist attractions including Glasgow University which houses the Hunterian Art Gallery. The West End is an extremely popular area of Glasgow with superb public transport links.(not sure about the freeway comment!) In better weather, the city centre is a mere 25 minute walk (at a normal pace!)
I am a regular visitor and assure you that this hotel is well maintained (no problem with the carpets???) , the staff are friendly and helpful and the rates are more than reasonable. Some of the rooms have been upgraded to a high standard and I believe that this is to continue throughtout 2005. Dont let the silly ozzies put you off...their comments are not justified...take a virtual tour on the web and deside for yourself.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
311
Reviewed July 8, 2004

We found that this hotel was below the standard we would expect even of a budget hotel. The carpet looked as if it had not been cleaned for weeks. The breakfast was inadequate. Staff were not generally helpful and didn't know much about the city. Also it is not a very convenient location being the other side of the freeway from the city centre.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Glasgow
12
Reviewed May 14, 2003

Lovely hotel, staff were very friendly and accommodating...very nice breakfast. My family were staying here briefly from the states, and loved the hotel. My only wish is that there was a direct dial system for the rooms. When you have US guests suffering from jet lag and in need of company at 5 am..you certainly don't want to phone the front desk and wake the staff when your cab arrives. Which I did, many times unfortunately.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre (Charing Cross) Hotel
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
4,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Premier Inn Glasgow City Centre Buchanan Galleries Hotel
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,749 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House

Address: 4 Hughenden Terrace, Glasgow G12 9XR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Glasgow
Price Range: $70 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Town House Hotel Glasgow
The Town House Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing