We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Hotel - Impressive Management”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed for two nights at the Malmaison Glasgow which is located in an old church which is quite quirky, we were offered an upgrade to a suite for a small cost per night and as this was the last two nights of our Scottish holiday we thought it was a nice treat, the room was a nice size a little dark as the lounge area doesnt have a window, but very comfortable, but unfortunately when we tried to sleep we realised that the noise from the road traffic was too noisy especially for me as I am a light sleeper, we contacted the night duty manager who closed the windows but due to the noise he kindly offered to move us to another room just to sleep for the night, next day we spoke to the on duty Manager who I will say was very impressive, she arranged for us to be moved to another room which faced internally and was a lot quieter, but unfortunately when we were due to go to bed there was a loud generator type noise, again we contacted the on-duty Night Manager same gentlemen who was genuinely surprised as he didnt know what the root cause of the noise was, once again he immediately offered us use of another room to sleep in, next day the duty Manager came to see to experience the noise and was extremely apologetic offering us not only a discount on our room rate, but also a late check-out and sunday lunch, we certainly considered that the compensation was very fair and must say the Sunday lunch at the Malmaison was superb wonderful buffet followed by roast dinner & dessert, it's a must if you are there on a Sunday. This experience could have gone horribly wrong and left us with a very negative view of the Malmaison group, but due to the Customer focus & Can do attitude of the management makes this group go up in my estimation, would suggest that they invest in secondary glazing as appreciate any major city can be noisy and out of the hotel's control, living in central London we know too well the challenges of street & road noise. Also just to add good location on the city edge so close enough to walk to the main sites.

Room Tip: Request an internally facing room, unless you are a deep sleeper and road traffic doesnt affect you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Kim S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I appreciate your comments.

I am very happy that our management team impressed you and turned what could have been a negative review around to a much more positive one.

I am also very happy that you agree with us that our Sunday Lunch is Superb and something we are extremely proud of.

We hop to see you back here in the future.

Best Wishes,

Graham Chalmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked this on Friday with Lastminute.com for an impromptu Saturday night stay.

On check in, staff were friendly and I was processed fairly quickly.

On arrival in my room on the 5th floor, the room was certainly clean and of an acceptable standard. However though we didn't realise until after our night out how unbearable our sleep would be without air conditioning !! To compare the heat to the surface of the room and you wouldn't be far removed. A room with air con is clearly a must, as this completely detracted from our stay. We left this morning feeling tired and weary, and irrespective of the good deal we received for our stay, this has completely put me off returning.

When asked at check out if I had a good stay, I mentioned the lack of aircon. The receptionist asked if I wanted to speak to a manager, but unless she was going to fit aircon to all the rooms then what's the point.

As has been suggested by others, this needs to be addressed as it clearly wasn't just our issue.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamielaw1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Jamielaw1980,

Thank you for submitting feedback following your recent stay.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that the staff were friendly and the hotel was clean. I have taken note of all of your comments and hopefully the heat of the rooms in the really hot weather is something will can repair in future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Graham Chalmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in room 150, next to the lift. Other reviwers have said its noisy but we didnt notice & had a pleasant stay. Room v clean & beautifully decorated, staff lovely & helpful and the hotel overall very quirky & looks fantastic.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimzala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Zimzala1,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased you had a great stay and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Graham Chalmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This was booked for us as a wedding gift for our wedding night. We dropped our bags off the day before our stay and the reception staff were lovely. They were great when we arrived late at night after our reception. We stayed in a deluxe room which was beautiful- it was decorated with rose petals and a wedding card from the hotel which we though were nice touches. The breakfast the next morning was delicious. A great stay for us!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MrsReyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear MrsReyn,

Thank you for submitting your recent feedback following your stay with us on your Wedding night.

I am pleased that you had such a lovely stay and we do hope to welcome you and your new husband back to the hotel in the near future.

Good Luck and Congratulations

Graham Chalmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Impressive front of the hotel sort of raises the bar which it then can't follow through on when inside. Rooms are on the small side (try to ask for a room not directly next to the lift) and are starting to get dated.

On the positive side; WiFi is free and of decent speed and the breakfast is very good value for money. Location wise it's very nicely situated when needing to head West out of the city (very close to the Motorway) but when walking into the city centre either merchant city or the west-end it's 20 minutes either way. Stayed here for several 1 night stays due to corporate bookings, when travelling to the area again I would consider going back if there's a good deal but it's not on top of the list by any means.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller-935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Traveller-935,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Malmaison Glasgow. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to expectation.

If you would like to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Graham Chalmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was my 3rd time at this hotel and as usual the service was excellent. We were given a duplex on the 5th floor which was very nice. However, we could not stay in the room as it was too hot without aircon. The receptionist and duty manager quickly moved us to the big yin suite for the night as a favour. They then moved us to a room with aircon for the following night albeit not a big room - actually too small for 2 people without luggage and had only overnight bags. Breakfast was good although had to pay a meagre £2 supplement for a cooked breakfast .....really? Why not just add £2 to the rates as made the hotel seem stingy. Hotel is now appearing a bit dated and in need of a refurbishment and please add aircon. I know it is Glasgow but we do get warm weather here in summer too....sometimes!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with aircon as the seagulls can be loud if you need to open the windows to breath lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patchpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Patchpup,

Thank you for submitting feedback following your recent stay.

I am glad you enjoyed the excllent service we provide and we are very proud of the team we have here at Malmaison Glasgow.

The £2 breakfast supplement is actually a Malmaison standard and we most definately take your comments relating to this and the heat on board.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Graham Chalmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We returned to stay at The Mal Glasgow after getting engaged there last summer and wanting to relive an amazing stay we had then.
Again we felt thoroughly looked after by friendly, helpful and genuinely lovely staff. The hotel and rooms are very stylish and comfortable with everything you may want.
We felt just as special and happy here as we did last year and would highly recommend this hotel to future visitors. The catering is also gorgeous, including the cocktails :-)
We hope to return again in the future.
Thank you to all at the Mal Glasgow for making our stay so lovely.
Mr & Mrs Edwards

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thecrate78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlasgowMal, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Mr and Mrs Edwards,

Thank you for submitting feedback following your recent Honeymoon stay with us.

We are happy helped make the occasion special for you and we agree that our cocktails are delicous!

I am really pleased that you had such a great time and that the staff looked after you so well, something we strive to achieve for all of our guests at Malmaison Glasgow.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Graham Chalmers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,356 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,040 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,751 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $103 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing