We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Only draw back is the walk to the public car park - discount for hotel residents. Service was top class and friendly. Walking distance to the city centre. We had breakfast in the restaurant and the food was well prepared, good choice of hot and cold breakfast items+ a continental selection in addition. Good value for the price

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

919 - 925 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were giving an overnight stay in this hotel as a wedding present. Our room was quite small but stylish.
The deal was dinner, bed, breakfast and cocktails. Dinner was lovely. The restaurant was very busy and service a little slow but as we were in no rush it didn't matter.
Cocktails were delicious!!! Worth a visit to the bar for these alone.
Breakfast could do with a bit more choice.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is lovely but you can see it is a wee bit older and needing a bit of a fresh up. But on the whole it is a lovely hotel which we would definitely return to.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank clarkie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good location but parking is a bit of a pain
My room was very small indeed even for a two night stay no room to accommodate clothing / luggage.
Staff were excellent, helpful and attentive, excellent breakfast

Room Tip: When booking check room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DOULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This is the first time we stayed at hotel as a treat for partner, the room was nice on surface with all mod cons as you would expect from 4 star hotel. However when you looked further you can tell that it needs better maintenance as was black chip and crack in bath and wall had bit of plaster out of it in the bathroom and room looked as if needed a paint job. The noise was a bit loud as right next to main road on ground floor, soundproofing would have helped. Some noisy other guests didn't help us sleep well...The restaurant was really nice and staff were very attentive and food was of very high standard however.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I took my boyfriend here for his birthday after getting a spa treatment. Upon arrival there was an error with their room keys so our bags were taken off us and we were told that we could get a complementary drink in the bar and our bags would be taken to our room. superb service although you do pay for it in the room rates. The bedroom was lovely decor and a nice spacious bathroom.
I had also booked a reservation in the hotel for dinner which was also fantastic. The menu was quite limited but still adequate for what we wanted. I don't think I would return to the restaurant but for a special occasion the hotel was perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at Malmaison, the first time we received a free upgrade to a suite which was lovely however this time we stayed in a standard double which was equally as nice. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. We had dinner and breakfast as part of our deal and the food and service in the brasserie was excellent. My husband and I really like this hotel and will definitely be back.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Me and my partner stayed in this hotel for one night, the entrance was lovely and the reception staff were friendly. We were told check-in would be 2 p.m., however on arrival we were told 3 p.m., which was a bit of a pain, but we were not going to let that bother us. The room was located on the bottom floor, it was large, really nicely decorated, the one problem there were two large ceiling to floor windows, which looked out onto the spiral staircase which was the way down to the restaurant area (inside) the view from the hotel isn't the best, however was in two minds whether this idea was quirky or strange? by the by, the stay was really nice, breakfast the next morning was nice too. Will stay again. X

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,370 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,389 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,766 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $100 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing