We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Short Stay”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Overnighted at the Malmaison in Glasgow as part of a business trip. Thoroughly impressed with the standard of the hotel, considering that while writing this I am now in the last hotel of my business trip in London. A Hilton Double Tree which is half as nice and twice the price!

Very nice bar area and a good dinner menu and thoroughly enjoyed the dinner itself. Staff friendly and helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank pblakester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,003 - 1,009 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room on top secret hotels, arrived for check in and went to our room. Room was dark and the mattress was brick hard. We changed upto a superior room (235) which was alot bigger and had 2 Parisian balconies in the room. Mattress was still brick hard and uncomfy to sleep or even sit on. Would of had a better sleep on the floor.

In the room next to us was a boyband, and there management etc were in rooms down the corridor. The hotel was surrounded by little screaming girls until after 11pm then they arrived at 7am and woke us up with there screaming. Every time we went down to the lobby we were met with screeches and screams, but of a pain.

Told hotel staff about the mattress being brick like and giving me back pain and they didnt seem interested.

Don't think we will be back

Rooms were clean
Never had breakfast
Staff were less than average

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnk2473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Return trip to the Malmaison chain after 7 years - quality remains high with some nice little touches. Breakfast very relaxing with a nice variety in the cooked section.
I paid £96 with breakfast a night and others didn't stay as they were expected to pay considerably more (should have booked earlier). When I compare the full price tariff against others hotels in the UK, the others have caught up and offer wider selections around TV, gym etc whilst matching the little touches.
Would I stay again - yes but dependant on the price compared with other hotels

Room Tip: Higher up avoids road noise if you have the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wooleynuts969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed in the duplex suite and was impressed with the quality. The bed was comfortable, there was plenty of space in the room and everything was clean and tidy. The service from the staff was also first class. Will be revisiting!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed one night at the Malmaison in Glasgow. It is an excellent option in town if you can secure a good deal (we payed £69 without breakfast). It is close to the centre and the breakfast was good. The room was also nice. The staff is very friendly and efficient.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Booked two rooms, a standard and a superior. Both rooms were booked at a discounted rate and were well worth the money. The rooms were both very well appointed and comfortable. The superior room had one of the largest beds i have seen! The beds were very comfortable, with both room occupants having great nights sleep. The hotel was quiet with minimal guest or road noise. We will certainly be looking at booking malmaison rooms in the future. Perfect location near to sauciehall street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarboroughtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

stayed here for one night room only - got the room for a great price so was delighted.

was on the 3rd floor - a dog and its owner joined us in the lift and when they left, it did leave a reallly strong smell. for me personally, this puts me off as i am not a dog owner.

the room was big enough but really warm. one window latch was loose so couldnt open the door and we had to shut the others at night as there seemed to be boy racers driving round the block several times which kept us awake.

there were a few cobwebs on the ceiling which were noticeable, unfortunately. The bathroom was adequate and toiletries were a great bonus.

overall, it is a good hotel in quite a good location, although some things could be improved. excellent value for money on our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotsmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#15 of 93 in Glasgow
2,367 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
889 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#39 of 93 in Glasgow
4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,385 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,765 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $100 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing