We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,688)
Filter reviews
1,688 results
Traveler rating
660
528
296
149
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
660
528
296
149
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honours restaurant big yin duplex suite chateaubriand mini bar q park city centre lovely hotel standard room reception staff club room restaurant staff cooked breakfast lovely room street noise an overnight stay comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,237 - 1,242 of 1,688 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for one night , 13th March 2013 ( and my third stay in two years). The hotel is reasonably central to Glasgow city centre with CBD and main shopping areas within 10 minutes walk. My room was a standard double (approx 100 GBP room only). Malmaison is a hotel chain that likes to be different and quirky and from a business travellers perspective this works as it means you're not staying in just another formulaic soulless business hotel. My room (115) was very comfortable and quiet, located on the first floor. En- suite well stocked with usual consumables and well fitted. Bed very comfortable. I had breakfast ( extra 12 GBP) which was nicely done, with speedy service.

Whilst it doesn't distract from the comfort of the stay its clear ( from the chipped paintwork in common parts and room ) that a refresh is required but I'd happily stay here again notwithstanding the usual wear and tear that is evident.

NOTE : I've rated (accidentally!) the spa and pool as 'average' this is should be ignored as in error I clicked the rating matrix but can't seem to edit these results - Please ignore this rating for the pool and spa as the hotel doesn't have either as far as I can tell.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart0nFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

First time back in Glasgow for a few years and also the first time in a Malmaison hotel north of the border. Just 15 minutes from the airport by cab; it's an imposing building on a hill near Blythswood Square. 5 to 10 minutes walk downhill into central Glasgow.

I was an early check in and my room was ready up on the 4th floor. Decent size, spotlessly clean. Very powerful shower and endless hot water. Comfy bed with enough soft cushions for a Python-esque Spanish Inquisition scene.

Really friendly staff in all the public areas, a super spacious bar and restaurant in the basement with a spiral staircase which would be great for making a dramatic entrance down.

If you have stayed in any of the other Mal hotels, you will know what to expect. Tasteful, understated and discreet with a suggestion of affordable luxury. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

Room tip: 451 worked for me. Up high and quiet.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dodger23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I booked this deal for my girlfriends birthday. I would look up directions prior to travelling if you don't have a Sat nav as on a one way system. Be aware that there is a multi storey car park 5mins walk away at the bottom of a hill but you can park outside briefly to drop off bags. The staff were friendly&helpful and let us leave bags as we arrived early.

We went for lunch at The Tea Rooms (above Butterfly&Pig) on Bath St-5min walk away-very nice&quaint. This was a short walk away from the main shops on suchiehall st. We then walked from here to the school of art (10mins)for a tour. well worth the tour as hard to appreciate fully from its exterior.

On checking in to our superior room which was clean&spacious there were delicious chocolate dipped strawberries&a lovely bottle of pinot noir to enjoy!

The bathroom again was clean&spacious only gripe was the dressing gowns could have been softer&fluffier.

king Bed was cosy&comfy.

Although the TV had a dvd player the TV was on the brink&needed replaced.

Dinner was ok although service could have been friendlier.restaurant was busy so tables were a little too close together to be romantic. The food was not as good as expected and would have been disappointed if we had paid full price.we got what we paid for so hard to complain. just little basics that could have been avoided slightly undercover meat&veg. was probably as was busy but standards should still be met. Watch out for 10% service charge.

After dinner short walk (10mins) to Glasgow night life bars, pubs, clubs etc.

Breakfast again was busy and staff struggled to cope, good selection but we were lucky as things started to run out after we had helped ourselves/ordered. Cooked
items just cooked/slightly under.

When we checked out staff helpful in keeping our bags till later that day as we walked out to Kelvingrove park, gallery/museum (20 mins). well worth a visit and you need most of day to get round it all.

On collecting bags/car hotel gives a 25% discount for car park.

We had a nice stay & lovely weekend and good value for what we paid on the deal but would have been disappointed if we had paid full price!

Worth keeping an eye on 5pm/itison/groupon sites for future deals!

Date of stay: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank najock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed there on 22nd feb 2013 on a deal , the room was nice modern clean , the dinner at night was very disappointing we started with soup which was okay ordered fish as main course sea bass which came perched on top of a piece of chicory and that was it. So help fill us up ordered the clootie dumpling well it came hard as a brick assume in micro for 25 mins as unedible complained and got free drinks but it was still a damper on the experience, breakfast next day was okay with no problems just your usual good quality hotel breakfast

Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 851DavidW851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We needed a dog friendly hotel for a night in Glasgow this week. After a bit of research found the Malmaison has a very dog friendly policy. For £10, your fur baby arrives to find his/her own little doggy bed and bowls for use for water and feeding (though our dog always brings his own). The staff were very attentive and the room was very nice for the price (Superior Double, £99 booked online). We had dinner in the hotel's restaurant where the service provided by the maitre 'd was beyond excellent and the food and was delicious - incredible wine list too! We will definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CariSwanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews