We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,664)
Filter reviews
1,664 results
Traveler rating
649
522
290
148
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
649
522
290
148
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonours restaurantbig yingreek orthodox churchduplex suitechateaubriandmini barq parkcity centrelovely hotelstandard roomreception staffclub roomrestaurant staffcooked breakfastlovely roomstreet noisean overnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 1,664 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Sadly, I have no alternative than to say how utterly, utterly disappointed we were. My husband & I were so looking forward to a luxury break in what is a fab city! Highly recommend visiting Glasgow but DO NOT STAY in this location. The hotel in itself is lovely, the staff are lovely, but the fact you are on "a one way system" means it is used by young "prats" who use it as a race track & it is awful! They spend all night, most night going around & around, revving engines, tooting their horns, basically using it as a drag strip, just awful. We reported it to the reception, they reported it to the Police but it continued all night.......just exhausting :(( If you can sleep like the dead, fine, if you want a luxury city break & a good night sleep - look elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lovingfreetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend on a last minute break away. I have stayed in a few different Malmaison hotels and this one compared to the others is not brilliant. Room was ok but not fantastic as you would usually expect from Malmaison but the beds were very comfortable. Based on the room I stayed in my feelings were it needed a refurbishment with a few things modernising. We had drinks and dinner in the hotel on the first night. The service was beyond terrible behind the bar. 3 staff and only a handful of people to serve and we sat for ages at the bar waiting. Once we sat down for dinner we waited a long time for our wine. However the waitress we had was good and the food good. We went out on the second night for dinner so did not spend too much time in the hotel. My overall opinion is the building that the hotel is in was great but inside the hotel from what I saw it needs a refurbishment with abit of money spent on it. The rooms need to be improved and so does the bar area. The bar area has an old feel to it and needs to be modernised in line with the other Malmaison hotels. The hotel is a good 10 minutes walk to the centre and train stations which did not bother us. Worth staying if you can get a very good deal but if at the rack rate I would personally choose a different hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L11per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a last minute treat. The room was basic, although on the small side and heading towards being a little on shabby side.

We ate dinner in the restaurant, service was not great but food was good.

We are a late breakfast which provided lots of choice.

We will return

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Amandaha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

They say you get what you pay for and as we did get a discounted deal, we shouldn't complain right? However, you do expect to still get a certain standard at a hotel like this and sadly, that was not the case.

It started with our room being a double instead of a twin, which we were told could not be changed because the hotel was full. Rooms were small but clean and tidy but on the bottom floor, they turned out to be very noisy, both from outside and inside the hotel.

Staff were very friendly, just not enough of them! This meant service was very slow and tables both in the bar and the restaurant all dirty and uncleared. Not a good start so early in the evening and it turned out to be the same at breakfast. We waited so long, we ended up rushing for our train! One girl seemed to have to do everything but she still maintained a smile on her face.

Food was ok, the set menu on our deal was average but you did get the option to have from the a la carte and have money towards it. Watch our for the discretionary service charge, which we did not pay as we never saw any staff again after our main meal!

Location was ok, not as close to the station as we thought and definitely a taxi journey would have been preferable with our cases, but taxis are cheap and readily available.

Altogether, it was a bit disappointing and would not rush to go back.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Former Greek orthodox church, a couple of blocks away from Saughiehall Street and Rennie McIntoshes School of Art and a short walk from the centre of town.

Very friendly and helpful receptionist. No car parking and concession available for nearby multi-storey car park. Note that this is at the bottom of a steep hill.

Rooms are large and comfortable. Minor niggles - The predominantly dark decor is beginning to show its age and the TV system is a little less than state of the art. Very comfortable beds and spacious and luxurious bathrooms.

Breakfast is not included and a bit steep at £14.50 per head cooked although the selection of fruits and pastries was very good and the kippers were well done. Breakfast service could have been better organised. It took a while for orders to be taken and for plates to be taken away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icemandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews