We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,667)
Filter reviews
1,667 results
Traveler rating
651
522
290
149
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
651
522
290
149
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonours restaurantbig yingreek orthodox churchduplex suitechateaubriandmini barq parkcity centrelovely hotelstandard roomreception staffsaturday nightclub roomcooked breakfastrestaurant stafflovely roomstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,228 - 1,233 of 1,667 reviews
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We booked a last minute treat. The room was basic, although on the small side and heading towards being a little on shabby side.

We ate dinner in the restaurant, service was not great but food was good.

We are a late breakfast which provided lots of choice.

We will return

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank Amandaha21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

They say you get what you pay for and as we did get a discounted deal, we shouldn't complain right? However, you do expect to still get a certain standard at a hotel like this and sadly, that was not the case.

It started with our room being a double instead of a twin, which we were told could not be changed because the hotel was full. Rooms were small but clean and tidy but on the bottom floor, they turned out to be very noisy, both from outside and inside the hotel.

Staff were very friendly, just not enough of them! This meant service was very slow and tables both in the bar and the restaurant all dirty and uncleared. Not a good start so early in the evening and it turned out to be the same at breakfast. We waited so long, we ended up rushing for our train! One girl seemed to have to do everything but she still maintained a smile on her face.

Food was ok, the set menu on our deal was average but you did get the option to have from the a la carte and have money towards it. Watch our for the discretionary service charge, which we did not pay as we never saw any staff again after our main meal!

Location was ok, not as close to the station as we thought and definitely a taxi journey would have been preferable with our cases, but taxis are cheap and readily available.

Altogether, it was a bit disappointing and would not rush to go back.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Former Greek orthodox church, a couple of blocks away from Saughiehall Street and Rennie McIntoshes School of Art and a short walk from the centre of town.

Very friendly and helpful receptionist. No car parking and concession available for nearby multi-storey car park. Note that this is at the bottom of a steep hill.

Rooms are large and comfortable. Minor niggles - The predominantly dark decor is beginning to show its age and the TV system is a little less than state of the art. Very comfortable beds and spacious and luxurious bathrooms.

Breakfast is not included and a bit steep at £14.50 per head cooked although the selection of fruits and pastries was very good and the kippers were well done. Breakfast service could have been better organised. It took a while for orders to be taken and for plates to be taken away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank icemandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed here twice in the last week. Location is superb - very central, and the atmosphere is appealing with friendly staff and well furnished public rooms. Food in the restaurant is of a high standard and the beds are particularly comfortable. Some neat "boutique" touches which are quite quirky (including the elevator)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank bucky71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Very convenient location just a short walk from the center of town. Nice rooms with all amenities. Magnificent bed. A handful of tv channels, though not one that showed the la Liga El clasico. Free WiFi.
Head turning interior and a nice use of available space and rooms.
Quick checkin and a smiling and forthcoming staff heightens the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjornarhuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews