We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel...”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #37 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in December 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Room was excellent...cosy with everything we needed. Lived up to what I was expecting.
Breakfast was also excellent... Good selection of food that was well made and presented.
Only gripes are the usual astronomical hotel bar prices and hotel key cards consistently not working when arriving back at the room each night. Very annoying!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank astrange4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,488)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

Had a voucher deal overnight with dinner here. Fab. Room was lovely with nice toiletries and mini bar. Food in restaurant was excellent, couldn't fault it. Drinks very pricey, but to be expected in city hotel. All round excellent value and would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HardWorkerScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night on dinner, bed and breakfast deal, as a new year treat before returning to work. We had stayed 4 years previously and were not disappointed by our return stay.
Check-in was quick, friendly and efficient. Our room was on the top floor and decorated in the usual Malmaison style, with the same lovely Arran Aromatics toiletries they have been providing for years. Only complaint was the milk provided on the coffee/tea tray was off so had hot chocolate instead!
As part of the dbb deal you can either have a 3 course meal from a set menu or £17.95 towards the a la carte menu. We both ate from the set menu, which was delicious. Choice of four starters, mains & desserts. We would definitely recommend the pork belly, which melts in your mouth.
Breakfast was every bit as delicious as dinner (eggs benedict) with a wide range of cold food on the buffet table and hot dishes to order.

Cocktails are expertly made by the bar staff and are definitely worth the wait.

I'm sure we'll return and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebRichM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just spend a night in The Big Yin Suite for my girlfriends birthday. She was totally blown away and I must say I also thought it was amazing. The large lounge with free standing bath, large 4 posted bed in a separated room was beautiful. The shower room had his and hers sink & shower heads.

I booked it through the Sunday Stopover deal which meant we also had dinner there. Prior to our stay I received a call to inform me the Brassiere was being refurbished and that we would be dining in the champagne bar? The room was fantastic, service was perfect and the food was the best we agreed have eaten in a very long time. We dinned @ Maze Grill, London 2 months ago and Malmaison was much much better in presentation, taste and value for money

I highly recommend staying and dining here as we both want to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Cannot fault this hotel in any way shape or form... sure the rooms aren't the biggest, but they are modern, clean, and above all, easy to relax in. Easy quick check-in with friendly staff on the front desk. The bar/restaurant area offers a relaxed place to eat and drink and the food was outstanding. The hotel is fairly central to the city with other bars and restaurants a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dja771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for an overnight at the start of Jan 2013. He whole hotel is past its best and a bit tatty. What were once decadent and luxurious fittings are now scratched, worn and over painted. The whole place needs a revamp.

Shower head was manky. Cushions on the bed spewed forth a cloud of dust when plumped up. Picture on the TV was ropey.

Went for dinner in the Restaurant. For a quiet night found the service on the slow side but the standard of good was decent but not stand out for the price.

Overall the whole experience was average/mediocre and there are better places to spend an evening for the same money. Look at the Grand Central Hotel at Central Station for example.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband & I booked an overnight getaway. We had never stayed in Glasgow Mal & were not disappointed. It was great value for money. Service was excellent & the room was comfortable & well appointed. We ate in the brasserie & the food was delicious. Overall it was a great night & I would definitely recommend this hotel. Hope to return myself at some point for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grainne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,356 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
873 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
5,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#38 of 93 in Glasgow
4,044 reviews
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#11 of 93 in Glasgow
2,751 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 278 West George Street, Glasgow G2 4LL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#19 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#36 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $103 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Glasgow, Scotland
Hotel Malmaison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing