We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC, USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel is actually five townhouses that have been combined. The second townhouse was at one time occupied by Mr. Burrell, the famous collector whose treasure trove was left to the City of Glasgow and resulted in the Burrell Collection Museum.

The Hotel is conveniently at a stop on the Glasgow Hop On Hop Off bus.


Great people work there, and the food and service are excellent.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all of their rooms are unique and excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1DGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Very glad that you enjoyed the history of our unique hotel and found the teams excellent, food and service.

We'll continue our improvements at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back.

Your comments are greatly valued and appreciated by us all.

Kind regards,

Craig Paton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    310
    103
    38
    8
See reviews for
179
834
45
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

this is an outstanding hotel. it's in a quiet location not far from glasgow's west end (easily walkable) and just exudes understated elegance. the hotel itself is beautiful, comprising a row of town houses, tastefully decorated as are the rooms which are spacious, individually furnished and immaculately looked after. all the staff and service they provide is attentive, friendly, highly professional and yet discrete and unobtrusive. the atmosphere is wonderfully relaxed and informal, you'll never feel out of place here. The bar area is small, full of couches and comfy chairs, and the restaurant (where you'll also have breakfast) is set for fine, yet unpretentious, dining. In the bar the drinks and service are outstanding - the sommelier is a total wine geek so the selection is all quality and ranges from the reasonably priced to the totally outrageous. the food is amazing - you must have dinner here at least once - and breakfast is incredible - it's also available till 11am on a Saturday, so very lazy mornings are to be encouraged!

i must confess to having stayed here at least half a dozen times now, all on special occasions, and each time is timeless perfection. I live and work in scotland, and have to say - it's by far my favourite hotel.

Room Tip: ideally choose a classic room or, if you can afford it mind, better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_atmosphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1DGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you posting your recent "superb" review.

The fact that you always find the staff so professional and friendly is delightful to read as it is a tricky balance to achieve.

I will thank the kitchen team for delivering an amazing dining experience, consistently.

What can I say, thank you.

Your comments generate a huge amount of pride in my teams, all of them. They deserve the praise and recognition as they strive to deliver their best, for all their guests, every day.

Kind regards,

Craig Paton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a night at the hotel du vin whilst attending a concert in Glasgow. Beautiful hotel in a picturesque location; tasteful and elegant decor; discrete, attentive and knowledgeable service and wonderful food and wine. Every member of staff we came across, from the porter on arrival to the maitre'd, was friendly and professional. This is the level of service I would expect from a 5 star hotel but is so often lacking in other hotels we have stayed in. We will most definitely be back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1DGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at One Devonshire Gardens and posting your recent review.

I am delighted that you found all aspects of your stay 5 star.
It is very pleasing that you enjoyed the decor and beauty of the hotel and especially pleasing that the hospitality and service you received where the highlight.

I will pass on my thanks and your comments to all the teams that have made your stay so enjoyable and we all look forward to your next stay with us.

Thank you for your support and taking the time to comment.

Kind regards,

Craig Paton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at One Devonshire Gardens for our 10th Wedding Anniversary and pushed the boat out and went for a suite. The one we booked was the Conservatory Suite which as the name suggests had a conservatory off the bedroom which then led out to a private seating area.

When we stayed the weather in Glasgow was exceptional which meant that the temperature in the conservatory was also exceptional. The thermometer on the AC unit said that it was 38°C!

We sat outside whilst we left the AC unit to try its best to cool things down and that is when we noticed how run down the external fabric at the rear of the hotel is. But not even just the lack of the flaking windows being painted and loose cables running down the outside walls being tidied up, it was simple things like weeds, cobwebs and cigarette ends not being removed. The front and inside of the hotel have the wow factor but the rear currently falls disappointingly short.

The AC unit couldn't deal with the heat and the staff were first class in sorting us out with an alternative room. I think we managed to look around all of the suites in the hotel before we decided to switch to the Jack Vettriano Suite. Amazing. Possibly the best room I have ever stayed in.

So if a few pounds were spent on tidying up the rear of the hotel, I would have no hesitation in giving the hotel 5 stars but as we say it, it has to be 4. Sorry.

Room Tip: Jack Vettriano Suite is amazing but so are the other modern suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1DGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your anniversary and posting your recent review.

Wonderful that you enjoyed the suite you chose and that the teams were so helpful in looking after you during your stay. I would like to apologise for those aspects which fell short and I will ensure these areas are looked at and given the attention required.

Congratulations on your recent anniversary and we do hope that you choose to visit us again and all the temas look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Craig Paton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights earlier this month, we had tickets to see Hall & Oates (a fantastic gig) and decided to treat ourselves at Hotel du Vin. Our entire stay was divine and we thoroughly enjoyed it .. the hotel itself is extremely beautiful as is the West End area and although the nearby roads are busy thoroughfares there was no traffic noise. The area is so pleasantly attractive and peaceful we opted to wander the West End during our stay and ventured no further, other than the nearby museums and Botanical Gardens. We enjoyed the leafy surrounding streets and took in the views of beautiful neighbourhood suburbia. Yes we would love to return for another relaxing visit and were impressed by the hotel, the friendly and informative staff and the delicious breakfast! A particular bartender who hails from the Basque region was very helpful and recommended a gorgeous gin, with a twist of pink grapefruit, gorgeous!

Room Tip: All individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1DGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your 2 nights with us and the service from all the teams.
I will thank the bartender you have mentioned & the breakfast chef, it is very kind of you to comment.

Hopefully you will visit Glasgow and One Devonshire Gardens again, soon.

Kind regards,

Craig Paton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is set in a combination of townhouses which creates a unique environment for a hotel. Very charming close to town hotel. Rooms decorated in a sophisticated upscale contemporary style. Wonderful bathrooms. Located on a beautiful residential street. Excellent restaurant and bar. Friendly attentive service. Rooms, bar and restaurant painted in very dark. Colors, including black. Very chic but could be a bit too dark if there on many gray days.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SharonConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1DGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you posting your recent review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the hotel so much and the service from the team!

We look forward to your return, hopefully very soon.

Kind regards,

Craig Paton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night in the luxury town house suite. The suite is gorgeous, lovely four poster bed, jacuzzi tub, sauna and gym! Very comfortable and at the back of the hotel so you do feel you are away from the city for the night!

Rated 4star instead of 5star as the hotel lacked the special touches! I paid nearly £400 for the night but things like the wifi not working in our room, the smart TVs not connecting to the wifi, lack of ice in our room (very warm night! No ice in room for drinks), Aqua TV didn't work, no room welcoming pack to explain how to use everything in the room, no films available, very warm night (27degrees) but no call from reception to ask if we needed a fan, ice or anything to help cool our room down.... Were all quite frustrating! At the price paid I would have expected a lot more special touches!

However, it was a lovely stay and I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1DGManager, General Manager at Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review.

I am pleased that overall you had a lovely stay but concerned and dissappointed that elements of our facilities let you and us down on this occassion. We are working to remedy the technical issues that impacted and I am sorry that the special touches were missing.

If you choose to visit us again, please contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Craig Paton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,648 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
659 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 95 in Glasgow
835 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#12 of 95 in Glasgow
5,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Property: Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing