We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Eyemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
350 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

just the best, superb and good value as well, lovely rooms, bathrooms and shower was out of this world, valet parking, great service all round, sadly just a one night stopover this time,I will be back as soon as I can make it

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robv12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    305
    103
    38
    8
See reviews for
173
830
44
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

An old world hotel that you always hope you will find. I had a wonderful room-Chateau Baudoc. It was downstairs and had direct access to a garden and their outdoor undercover sitting area. The staff remembered me from the moment I checked. I never had to ask for my key they just handed it to me whenever I walked into the lobby. Very nicely appointed bedroom with an extremely comfortable bed, sitting area and bathroom. About a 10 minute £8 pound cab ride to city center. I can't wait to go back for a long leisurely weekend with my wife

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank TKM15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jock in Brum
Level Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Having stayed here on a number of occasions I was deeply disappointed to find out at check in that the room I had booked by name (and confirmed a week earlier) had been given to someone else.

Each room is unique with it's own "personality" and I had been waiting for a year to get this particular room (I visit Glasgow regularly). We had been driving for hours to get there, I was exhausted and didn't know whether to start yelling or burst into tears. The kindly desk staff were very apologetic but that didn't help my mood.

Then David the concierge stepped in, sat us down in the lounge, ordered us some complimentary drinks and listened while I got it off my chest. While this was going on he had all our many bags brought in and sorted out the car hire company to come fetch their vehicle rather than me have to deliver it back to the city centre. This man exemplifies the ultimate in professionalism and empathy, he is worth his weight in gold and deserves a pay rise.

By way of an apology, we were upgraded to one of their fabulous Town House Suites, Hush Heath, and thanks to David calm was restored.

That evening we had a quiet drink in the bar (where the Spanish barman recalled what my last drink there had been???) and checked out the bistro menu. We decided to have room service and the restuarant manager offered to make us a meal to order, if they had it the chef would prepare it. Wow!

An hour later we were snuggling up in front of the tv in the lounge of our suite to enjoy the best room service meal we have every had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
515 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Staff and facilities at this hotel first rate. We had 2 nights here and while next time we'd prefer somewhere closer to the city, this was a marvellous experience. Restaurants (both formal and then bistro) excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

As a woman traveling alone, I felt safe and welcomed. What I loved about the hotel...David, the concierge, he was lovely and very knowledgeable.
The location, near the fun and funky West End (about 15 minute walk) near the beautiful botanical gardens. I think much better than staying in tired downtown. Bed was very comfy and tons of closet space.
What I didn't like ....climbing 3 flights of stairs to get to my room. The Internet access was on the blink the whole time there...they need a new system update for sure. Call to make sure it works before you go.
The worst was the lighting in both the room and bathroom....if there were 40 watt bulbs that was a lot... Very hard to see, would have been easier putting make up on in the hall! (Smile) they could also use safes in each room.
That being said, I really liked the hotel and would return for all of the good reasons listed above.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Missartsycraftsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This is not for the traveller looking for minimalist chic!

Rooms are large - other reviewers have suggested - dark, and well appointed. The stamp of Ralph Lauren everpresent!

Breakfast, bar, and bistro food all befitting the price tag.

Granted it is not in the middle of the city, it is however in striking (walking!) distance of the best that the Westend has to offer.

Here for a week and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfaring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding at the hotel. Sensational room with two huge bay windows, bath in the bedroom, beautiful bathroom and a comfy bed. Staff were wonderfully attentive and helpful. Possibly the best bacon I've tasted for breakfast too...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mostly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,620 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
610 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 95 in Glasgow
822 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Property: Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing