We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Check-In Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 11, 2013

On a drizzly Glasgow evening, what better way to begin your stay than to have a staff member appear at your car, take your cases, escort you to a sofa in front of an open fire, and hand you a glass of whisky before the paperwork is brought over to you. Talk about making a good first impression. But don't think I'm rating Hotel du Vin a 5 just because of that. The room was excellent - large, neat, and stylishly designed, and the bathroom could be described the same way. Lots of little touches to like, such as the little ledge running around the bathroom that was perfect for storing small items on, and having a Nespresso machine with a choice of 4 different coffees. There was really nothing I could fault with the room or facilities, and the service we received from start to finish was amazing. On top of that, the price was extremely competitive.
My only negative experience was with myself when I couldn't figure out how to turn off the Bang & Olufsen television!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snarky_Sandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,443)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

849 - 855 of 1,443 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2013

What a fabulous hotel. The rooms are beautiful, the service is excellent. Everyone was so helpful. I loved staying in a hotel that use to be someone's home. They have made this a very comfortable place to stay. It wis hard to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betsy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This is by far the best hotel in Glasgow. Situated in a smart end of the city, you are not on top of shops and restaurants - but all are close by and the neighbourhood is lovely a quiet. The hotel is a collection of traditional townhouses, ensuring that it oozes character and style. Rooms are spacious, well designed and ours had a quirky feature of a glass door that opened next to the bath tub to allow someone to soak whist still feeling part of the room. There was also a fabulous walk in shower. The room offered a Nespresso Machine, complimentary WiFi and was very comfortable. Staff are super friendly and helpful throughout. The restaurant offers good cuisine (but I felt it was a little fussy) and there is a pleasant lounge bar. Parking is free and they also accept dogs (with a basket and bowl in your room as part of making everyone feel welcome). A great hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having stayed at the Cheltenham and Edinburgh branches, I must admit that this is truly special. Situated in Glasgow's affluent West End, it's a 15min walk from Ashton Lane's bars and pubs. The room we stayed in was a club double which is only one up from their standard. It was luxurious, very roomy with a separate dressing / bag area which led onto a grand bathroom. In terms of swanky hotel rooms....this is definitely up there with the rest. From what I hear- they "don't do small rooms". The staff were VERY friendly and made us feel really welcome. The only downside was that we only had 1 night stop over in Glasgow. Definitely need to go back!

Stayed: May 2013
Thank vicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just had another wonderful stay at Glasgow Du Vin: where do i begin to describe the elements that make a stay here so great? well firstly the building: a beautiful victorian house with amazing staircases topped by original, stunning stained glass windows: large high ceilinged rooms with original features such as cornices,fireplaces large wooden doors:en-suite bathrooms equipped to a very high modern standard, many with roll top baths and walk in monsoon showers. High quality little extras abound, from high magnification mirrors by the washbasin to an excellent sound system for your music. Each room is interesting and different. Next,the staff who cannot do enough to make sure your stay is perfect: from the lovely welcome by David in his full highland dress, the bags brought to the room from the car and as far as possible your every wish is granted! - if you have any requests or concerns they only need to be mentioned and they will be responded to in a professional and pleasant manner. I am very fussy and like to choose my dining table and even have a choice of bedrooms. we all have our own specific wants, preferences and needs and in my experience once these are expressed they will be met. A stay at Du Vin isn't cheap, but it's such a superb treat- we always try to stay once a year when passing through Glasgow on our way to the west coast. I love this part of Glasgow too, near enough the city but not in it: just round the corner from the interesting Hyndland area shops and cafes .......and much much more to do and see if you can bear to leave the luxurious surroundings of the hotel!

Room Tip: Ring up and talk about your preferences when booking: a downstairs room with outside patio? A large...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here before heading off to a cottage in the Highlands for a break. It proved to be a really good choice. The building is in a very good setting close enough to the centre of Glasgow for access but far enough away to be relaxing. We found all of the staff to be welcoming and highly professional. Our room was excellent and the food very good. They also have a very comfortable, clubby bar for drinks and a fantastic range of whiskies which they are happy to guide you through (which they do knowledgeably). This is part of a chain and you have the occasional reminder of that. But I found it to be very good value for money and an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robiati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Considering they claim to be a four star hotel I was disappointed with a number of issues during our stay. They did offer a discount on the bill when I told discussed them on checking out, which I accepted. The food was well presented, different but pricey for what you get. The room allocated on arrival hadn't been cleaned, we were charged for a bottle of wine we never ordered, during the meal at least two other parties also queried items charged with the waiting staff, not what you expect from this standard of hotel. Would I return, probably not.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 93 in Glasgow
2,694 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 93 in Glasgow
771 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#4 of 93 in Glasgow
859 reviews
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#40 of 93 in Glasgow
3,947 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 93 in Glasgow
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#8 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $142 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing