We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with fantastic service”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Wonderful staff made the trip memorable. The room was beautiful and the hotel is dripping with character. Fantastic stay and highly recommended. It's not the most central hotel however, so if you're travelling into the centre by taxi leave about thirty minutes pare due to traffic. We were heading to the Kelvingrove Museum and it took a lot longer than three miles should due to congestion.

Room Tip: Book with breakfast and save money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chalky82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    304
    104
    37
    8
See reviews for
169
825
44
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night for a friends wedding. The suite we had was out of this world, also very clean. The reception staff were lovely and nothing seemed too much bother. The wedding room was gorgeous with so many lovely touches.
Very comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious and we would not hesitate to go back.....soon I hope.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurajbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Comfort, attention, warmth (February) and luxurious rooms.

A most enjoyable and relaxing stay, with staff which were helpful and friendly. We stayed just two nights - wish it could have been more - and ate in the restaurant on just one night. The food was good, but a limited menu. Somewhat pricey as were the wines. Breakfast was of a good standard and plentiful.

Room Tip: The rooms are named after wines - so if you have a favourite, try for that. Otherwise the rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoJu
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

For Valentine's day, my partner bought an overnight at One Devonshire Gardens. I got her chocolates. Whoops.

The package we got was dinner, bed and breakfast. It wasn't a 5pm deal or anything; it was from their own website, but nonetheless, I was fully expecting to be looked down upon, condescended to and snarled at for picking up the a la carte menu when I should have been restricting myself to the fixed price one, as happens so often when you book a deal.

Really, nothing could have been further from the truth. Perhaps the greatest triumph of this hotel is that while it's clearly quite a swanky number, the staff are friendly, welcoming, and human. Check in was relaxed to the point of sitting us in the fire-warmed lounge and offering us a dram. I saw someone complaining about the lack of options at this point for those of us who aren'y whisky drinkers. Why should there be options? It's a freebie.

One Devonshire Gardens is a row of townhouses, all wonderfully interconnected and the lounge was huge, comfortable and warmed by a roaring fire. I could have stayed there. But we were escorted to our room - all ten feet or so from the reception desks - and were greeted there by the duty manager. On opening our door, he told our stunned faces that he'd given us a special room due to our booking details - my partner had signified that this was a special treat following some medical treatment - and he wasn't lying. The room we had was certainly much plusher than we'd paid for. Over two floors, it was huge: long, high and wide. The middle of the room was dominated by a huge queen-sized bed with down (I think) pillows and duvet. To its right was a bath - and I mean a big bath, I could more or less completely lie down straight in it - a desk with coffee maker and fruit and the stairs leading down to the bathroom. To its left was a three piece suite, an entertainment unit and a wardrobe housing the minibar. In front of it was an old fashioned fireplace and mantle.

Comfortable, well-appointed and luxurious. I can't say much more about the room. I would mention the bathroom though. It was double. Double sinks. Double shower unit - bigger in itself than some entire hotel bathrooms I've seen - the only thing there seemed to be singular was the toilet. For obvious reasons.

Dinner was excellent. Fine dining, attentive (but discrete) staff and good wine. I had a medley of seafood followed by a daube of beef. Both were delicious. My vegetarian partner had a truffle salad, some kind of artichoke thing (I rarely pay attention to her choices) and a perfect bitter chocolate orange souffle. After an excellent night's sleep, breakfast was just as good. A breakfast buffet stuffed with fresh and exciting things followed by the kind of cooked breakfast that puts mere fry-ups to shame. The kind where you know every component part has been carefully sourced, chosen and cooked. I didn't eat again until dinner.

If you get the chance, stay at One Devonshire Gardens. Every part of it was an utter delight and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HoJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night for a wedding and were generally really pleased with all aspects of our stay. The room wasn't cheap but had everything you could need.
The thing that impressed me the most was the staff, they couldn't have been more helpful without being over the top.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtb105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a 2nd visit and was as good as the 1st. Rooms are good and bathrooms great. We paid for superior room on a HdV deal and I think got upgraded
Dinner in the evening was super but only if you prefer quality over quantity.
Breakfast again was of excellent quality but not for you if you want a plate piled high!!
2 course dinner was included in the price we paid but we spent a further £100 on drinks, desert and coffee.
This is a place to go on a "deal" for the quality on offer but only if you can afford it, Drinks and other add ons are not cheap

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepsleeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We first stayed here on the night after our wedding and it was so nice that we decided to return for our anniversary. The rooms are luxury boutique style and really quite large. Bathrooms are gorgeous too with vintage style high marble baths. We also decided to eat in the restaurant which was first class. The westend restaurants are also not too far away, but I would advise taking a taxi to get there! This is definately my favourite hotel in Glasgow by far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#3 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Malmaison Hotel
#36 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Property: Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing