We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal but at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great deal but at a price”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a 2nd visit and was as good as the 1st. Rooms are good and bathrooms great. We paid for superior room on a HdV deal and I think got upgraded
Dinner in the evening was super but only if you prefer quality over quantity.
Breakfast again was of excellent quality but not for you if you want a plate piled high!!
2 course dinner was included in the price we paid but we spent a further £100 on drinks, desert and coffee.
This is a place to go on a "deal" for the quality on offer but only if you can afford it, Drinks and other add ons are not cheap

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepsleeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    305
    103
    38
    8
See reviews for
173
830
44
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We first stayed here on the night after our wedding and it was so nice that we decided to return for our anniversary. The rooms are luxury boutique style and really quite large. Bathrooms are gorgeous too with vintage style high marble baths. We also decided to eat in the restaurant which was first class. The westend restaurants are also not too far away, but I would advise taking a taxi to get there! This is definately my favourite hotel in Glasgow by far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a great hotel. As usual we had a very friendly welcome from all staff. Our room was gorgeous with a beautifully comfortable four poster. We slept very well. We enjoyed perfect poached eggs and duck eggs with bacon for breakfast. Fresh coffee was always available as was extra toast. A great start to our day. The hotel is only a short taxi ride away from the city centre, but a sanctuary from the busy shops. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

from the moment we arrived the hotel we were welcome. A complementary dram of malt by the open fire, in a very traditional atmosphere. We stayed for 3 nights. The hotel is based across in the west end of glasgow about 10/15 minutes walk from Ashton Lane and the Ubiquitous Chip (just go there and enjoy the malt list!). There were bars to watch football and rugby, a great Cathedral, Mackintosh and his wife, The Glasgow School of Arts, a really friendly place and all topped off with a great place to stay. I loved watching match of the day from the roll top bath!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikesBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We went to this hotel for a wedding. The interior has a very traditional Scottish feel and the staff make you feel very welcome. Nice location for a low key, intimate wedding. The real highlight was the meal which was outstanding! All other roast potatoes will pale in comparison! Absolutely delicious!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMNorthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed at One Devonshire on 12th January by myself as part of a Christmas pressie of getting away from the kids!. I don't have any issues about staying by myself or eating in restaurants but even if I was a bit cautious the staff at One Devonshire made me feel so welcome. I had a vision that the staff would be pretentious and aloof- how wrong was I?! Very!! They were friendly yet courteous and you could tell they took a pride in the hotel. My room (Villa Maria) was lovely and comfortable.

My meal in the restaurant was outstanding and the assistant sommelier Amanda was so helpful and informative about my choices of wine without being even remotely condescending (which is so often the case). I had Scallops (delicate and beautiful), Venison (cooked to perfection and glorious) and the Gingerbread and Butter Beer ice cream (I was dubious about this but turned out to be really special).

Only tiny grips I had was that my gin and tonic was a lot of tonic and ice and the gin was lost. Also not a fan of the discretionary tip being added to the bill as I think it is a bit presumptuous. Apart from those tiny things it was a magnificent stay and I will gladly return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBoldBoysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a night here in a huge and fantastic room with every facility one could ever seek . The four-poster bed was mammoth ( almost needed an intercom to speak to my wife ! ) and very comfortable ( bedside lighting could have been a bit brighter). The decor was rich and impressive as was the whole stay . Food was of a high quality and beautifully presented although breakfast " helpings " were not too generous . The staff were all fantastic and couldn't do enough to to help and make the stay enjoyable . Altogether the stay was like living in a different world !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samacab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,620 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
610 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 95 in Glasgow
822 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Property: Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing