We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Ranked #15 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
289 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Stunning property and great service”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We had two one-night stays here framing a trip to the Hebrides, and we dined in the restaurant both nights. The hotel itself is a stunning building -- a merger of several old, luxury townhouses connected by a rabbit warren of hallways. We were upgraded to suites both nights, and they were luxurious, particularly the Robert Mondavi, which occupied what must have once been a ballroom and had a tub perched temptingly on a raised platform by the window. Staff were friendly, particularly the bellmen, with perhaps a bit too much formal stiffness in the reception staff. Restaurant was delicious, and the staff there good, particularly the young sommelier, who gave us a tour of the cave. Good bar, good whisky.
As others have noted it's a bit petty to be charged for Internet when you're in a high-end and otherwise gracious place like this - the revenue from that can't possibly be worth the bad PR. Otherwise an elegant and at the same time wonderfully comfortable place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    948
    305
    103
    38
    8
See reviews for
173
830
44
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My husband and I had a great time at HDV, we found all the staff to be very pleasant and the food was very good.We would definitely return, plus Kylie Mingoue was there so that was a nice little added bonus, THANKS HDV!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddyORchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

On arrival at the hotel we were seated in a large wait area which resembled a stuffy library. We were surrounded by guests aged 60+ who were all being very well attended to however we were not offered so much as a glass of water. We regularly stay at HdV and this was the worst atmosphere we had experienced. The layout of the hotel is unusual and indeed very confusing our largest gripe was entering the restaurant from our room side which is effectively the back of the room. We had to walk through two rooms before finding staff to seat us. As usual the food was of very high quality, but also very expensive based on the size of the portion and the fact I don't eat meat.

We enjoy HdV but would not return to this hotel. Nice gift for your grandparents (if you can afford it)

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASHLEYBEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I've stayed at some of the best hotels around the world and our experience here ranked with the best of them. From the taxi pulling up and the doorman, taking our bags and showing us to a seat while they checked us in (and early) to us leaving, we felt we were treat like royalty.
Thanks to the same doorman (concierge?) while he was checking us in, he also made a lunch reservation and had a taxi ready for 30 mins later.
The room was beautiful, with four poster bed and perfectly appointed and comfortable and I could not find fault with the hotel whatsover.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackinthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We booked the hotel on the strength of the Trip advisor reviews, however our expectations have been surpassed by the reality of our stay.
Everything about this hotel is excellent, great service, fantastic rooms, superb meals and terrific staff. Nothing has been too much trouble and the value for money has provided the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftyfoxmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel quite often on business. Room nice as usual but meal extremely idsappointing with very poor service - considering this, very expensive.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

A wonderful hotel. The room I stayed in was beautifully furnished. Breakfast was a delight (the minute steak was excellent). Dinner wasn't bad either. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 95 in Glasgow
2,620 reviews
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 95 in Glasgow
610 reviews
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 95 in Glasgow
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
Sherbrooke Castle Hotel
#5 of 95 in Glasgow
822 reviews
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
City Centre
Grand Central Hotel
Grand Central Hotel
#42 of 95 in Glasgow
3,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens

Property: Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens
Address: 1 Devonshire Gardens, Glasgow G12 0UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#6 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#7 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Vin at One Devonshire Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin At 1 Devonshire Gardens
One Devonshire Gardens
Devonshire Garden One
Hotel Du Vin At One Devonshire Gardens Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing