We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here for 7 days to see Commonwealth Games but like all hotels in Glasgow this was vastly overpriced with rooms costing about 3 times the normal rate with breakfast NOT included. The staff on reception were so friendly and helpful every time I needed to see them and they gave us plenty of information. We had a double deluxe room on the 2nd floor and it was huge. It had a plasma TV, bathrobes and slippers, plenty of seating and a most comfortable huge bed. Soon after I arrived a beautiful basket of fruit with a bottle of water arrived. Very nice. The bathroom was so big it could have held 4 people in there all at the same time. Only 1 set of towels was provided and I had to ring reception on 2 days to ask for additional towels. The downside was there was no air conditioning and you couldn't open the windows but when I asked about this they did bring an electric fan which really helped. The Champagne bar was very luxurious and was a great place to unwind after an evening at the Games. It is far cheaper to buy a bottle of wine or Champagne as the per glass price isn't worth it. The service in the bar was very slow and if you was sitting in the lounge area of the bar there would be no waiter to take your order so you had to go to the bar to get it and that was slow too. Breakfast was £10 but only if you ordered it when you checked in. They give you vouchers to hand in each day but if you don't have the vouchers it will cost you £16.50 and that is vastly overpriced. £10 is just acceptable but if they want to charge you £16.50 go to one of the many breakfast outlets just outside the hotel. In fact there is a Deli bar attached to the hotel and you can get a far cheaper breakfast for a few pounds. The breakfast was self service buffet style and they had everything required for a breakfast. If you wanted tea or coffee the waitress brings that but you will have a long wait and may have to ask 3 times before you get it. The location of the hotel has to be the best in Glasgow. The hotel is actually in Glasgow Central Station. The shops are a few minutes away and there is a 398 circular bus that runs every 10 minutes from the hotel at the station entrance and goes to Queen Street Station and to Buchanan Bus station and that is right in the centre of Glasgow with the shops and cafés and restaurants about 1 minute from the bus stop. I would definitely stay there again and with the Commonwealth Games over the nightly rate will be about £200 cheaper. If you want a nice room with plenty of space book a double deluxe room and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you want a good room choose a double deluxe on the 2nd floor. Some of the rooms are a very long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments, from your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

We rely on feedback from our valued guests to continually review and improve upon our service standards, and I thank you for taking the time to pass yours on. I will be sure to discuss your comments with our team.

Thanks again
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,458
    1,260
    551
    204
    131
See reviews for
380
1,640
160
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (870)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We chose this hotel because it is located on Central railway station, and we were travelling by train. Booked a Standard room, and found it comfortably large, and well equipped - tea tray, safe, iron and ironing-board, but no mini-bar. I asked for feather pillows, but was told that these were not available - the man-made ones provided were uncomfortable, which disturbed our sleep.
Our first impression was the difficulty of getting to our room because of the congestion at the lifts: the two provided were incredibly slow, and inadequate for the crowds awaiting them, at 5pm on a Tuesday evening, and even more so for the departing guests in the morning, who were competing with those heading for the breakfast room. The long walk from the lift to our bedroom was dispiriting.
Breakfast was quite chaotic at times: on the first day, we trampled down many stairs to reach the restaurant, then found that there is a lift down from the first floor. Found from the web-site that it was possible to pre-order breakfast for £10, against the standard price of £16.50. Quite a good selection of food, but the practice of having waiting staff patrolling with tea and coffee pots was not all it should have been.
Would stay again, but would ask for a low-numbered room, to avoid the long walk, and would definitely bring our own pillows.

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers are nearer the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis1925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments, from your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

We rely on feedback from our valued guests to continually review and improve upon our service standards, and I thank you for taking the time to pass yours on. I will be sure to discuss your comments with our team.

Thanks again
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile


Stayed here while passing through Glasgow. Was expecting a top hotel based on the website, however disappointed from moment we arrived

We had requested early checkin and to be fair 12.30 is not that early. The receptionist just dismissed us without even checking. We were told they would call when room would be ready but by 16.00 no one had called and we went back and managed to get a room.

It was clean when we got to the room it was not a deluxe we had booked, this again took a while to sort out after the reception told us it was a deluxe room, it was clearly not, double bed, small Etc. We got a new room which was great, really nice and big (just as per pics on web site).

We had booked a travel cot which had still not arrived when we went to dinner, upon return it was in the room but not made up! Sheet was of a double bed for a baby!!!

So called 'turn down' service not done either.

Overall great rooms, great location. Just very poor service and not what you expect for the money. Other hotels In Glasgow with much better service.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was disappointing to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, and that there were aspects of your initial bedroom and our service that did not live up to your standards. It is never our intention for a guest to leave us with a negative impression of the hotel, and i am sorry if this is the case.

I have passed your details on to our Guests Relations team, who will be in direct contact with you.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Not an entirely happy experience - staff were polite but completely ineffective when I reported, shortly after ( the day after!) checking out that I had left some items in my room - in summary after 5 weeks of persistence, speaking to numerous staff all of whom promised to return my call/ text me/ email me I finally spoke to the manager, who did manage to track down one of the items I had left in the room with the lame excuse that the room number recorded by housekeeping wasn't clear . One item returned, but of the others I'd left ( mainly cosmetics - value c£80) no trace, no apology, no acknowledgement of responsibility on the hotel's behalf. So no, alongside having been 'upgraded' to a newly refurbished room the size of a shoe box with no wardrobe, having had a similar experience at breakfast to another reviewer ( poor service and not an especially great breakfast), given the cost of staying here I certainly won't choose to return - plenty of other great hotels in Glasgow with better service and better value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllyMack08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

i was disappointing to read about the shortcoming in service that you experienced, and the lack of follow up with your lost property. We never like to leave a guest with a negative impression of the hotel, and I am sorry if this is the case. I will ensure that your experience is discussed thoroughly with our mangers, to avoid any repeat in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed with my 8 year old son at the grand central for 2nights. The staff were very friendly on arrival and throughout the duration of our stay. They were very helpful and pleasant to chat to. Rooms were great...my soon said they were "awesome" n the best hotel we've stayed at so far...so you've got his vote!! Food was lovely! The Champagne bar is great for people watching as it looks right over central station!! Only thing is if you drink wine....choose it by the bottle as at £8 a glass its a bit pricey!! I will definitely be choosing this hotel again!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weewylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and i hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

If you would like to book again, feel free to contact the reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Apparently I was upgraded upon arrival to a superior room. I thought wow how nice until I saw the shoe box. Having stayed here before my non superior room was much better. Then through the night what seemed like every half hour some motor noise kept going off for five minutes. Quite annoying to a light sleeper. Went for breakfast at 8 the next morning. Usually wouls have been earlier but with little sleep. . . Shown to my seat and told to help myself to food and tea/coffee would be served. I then sat for ten minutes watching waiter slowly circle floor offering eveyone a top up of coffee before running out and then proceeding to leave. At this point I just gave up waiting and had to go ask if I was ever getting coffee.

Certainly won't be staying here again when other better hotels just up the road.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevoc19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was disappointing to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay, and that there were aspects of your initial bedroom and our service that did not live up to your standards. It is never our intention for a guest to leave us with a negative impression of the hotel, and i am sorry if this is the case.

I have passed your details on to our Guests Relations team, who will be in direct contact with you.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Great hotel,lovely staff nothing to much trouble for them especially Olivia ,Susan and Tony. Great breakfast and dinner.Would stay again .Very central close to shops and restaurants. The rooms are very spacious and clean.Good size bathrooms .Bathrobes and slippers supplied.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcghee533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central hotel.

It was an absolute delight to read that you found your stay to be so comfortable, and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

If you are looking to make a booking with us please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#11 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,175 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#12 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,515 reviews
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing