We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Central Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$321
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$309
$258
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$174
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Glasgow Marriott Hotel(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$191
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Glasgow(Glasgow)
$279
$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$212
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$313
$264
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Glasgow(Glasgow)(Great Value!)
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$222
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,321)
Filter reviews
4,321 results
Traveler rating
1,777
1,499
639
245
161
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,777
1,499
639
245
161
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschampagne bartempus restauranttrain stationchampagne centralgordon streettaxi rankhope streetjunior suitetravelling by trainlovely hotelstreet noiselovely roomstandard rooman overnight stayhaggisstayed for one nightcentre of glasgow
Filter
Updating list...
2,539 - 2,544 of 4,321 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Absolutely perfect location which can be accessed almost immediately from alighting from the train and right in the middle of Glasgow city. Fabulous long wide corridors - which unfortunately smelt a bit musty - but with great rooms. Every single member of staff smiling and extremely helpful

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheznez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central.

We rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service standards, and i thank you for taking the time to pass your on.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We were in Glasgow for two nights and splurged on rooms at the Grand Central (my sister and her family were with us). It was worth every penny. The rooms were large and beautifully done with luxurious bathrooms. We booked a special package which included dinner and breakfast at the Tempus restaurant. The full Scottish breakfast was fantastic. There was a huge selection and everything was fresh and excellent quality.

What really set the hotel apart was the friendliness and level of service from the staff. From the front desk, to the restaurant, to the concierge staff, nothing was too much trouble. They even packed us a breakfast the second morning as we had a very early train to catch.

We had an inside room, facing the train station and it was amazingly quiet.

We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Glasgow.

Room Tip: The inside rooms are very quiet. Those facing the street are noisier.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LDLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and i hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

If you would like to make another booking, please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Have just spent two nights here and have to admit to mixed feelings. One cannot complain at the proximity of one entrance into the Central Station itself and it's situation in the middle of the city. Our room was clean and the large bathroom very light from a large window ( a bit concerning with overlooking property). The electric socket for the kettle meant it had to be either on the floor or by the bedside to boil, a bit hazardous really. No drawer space for either of us meant having to live out of our suitcases which was most unsatisfactory ...... Being unable to work the, small, T.V. remote control I contacted the concierge for help. After one hour of waiting we gave up and went to sleep!. There were insufficient pillows and towels for two and had to be requested the next morning. Room service arrived while we were still preparing to go out and just walked in, this also occurred the next morning ....without knocking . We decided against breakfast (and ate at Pret a Mange 2mns en route to Buchannen Street fresh baguettes with smoked salmon or hot baps and a wonderful welcome) .On returning late afternoon hot and thirsty we found our tea, milk etc. had not been replenished, bins not emptied and bed unmade. Again we 'phoned the concierge but after 20 thirsty minutes of non arrival ( housekeeping 'phone always engaged) I walked to the desk to find he had gone for his break and our request had not been passed on. However our problem was addressed immediately and with apologies by his replacement. In the morning our luggage was stored for us and check out organised the way such a large hotel should be run. We had requested a quiet room....so if that's what you would like and you are opposite the lift ask for a change !!!!!!! It's certainly a very large and busy hotel, a little gloomy but the majority of staff cheerful and friendly.Perhaps the problems were minor but should not occur.I had looked forward to this hotel break with my husband and was disappointed having had better service at lower prices .Don't forget to view this hotel from the outside, the size and architecture is wonderful and reflects it's long history.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from lifts, sounds of people saying goodnight carry well.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dorriedormouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central.

We rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service standards, and i thank you for taking the time to pass your on.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Often walked by this hotel but never thought of staying before this week.

Very warm welcome and helpful reception. Rooms quite big with high ceilings.

Breakfast excellent.

Have stayed many times before in The George in Edinburgh but never at Grand Central in Glasgow. Will use it more often in future.Compares well with Hotel Inidigo around the corner

Room Tip: The Hotel is on the station so best going for a higher floor room
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinL133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and i hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

If you would like to make another booking, please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

There is a partial clue in the name. The "Grand Central" Hotel, situated at Glasgow's main station, is the perfect base for exploring the city.
Internally, the building has been magnificently renovated. It highlights a lavish Reception and main lobby area leading out to long and imposing corridors.Moreover, the bedrooms themselves are quite beautiful and have excellent facilities.
Our experience in the evening of our visit highlighted the fact that the hotel was more than just a location in the city centre. In fact, it displays the best features of Glasgow.In the Champagne Bar, the atmosphere was genial, with friendly and supportive staff always on hand to help out.
On the way back to our room, the corridor was thronged as an Awards Ceremony spilled over, giving an added buzz of conversation-with a focus on the "Glasgow Patter"-to bring down the curtain on a very successful evening.

Thank 737Hugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central.

We rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service standards, and i thank you for taking the time to pass your on.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews