We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I visited this hotel on the 25/03/14. The rooms are nice and clean however I did find certain maintenance issues (cracked paint/loose toilet roll holder/marked walls/poor water pressure) all minor things.

The windows also let in a lot of noise. I would have expected double/triple glazing, especially when facing onto a busy taxi rank.

The reception staff were helpful. Our room wasn't ready but we were given drinks vouchers for the bar. Our luggage also wasnt delivered to our room until we enquired as to why it wasnt in our room as promised.

The atmosphere of the place is fantastic. The bar is great (fantastic cocktail list)

Probably wouldnt stay again for the price but it was a nice visit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank cglachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was glad to read that you enjoyed our champagne bar, though disappointed to read about the shortcomings you experienced.

I will be sure to discuss the details of your stay at our next Head of Department meeting, with the hope of improving our standards of service.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,476 - 2,482 of 4,075 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

This hotel has clearly benefitted from a major refurbishment. They have managed to re-instill the grandeur that existed when the hotel was originally built - large yet comfortable bedrooms, clean and tidy bathrooms, high ceilings, atmospheric public areas. Good food and drink reasonably priced and extremely friendly staff who all seem keen to ensure that you enjoy your stay. Location is the middle of a large city and next to the Central train station and yet it is not noisy.

We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get bedrooms on 3rd and 4th floors as they tend to be quieter than those on 1st and 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandsmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent review of your recent experience at the Grand Central.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I very much hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Grand Central in the future.

Kindest Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Huge rooms, high ceilings, old building: very atmospheric, yet cozy and modern fixtures throughout.
Beds were very comfortable, bathrooms clearly redone relatively recently, room service was excellent and the food was delicious.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
Only slight downside: windows were not completely airtight, leading to drafts and a rather chilly room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Céline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you were impressed by our big rooms and comfy beds, and we very much hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here back in February. The place is a 1920's Rennie McIntosh style gem. The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive. The massive rooms and huge corridors were truly exceptional. I loved the art work and design touches throughout.

Only wee complaint was in the champagne bar where the staff could have been a lot friendlier. I felt as though i had to hang around an uncomfortable amount of time to be acknowledged despite the bar being very quiet. Not a great deal of warmth from the guy who served us either!

Breakfast was fantastic. I loved the system of a hot maintained buffet. Other hotels should take note! A huge delicious selection of food which was all hot and fresh and constantly re filled.

Will definitely be back. Such a great addition to the City. glasgow should be very proud.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed the style of the hotel, and I will be sure to pass your comments about the bar staff on to our management team.

If you are staying with us again please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed on 14/3/14, special offer from 5pm.co.uk, first class service and reception, staff all professional and so helpful,cannot find any fault .Room great even though facing on to Gordon Street ,no noise ,slept great.Thank you Grand Central once again excellent stay .Hope to be back soon

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Holimoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel. It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that our staff looked after you so well.

If you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very old though has had revamp. Long corridors and quite dark in places. Reception staff very good, welcoming and all info to hand. Lot of non-residential activity making bar very busy and noisy. Rooms warm and clean but well used especially upholstery. Bathroom well equipped. Breakfast adequate self service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottishGuest043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

We rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our standards of service, and i thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.

I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Great location, however there is upgrading work going on at the station next door (they work through the night). Trying to sleep through the sound of a jack hammer followed by a sledge hammer was near impossible. This was after suffering the wedding band, at the hotel, who wouldn't have been out of place at the o2 without a sound system. The room was ok, small, but was it worth the money I paid, NO. I still dont understand why there is never a plug socket for hair dryer situated near a mirror. The heat in the room was unbearable but we couldn't open the windows, house keeping also found this task difficult. Three bodies later and the windows were opened.......A whole two inches!!!! The food in the restaurant was nice but being asked 'is everything ok' becomes annoying after the second time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 328JOAN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was disappointed to read that you were disturbed by noise during your stay with us. Being a busy station hotel we do occasionally deal with a degree of noise, and I am sorry that it had impacted on your stay.

You may be interested to know that the hotel is currently undergoing refurbishment with the addition of new bedrooms and leisure spaces. During these works we are looking to improve the soundproofing within the hotel, in the hope of further reducing any impact on our guests.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 93 in Glasgow
2,366 reviews
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Fraser Suites Glasgow
Fraser Suites Glasgow
#21 of 93 in Glasgow
1,077 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#37 of 93 in Glasgow
1,508 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#17 of 93 in Glasgow
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $96 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing