We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel. Brilliant location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #39 of 93 Hotels in Glasgow
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Valentines weekend and I booked the very reasonably priced deluxe room for my wife and I. On arrival we were given our key straight away with none of the almost mandatory questions you usually get from large establishments. No messing about with these guys. Beautifully presented check in, and wonderfully polite staff every single staff member we met, be it on the floors or in the bars acknowledged our presence and made us feel welcome.
The room was massive as was the adjoining bathroom with an equally large bath.
I'll keep this short, the grand is a great hotel with great staff and a great breakfast service.
Thank you and we will see you again soon. !!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francisjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank for your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was lovely to read that the efficiency of our team and our bedrooms impressed you, and it was a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

If you are booking to stay again please feel to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,951)
There are newer reviews for Grand Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,425 - 2,431 of 3,951 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

Booked the Grand Central following let down by Piper's Tryst who had not updated their Late Rooms status..glad they didn't as the Grand Central which I booked direct, more than met our requirements...exceptionally pleasant, discreet staff. Grand but not overbearing decor and whilst not inexpensive it was worth every penny. Just a couple of comments...it would have been nice to have the bathrobes and slippers promised...didn't bring own for that reason and missed them to laze around after showering. Mentioned it at checkout and apology gladly accepted!! Outwith hotel's power are the rude guests who give no thought to their fellow guests...shouting late at night and whilst it is understandable that rooms require servicing...vacuuming so early on a Sunday morning was a bit of an unwelcome wake up call. 5star staff are the biggest asset would return in a flash. Ps agree with other guests that the net curtains are unsightly...roman blinds are smashing so they could go....hope this a helpful review.

Room Tip: Think odd number rooms on street side.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleopatraScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that our staff were so accommodating during your valentines night away. At the Grand Central we are dedicated to providing sensational service in a spectacular setting and i am so happy to hear that we have delivered for you.

Thanks again
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've stayed here before, though it was a midweek and found it to be a little stark, but ok for the night.
However, my recent three night weekend stay was a whole different experience.
I accept that some noise is to be expected in a prime city centre hotel, however, the poor efforts of the hotel to reduce the noise were part of the problem. We were very unfortunate to be in a second floor room above a taxi rank. Every night was worse than the next, from 2ish till past 6 in the morning with rowdy party makers then the roar of the street cleaner machine made sure there was no sleep to be had.
The finish was the disgusting behaviour of some university graduates who were staying and they were completely out of control. Banging on door, screaming, running along corridors etc. we checked out at 4.30 after realising there was no more sleep to be had.
The staff were very apologetic and we were refunded the last night. I'm only posting this critical review after waiting one week to be contacted by 'guest services' for an explanation of why this booking was accepted, as we were told it was the same chaos last year with them.
Their loss- we are regular visits to Glasgow but def not return to this madhouse.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank weekendersSWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for your review of your experience at the Grand Central, we rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service offering, and I thank you for taking the time to pass yours on.

As a busy city centre hotel we are conveniently located as part of the Central Station building. I am sorry if the city noise impacted on your sleep quality, and we are currently working during our refurbishment to improve sound proofing for our existing bedrooms.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel recently and it was great. Room was lovely and spotlessly clean. The hotel was also in a great location and very central. We also had a cocktail in the lounge and once again it was simply stunning, if you are staying please go for a drink as it really is worth it even just to sit and people watch, bar looks out onto station and we just loved the ambiance of the lounge. First time we stayed here and I can definitely say that I will return. Lovely decor and amazing chandelier in the stair way.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank denise a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your view of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It is such a delight to read when our guests enjoy our service offering so thoroughly, and was lovely to hear that you were able to experience Champagne Central.

if you area looking to stay with us again in the future please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Grand Central Hotel is a trip back to another era. The hotel has recently re-opened after a long closure. The owners have done a fantastic job of restoring it to its former glory. The décor is fantastic and well done especially the grand stair case. Just sitting in the bar is a pleasure in itself. The bedrooms are roomy, the beds comfortable. The location of the hotel is perfect for Glasgow's shopping areas and only 10 minutes walk from the fantastic Merchant City. I would have given the hotel a five rating but did not dine in the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your fabulous review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

At the Grand Central we are dedicated to providing sensational service in a spectacular setting , and i was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. Hopefully next time you stay we can book you in to experience our Tempus restaurant.

Thank you again
Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I stayed a year ago..was not impressed. I got in touch with the staff and I was offered a stay at a reduced rate as an apology for my discomfort.

I stayed last night. 13th February. Our room was incredible, huge comfy bed, all the amenities you need. A beautiful huge bath and bathroom. The staff were lovely on welcome checking in. The staff were lovely at breakfast, buffet style breakfast but everything you need.

No point going into too many specifics but:
Lovely room
Lovely Staff
Lovely Price

Just stay great location in Glasgow.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FerrisTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review on your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon.

If you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to contact us on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We decided to treat ourselves to a Suite and a treat it certainly was. Huge Lounge area with plasma TV, comfy seating and minibar. The bedroom was also enourmous with a huge bed, tv, tea and coffee facilities. Very comfortable bed and loads of room. The Bathroom was equally as big with White Company toiletries fluffy towels, bathrobes and slippers. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewanbarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are booking to stay with us again please feel free to contact us on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#12 of 93 in Glasgow
2,326 reviews
City Centre
citizenM Glasgow
citizenM Glasgow
#10 of 93 in Glasgow
5,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton George Hotel
#19 of 93 in Glasgow
1,802 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Glasgow Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#26 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range: $106 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing