We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ummm...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #41 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“ummm...”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. Upon arrival the staff were friendly, however they didn't provide log in for internet or explain how it works. Probably because to use it free in your room you have to re log in every 30 minutes, which as it was soooo slow, meant you barely had time to download your emails. My room was so far away from the reception area and not a single member of staff offered to help me with my bags. In the room, the bathroom had a message from a previous guest, "clean me" written in the dust on the bathroom mirror. I had to climb onto the dressing table to plug the tv in and the key card didn't work so I had to shlap all the way down to reception to get it corrected. The room was a good size, well equipped and the bed very comfortable. Room service definitely over priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer the lifts as its a large hotel and the walk from the lift to the far end is to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tenaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience at the Grand Central, we rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service offering, and I thank you for taking the time to pass yours on.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,529
    1,304
    564
    210
    134
See reviews for
405
1,691
173
646
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (904)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in the Robert Rowand Anderson suite. Room was stunning. Large bedroom, bathroom and separate sitting room. Lovely decor. Soft bathrobes and slippers, toiletries and canapés. The deal included a glass of champagne. This is the 3rd time we've stayed here and it never disappoints. The restaurant is lovely too, food is really nice. Very central location, will stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lesley11Ayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at the Grand Central Hotel.

It was a delight to read that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly, and I thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I stayed here recently for one night (luckily no more!) on a business trip. Reception staff didn't even crack a smile.. I was upgraded to a deluxe room, and yes it was huge but so 'cold' and 'bare'. Furniture was sparse, the bed was awful, the pillows were terrible. The bathroom was tiny, cramped and not very clean. The room overlooked the street and was noisy at night when the pubs emptied. Breakfast was one of the worst I'd ever had with disgusting scrambled eggs and 'stewed' coffee. Yes you could order lattes etc but at extra cost! And at £150 a night, an expensive disappointment in a hotel. I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTravAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience at the Grand Central, we rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service offering, and I thank you for taking the time to pass yours on.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I was booked in here overnight and as I have used Principal Hayley Hotels in the past, I assumed it would be fine.

it has been several years since I stayed in Glasgow, and I haven't been in the Grand before.

I was told that I need not leave the station to find the hotel, but when I arrived by train in the late afternoon, I walked the length of the station looking for the entrance. In the end I admitted defeat and asked at the patisserie store fir directions. "I'm sorry, but I can't seem to find the hotel entrance" I said, "you and everyone else" was the response!!

the charming assistant then came out of the store & walked me down the platform & pointed out a door way beside the ticket office, that I had walked past already, the main entrance on the road side is obvious, not so the one in the station!

I checked in, was offered no assistance with bags, no wake up call and no reservation for dinner and was pointed in the direction of the lifts

the doors have key card locks, the key of which you have to stick into the light switch to work the electricity, part of the "green policy" I'm sure. the room was painted battleship grey, and the ceiling was higher than the room was wide, so gave a very odd sense of perspective. the lighting in snot strong enough to work in, and despite it still being light outside, the room seemed dark; the reason for this was 2 fold - the net curtains at the window were filthy and the 'window' in the room was covered with frosted glass, to hide the fact the view was of part of the railway station roof!
however, the bathroom window was clear glass, and gave a wonderful view of the main concourse. this too had a filthy blind hanging at it. I fully understand it's not easy to clean the outside windows of a busy city centre hotel, but in that case seal them shut so the inside stays clean!
The walls in the bathroom were marked, the grouting was discoloured and the sealant turning black in the corners, the only positives were there was plenty hot water, and the bar of soap was a decent size

the ceiling in the bedroom had a huge water stain in it, almost 8 feet long and a lovely shade of cold tea, an obvious leak in the room above, flaking paint on the ceiling and either marks or scuffs on every wall. I have travelled on business for the past 28 years, and stayed in all styles and grades of hotel, but I have never seen a more depressing and dirty room as this.

I was meeting a colleague for dinner, & heading for an early meeting the next morning, so didn't comment in the evening

I went down for breakfast the following morning, but gave it up as a lost cause, as there appeared to be more people than seats, and the place looked to be in chaos; breakfast came via a well know high street coffee shop instead

this hotel was booked for me via an agent, and I normally don't stipulate where I stay, as long as it's central to where I need to be, but I will take steps to book elsewhere when I'm next in Glasgow.

it's a shame as the hotel has the potential to be great, I'm sure some of the bedrooms are as grand as the public areas are, but the one I was sold was far from good, I would have been better in a travel lodge to be honest

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequent_flyer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your experience at the Grand Central, we rely on feedback from our guests to continually review and improve upon our service offering, and I thank you for taking the time to pass yours on.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I've just returned from a couple of nights at this hotel. Very Pleasant hotel with helpful local staff, makes a change from the usual branded hotels with rip off prices.

A pleasure to stay here and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for a quieter room as some have secondary glazing due to the age of building and regulations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabbarank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central.

It was delight to read that you enjoyed your stay, and I will be sure to pass the details of your experience on to our team.

If you are booking to stay again please feel free to phone us on 0141 240 333 for our best available rates.

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Enjoyed our short break at the Glasgow Central Hotel at the end of January very much. Very nice room with very comfortable bed and nice bathroom.

All the staff are to be complimented on their friendly and attentive service. Lots of smiles and friendly greetings as you went along the corridors and in the bar and restaurant.

The only cloud on the horizon was on the Saturday night when we returned to the hotel after being out for the evening. We had literally to force our way through a crowd of people who were totally obstructing the main entrance while they were having there nicotine fix. Not only were they unwilling to move to let us in but we also had to run the gauntlet of an horrendous fog of cigarette smoke. For a hotel of this class to allow this at their main entrance is most surprising. Whilst I appreciate that the layout of the building will make it difficult to provide smoking areas, I feel this should be a priority for the comfort and well being of guests going in and out the hotel. I would assume that many functions take place at this hotel over every weekend and that management should be looking at solving this problem at the entrance as a matter of urgency.. But for this I would have rated 5 for the hotel.

It would be a great shame if people were put off returning to such a great hotel by this type of very unpleasant experience getting in and out of the building.

Room Tip: Advise you request room from 300 and above range as 200+ subject to a bit of noise when functions on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review the Grand Central Hotel, I thank you for your feedback.

As you suggested, due to the layout of our building our main egress for smokers is indeed the main entrance for the hotel. We do however have a station entrance that leads into Central Station itself, which is free of any smoking at all times. I am sorry if you were put off by the main entrance, and I will be sure to discuss alternatives at our next management meeting.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed in this hotel 10 years ago and it was awful. I had heard it had a recent (isn) upgrade in 2010 so decided to treat a few friends to a night there. i booked 3 rooms and paid for the best available options - deluxes.
No major change since last time - rooms are nicer and the bar area is nice.
The quality of finish in the hotel is poor - they have dirty net curtains in the hall and the place looks dated. ~The reviews are true don't expect to get any sleep at the weekend. The windows are not sealed properly and there is a taxi rank across the road which has about 200 people + in it from around 230pm till around 630pm. I could hear every word so managed 2 hours sleep when the housekeeping ladies started banging on doors (before 9) on a sunday when the checkout time was 12. I paid for 3 rooms and wasn't even asked whether or not things were ok so i am telling you all as the hotel clearly didn't want to hear it.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not on the main street - but also do not have a room in the station itself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayaker2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us. We have indeed undertaken a £20million refurbishment, transforming the Grand Central into one of Glasgow’s most stylish, conference, training, wedding, banqueting and short break destinations.

I am sorry if you did not appreciate the changes that have occurred in the last 20 years, though I appreciate you taking the time to pass on your thoughts, and I will be sure to discuss them thoroughly with our team.

Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#30 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing