We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Scotland
Level Contributor
188 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Always try and stay here if down at a concert in Glasgow, the staff are very friendly.
The rooms are very comfy and great value for money, shame a breakfast is not thrown in.
Definitely be back next time in Glasgow.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starkreality1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly.

if you are looking to stay with us in the future please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    1,286
    558
    209
    133
See reviews for
390
1,669
166
638
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (885)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed for a night at the Grand Central in January 2014, the building is part of the Central station in Glasgow and has been upgraded/decorated to a very high standard, from the entrance hall to the bedrooms everything is on a grand scale.

Our room overlook the main concourse of the station and as well as having an interesting view was very well appointed, a large comfortable bed and spotlessly clean bathroom were very welcome.

If you stay, go to the Champagne bar and treat yourself, it's a great bar, friendly staff and you get to watch people coming and going high above the station. It's pricey but you're paying for the atmosphere as well as good drinks.

The staff were all very professional, welcoming and knowledgeable and are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLR1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent experience at the Grand Central. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to sample the Champagne Bar.

If you are booking to stay with us again, please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Just had an overnight stay at the Grand Central to celebrate a family birthday. On arrival we were greeted by the most delightful receptionist Karyn who was very friendly and helpful. Our room on the third floor was very clean,spaceous and comfortable and had everything we needed.Well done to the excellent housekeeping staff.! I would also like to mention Kieron,and Tiago from the champagne bar also Fearghal who went out there way to make us feel welcome. Great selection at breakfast too with John the chef making sure we had everything we needed. The Grand Central hotel is a fantastic hotel and that is because of the fabulous staff that work there and the great location.Will definately be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was so helpful.

If you are booking to stay with us in the future please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I have returned from a 3 night stay here yesterday . I am happy with this hotel and because of its excellent location and Character; I will now not stay anywhere else in Glasgow.

Concierge and Reception staff were so extremely helpful in finding me an appropriate room...

Thank you for a lovely stay and a great nights sleep...

Having previously stayed at another PH hotel in Manchester with similar excellent customer service I am now a fan of this group.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bubble333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was so helpful.

If you are booking to stay with us in the future please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

What an excellent hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was very spacious, clean and was very modern. Food and room service was excellent. Great selection at breakfast time, with all the food piping hot. Great location and very handy to shops and attractions. I will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMarkethill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was so helpful.

If you are booking to stay with us in the future please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Staying for three nights on a bed and breakfast basis, we found the room situated on the third floor over looking the railway station perfect for our needs, the bathroom was lovely with a walk in waterfall shower,comfy bed, very nicely decorated room, quiet, cosy, clean, who could ask for anything more?
The breakfast was first class, well cooked pleanty of choice even for a fussy palet!
We were so impressed with the staff, always smiling and couldnt do enough for us. all in all our weekend was exellent, this was our first visit to the hotel no way will it be our last!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esthersymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was so helpful.

If you are booking to stay with us in the future please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed one night for business. Excellent access to train station and to quick food, drink, sundries shops there. Very nice reception staff. Looked after my bags until time for my departure the next day. Room was nice with all that I needed handy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeddadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel, I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was so helpful.

If you are booking to stay with us in the future please feel free to contact our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kind Regards
Laurie Nicol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
2,200 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
2,555 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
Dakota Deluxe Glasgow
#1 of 96 in Glasgow
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing