We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #42 of 96 Hotels in Glasgow
Edinburgh. Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Grand Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed here for one night on 4th January. Was in city with my 11 year old grandson to go,to the panto. From checking in to checking out, the service was faultless. What a warm welcome from reception staff when we booked in. Every member of staff we passed when in the hotel acknowledged us with a warm greeting. Hotel is very elegant and such a nice atmosphere.

Our room was clean and very spacious. We were in room 303 and the only flaw in the room was a touch of staining on the wall and ceiling from water ingress. Would also be nice to have a better selection of biscuits.

Good selection at breakfast and something for everyone. Very attentive staff.

Management should be very pleased with the customer service offered by all staff who were on duty when we stayed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandymac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your great review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighetd that you had a " Grand stay" and were well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you both again soon.

If you would like to make a return booking please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,492
    1,290
    561
    209
    133
See reviews for
391
1,675
167
640
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

General: As a frequent visitor to Glasgow but first time staying in this hotel it was useful to compare it with its competitors. The Grand Central is ideally situated for train travellers arriving from London and other destinations on the West Coast main line. It’s a classic Victorian station hotel, fairly recently renovated and comfortable, retaining the architectural grandeur but still a bit gloomy in corridors.
Booking: Online booking was confusing with being invited to upgrade to a cooked breakfast even though the package I had booked already included a cooked breakfast. This was sorted out helpfully by the reservations office. Check in was efficient and welcoming.
Room: Our standard room was ample for our needs with an unremarkable view over the station canopy. If one likes a room with a view then one needs to upgrade or try other hotels in Glasgow. It was clean and storage space was adequate. With high ceilings it was a bit chilly in January although not actually cold so we didn’t bother with the stand-alone electric heater. There was evidence of water leaks on the ceiling; presumably the leak had been repaired as nothing came through on a weekend of very heavy rain. The bathroom was good with a great shower, simple controls and lots of hot water. The washbasin cold tap took ages to run cold (presumably the H&C pipes have a long pipe run side by side enroute to the room) which detracts from the hotel’s advertised environmental sustainability credentials.
Free wifi for 30 minutes was unreliable, I managed to log on only once and other times the system accepted my log-in details then froze. I doubt that paying for an internet package would have been any better. My laptop works fine with unlimited free wifi in Q Hotels, Accor Hotels and in cafés and on trains so why not at the Grand Central?
Breakfast: It’s a bit of a trek from the public areas to the Tempus restaurant in the basement. Once there the breakfast buffet choice and quality were excellent with the best porridge I’ve ever enjoyed in a Scottish hotel. Service was friendly and efficient. Grand Central has adopted the useful ‘traffic light’ system of advising guests on the quiet and busy times at breakfast. It's a nice touch to have fruit juice and mini-croissants for guests waiting to be seated at breakfast.
Bar: We treated ourselves and family to a drink in the Champagne Bar overlooking the station concourse with ample scope for people watching. There is a good range of champagnes and sparkling wines on offer and prices were very reasonable, comparable with most restaurants.
Overall: Great central location, excellent service, high quality food and drink, standard rooms OK but let down by unreliable wifi. Good value, happy to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PompeyMike56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your recent Grand Central experience. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our location, excellent service and high quality food and drink however, disappointed to see that you faced some challenges with the internet. You may be interested to hear that the hotel is currently undertaking further refurbishment where complimentary upgraded internet will be implemented.

If you would like to make a return booking please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

great old hotel wonderfully re-furbished, great location We stayed for 2 nights 24th and 25th Dec prior to heading of to the sun. On arrival the Concierge asked if he could find somewhere for us to eat on Christmas day as nearly establishments were fully booked. Fortunately we were already sorted but it was a lovely touch. Room was huge and very comfortable. The bulging Christmas stocking left outside our door on Christmas morning was above and beyond. Well done customer services. We had dinner in the hotel on Christmas Eve. Had to wait a good 10 minutes to be seated though the lots of empty tables. Our "host" had vanished. The wait not really worth it. Service was uncoordinated, our "while you wait" bread arrived after our first course! Breakfasts were good, staff very helpful and cheery. The poor dinner will not stop us returning or recommending to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rhogeo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that you did not experience Tempus to the normal high standard which we endeavour to deliver. Please be assured that this will be passed on and discussed at the next meeting.

If you are planning another stay, please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

A cancelled flight and delayed travel presented a last-minute opportunity to stay at the Grand Central in Glasgow. We'd read about the refurbishment and the Champagne Bar, and since we had a train to London the next morning it seemed to fit, and you can't beat the location right at Central Station.
Reception and checking in was friendly, but we were disappointed to find a cold room. Meaning no heating whatsoever, and so it was frigid, no warmth at all. Cold towel rail in the bathroom, not welcoming. As we waited for Reception to respond, I noticed the hotel's seasonal promotion "Come out of the cold to Grand Central" !
To their credit, Reception quickly responded and after a few minutes wait we were taken to a new room. It was warmer and larger but it was also a handicapped accessible room so that there was no bath as I'd requested at check-in, only an accessible shower. But it was getting late (8:30pm after a day of travel), so I chose not to raise it again. Tap and shower water were slow to warm up, and variable during the evening but shower water was hot the next morning.
Second disappointment was when we went to the Tempus restaurant. Before going in, we asked to look at a menu, and the hostess gave us two menus to peruse. We then decided to go in for dinner. But then, as we return the menus to the host and we are about to go to our table, the host mentioned that the menus (we'd been given a minute or two earlier) were only applicable until 6:30 pm. The hostess who'd given us the original menus had by then left. The full evening menu looked interesting but this experience put us off eating there so we went elsewhere.

The room ended up being comfortable, but our introduction to the Grand Central was marred by two simple failures - one by house-keeping/maintenance to ensure a guest is taken to a heated room on a cold winter night, and the second by poor handling at what is presented as a fine restaurant. Saved by friendly Reception staff.

Reception staff were friendly and helpful, even checking with a followup call after we changed rooms, but I couldn't help but feel disappointed given the marvelous press and other great reviews of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lust2wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Grand Central Hotel. It was disappointing to read that you faced some challenges shortly after checking in but delighted to see that these were responded to quickly. Please be assured that these will be taken up and discussed with the relevant departments.

If you are planning another stay, please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked up for the Grand Central New Year ball with our friends and paid £155 per head for an upgraded superior room, champagne reception, dinner, ball, breakfast and later check out of noon. All in all not a bad price for a new year bash! I do enjoy a visit to the Grand Central Champagne bar as its location and surroundings make it a great place for a meeting place or a pre/post evening drink. Grand Central Hotel is a massive hotel and was completed refurbished a few years ago.

We arrived just after 5 pm and check in was completed in minutes and we were given a full itinerary for the evenings event so we knew exactly where and when to be. Nice touch.

Our superior room was quite interesting in its shape, I noticed on the fire escape plan our room appeared to be the only one with such a “strange” design. A long entrance corridor lead to the desk area off of which was the toilet and then a complete 180 degree turn around led to the separate bedroom. I’m not complaining it meant our room was nestled away from the busy city centre. Our friends room was the usual large square box though this was far better for a pre dinner drink as our room would have meant people round corners etc…


The Bed was large and comfortable enough with selection of pillows to suit. The bathroom was also large and clean.


There were a few marks on the walls from scuffs and bashes though these could have been made that morning or could have been about for a while and were not enough to get bothered about.

We made our way down to the champagne drinks reception which was very good and wasn’t limited to a glass per person, you could help yourself to as much or as little as you wished it would appear. Canapes were also doing the rounds though we didn’t have any out of choice.

The ballroom itself was excellent and really added to the occasion with large pillars, decent dance floor area and excellent space around the tables even though there must have been 200 attendees.


Even before food was served we all knew it wouldn’t be great, mass catering for 200+ never yields a wonderful dining experience. True to form this was the case. The starter was fish, fish and more fish (smoked haddock, smoked salmon and a cup of cullen skink to be exact) and all were a bit dry and combined with being served cold I didn’t eat much on this plate. Presentation was excellent though.

The intermediary course of Haggis, Neeps and Tatties looked like a dogs dinner but was actually excellent to taste with a hearty whiskey sauce and the right ratio of haggis to neeps and tatties.


Main course was beef and chicken stuffed with something. Again presentation was absolutely excellent though the actual food itself was dry after being under a hot plate or in an oven keeping warm for ages. The beef was a case in point, it was medium and looked perfect though in actual eating was dry and tough.

Pudding was strange mixture of items though was presented excellently. The mini ice cream cone of toffee ice cream was excellent. I’m not sure what the little flower thing was or where it belonged on this plate next to cherries. The chocolate sponge was fine and wasn’t dry. Nothing wrong with dessert it was just a bizarre mixture of items that individually worked but together didn’t really mix.

However this was our expectation beforehand so we weren’t disappointed with this, we were here for the ball and I’m glad to say the band and entertainment were absolutely excellent. The crowd was slightly older but the DJ and band mixed up with modern songs and old as well as a couple of céilidh dances thrown in. We all had a great time.

Breakfast was an excellent affair with a large buffet being constantly refreshed so that everything was fresh and of good quality.

We all had an excellent time at the Grand Central New Year ball, dinner wasn’t great but we expected that and everything else surpassed expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had an excellent time at the Hogmanay Ball. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again.

If you are booking to stay in the future please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I can't speak highly enough about this hotel. We stayed there for 5 days over Christmas this year, to visit family in Glasgow. It is a lovely old and historic building, which has had a recent refurbishment. This has improved comfort but has not taken away from the beautiful features of the hotel and sense of space, with the magnificent staircase and wide corridors. Every member of staff we encountered was very friendly, extremely helpful and pleasant. We were warmly greeted each time we came into the foyer, either by the reception staff or the concierge. Their recommendations on restaurants in the area were excellent. They facilitated an early check-in for my son when his flight was changed to a much earlier one. The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and felt warm and cosy. We woke up on Christmas morning to find a Christmas stocking left outside our bedroom doors by the hotel, full of all sorts of gifts and goodies - a really unexpected but lovely gesture. The Cocktail Bar in the hotel is beautiful and worth a visit. The location, with a back door onto the concourse of Central Station, was ideal for travelling to various parts of the city. I absolutely loved this hotel and can't wait to return. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Glasgow now.

Room Tip: As for a room higher up (we were on 4th floor), and on the opposite side from the train station if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your review on your stay over the festive. The team are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

If you are booking to stay in the future, please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I've stayed at the Grand Central a number of times, mainly on business. The positive experiences prompted me to take a short break with my partner over the New Year and we had a great time. The service has improved since I first stayed here, particularly over the last 12 months and this hotel would certainly be my first choice when visiting Glasgow. The staff are friendly and well informed, willing to assist and present the hotel in the best possible light. We will be back I'm sure. Great customer service from start to finish.

Room Tip: Top- floor rooms towards the rear are quiet but compromised by the view of the train station roof. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AJoldfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurie N, General Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent review. It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are delighted that the Grand Central is your first choice when visiting Glasgow! We do look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Next time you are booking to stay, please feel free to phone our reservations team on 0141 240 3733 for our best available rates.

Kindest Regards

Laurie Nicol
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow
Anderston
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
Hotel Indigo Glasgow
#14 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
Carlton George Hotel
#20 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Centre
Blythswood Square
Blythswood Square
#13 of 96 in Glasgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
City Centre
Grasshoppers Hotel Glasgow
Merchant City
Jurys Inn Glasgow
Jurys Inn Glasgow
#29 of 96 in Glasgow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Property: Grand Central Hotel
Address: 99 Gordon Street, Glasgow G1 3SL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > City Centre , Merchant City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#21 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#25 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#27 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Hotel Glasgow, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing